We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”
Review of The Grand Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lytham St Anne's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2010

The Grand is a very good hotel and the place to stay of you want good quality accommodation. We were there 15 -17 Oct 2010 in an executive plus room (106 ). It was a very nice room with a fantastic bathroom. In fact the shower room was so big it had 2 showers in it. I would have thought there was enough room for 2 wash basins but there was just the one. Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean and had an impressive looking spa and pool, pity we did not get the chance to try it. There was a nice atmosphere in the bar/restaurant on an evening so it was a pleasant way to spend time there. All the staff were very pleasant and professional. The only minor gripes were that I thought the full cooked breakfast should have been included in the price ( it was £6.50 extra per person ) and there was no hot water on the Sunday morning. I was told there was a problem with the boiler, but I suppose these things do happen. Overall it was an excellent stay and I would definitely recommend, we will almost certainly return .

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ukbriang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2010

Dear Ukbriang,
Thank you for your comments; I’m pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

If I can explain the hot water issue, this is the first time in my memory at The Grand (Fifteen years) that we have had a lack of hot water on a Sunday morning. It was not an actual boiler problem as they were all found to be operating correctly but an issue with the software that regulates the temperature, this has since been rectified.
However with hindsight maybe we should have only put one shower in your room so we didn’t use as much hot water!
Seriously, thank you for your custom and I hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2010

this is our second stay at the grand and as like the first we had a great weekend. the rooms are very relaxing fridge in rooms which is very handy to keep cold drinks in plus medication . we had an executive plus seaview , very large room nice bathroom very relaxing beds . it was room 211 we had as my mum who is in a wheelchair so we found this room very easy . however please note in the bathroom there is no walk-in shower. the food is fantastic and the breakfasts are continental but you can have full english at an extra cost . the pool area and gym are the best ive seen in any hotel . this hotel is worthy of its 4stars and we are already looking forward to our next stay . all the staff are very helpfull and will go that extra mile . well done the grand

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickey409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2010

Dear mickey409,
Thank you for your review, I’m pleased everything was to your satisfaction and as usual I will post your comments of the staff notice board. We all look forward to looking after you on your return visit.
Thank you for your repeated custom
Regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We went here at very short notice having had to change our plans, what a lovely find. We booked on line late morning and arrived late afternoon. The reception new we were coming our room card key was ready for us and the hotel facillities were described to us in an imformative and freindly manner.

We made us (twice) during our short stay of the swimming pool, which was of a high standard.

The buffet breakfast was very good a cooked option is available at an extra cost. The food quaility was good and where possible the hotel uses local produce.

This is a well run cared for hotel, its a pity that there arn't more like it. On checking out we recieved the same high standard of customer care.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2010

Dear geoffrun,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am pleased reception made an impact on your visit and will make the reception girls aware of your comments. Should you decide to visit the Lytham St Annes area in the future please do not hesitate to contact the hotel or visit our web site for special online rates.
Thank you for your custom.
Kind Regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

With the deepest possible respect to Blackpool and Lytham we really didn't expect to find a hotel of this quality. We are just back from an extended family celebration of my 60th birthday. Eight rooms for two nights with a private dinner on Saturday.
The hotel properly deserves its 4 star status. The staff are, without exception, of the highest quality. The kitchen is more than competent. The rooms are of high quality with spectacular bathrooms. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noswad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2010

Dear Noswad,
Thank you for your review, please recommend The Grand to your friends and colleagues.
Maybe you could return for your 61st Birthday, hoping to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The Grand is a beautiful hotel with quality Modern decor. Our room was very comfortable and clean with an enormous bathroom. The restaurant is modern and vibrant and seves freshly cooked food which is delicious. Service is good and the staff friendly. The only thing I was not keen on was the choice of music which played throughout the day and into the e evening. We ate our lunch in the lounge during the day as we were put off by the dance music in the dining area. There are I am sure more appropriate music genres to choose from to play during the day... and no I'm not an old grump. The dance music playing in The evening was fine, not to loud and appropriate to the mood and buzz in the restaurant. Overall The Grand is an excellent hotel and one I would stay in Again and recommend to anyone looking for hotel in St Annes

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2010

Dear jmk30,
Thank you for the excellent review and recommending The Grand to others.
I take your point about the music during the day. We do have different play lists from our extensive bar and lounge music compilation and sometimes the appropriate music can get accidentally played, I think that we are so used to the tempo we don’t notice but we will keep an eye (Ear) on it in the future.
Once again thank you for your custom and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed and comfortable. Our room was well furnished with probably the most comfortable bed we have found in a hotel. All modern communication facilities were available. though we didn't try them as this was strictly a leisure break. The bathroom was spacious, well appointed and scrupulously clean. The hotel overlooks the lovely Lancashire coast and is very close to the traditional seaside amenities which we both remembered from childhood. The hotel restaurant was excellent - comfortable, relaxed, magnificent service and superb food and wine.
All the staff at this hotel deserve an accolade for customer service, they are fantastic and clearly management's greatest asset. As for any dislikes - there were none and we are quite demanding. Hope we'll be back there soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMurfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Dear EMurfin,
Thank you for your positive comments, I am delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to The Grand. As you have mentioned our modern communication facilities I would like to take this opportunity to remind guests that we provide free hard wired and wireless internet access in all bedrooms and throughout the public areas of the hotel.
Thank you for your custom and we hope to see you at The Grand in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Having booked a room in April for 2 nights in August in a 4 * hotel we expected a decent sized room with all facilities. The room we were taken to was cramped - the bathroom was almost the same size - at the rear of the hotel looking over roofs. It was also hot and the windows only opened a few inches. The heat came from the outside wall which was probably a chimney in a past life and was hot to the touch. With the windows opened as far as possible in both bedroom and bathroom there was a distinct though not unpleasant cooking smell.
To be fair, when we complained, the management found us a far superior room in terms of space with a king size bed, larger windows and no smell. However - whoever designed the room had no notion of the need for a decent light when styling one's hair at the only plug point near a mirror, or the need to be able to see oneself full length when 'dressed up'. And why why why is there no clock ? That is indefensible in a 4* hotel.
The restaurant is very pleasant and the we have no issues with the menu. However -
breakfast needs rethinking. You are offered an enormous cup of coffee as soon as you arrive. Sorry - but we would prefer a normal sized cup and a coffee pot/cafetiere as by the time the cooked to order breakfast arrived the coffee was cold. No problem with the quality just the logistics! All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.
Having made these comments we would also add that the wedding reception we attended was superb, both in organisation and the food at the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyldecoaster, Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2010

Dear Sheilallan,
Thank you for your comments, I do remember talking to you when you informed us that you were not happy about the size of the room. I did explain that you had booked a compact room but it wasn’t a problem and moved you to another location, I also mentioned that I couldn’t understand that you could smell cooking as your first room was located on the opposite side of the hotel than the kitchen.
Regarding the layout of your second room, it does have two ¾ length mirrors located either side of the bed with double plug socket located by both. The dressing table has a mirror, double plug, table lamp. Personally during my extensive travels to many hotels I have never encountered an analogue clock. A clock in your room could have been accessed via the TV, however had you required an analogue version I would have been happy to source one for you.
Apart from the above I am pleased that you had an overall enjoyable visit to The Grand and do hope you return in the future when visiting the area.
Kind Regards,
Derrick Holland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
811 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chadwick Hotel
Chadwick Hotel
#11 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
439 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#5 of 16 in Lytham St Anne's
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#1 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range: £80 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful sea side hotel offering a unique ambiance with unrivaled boutique guest rooms and leisure facilities. The Grand also incorporates Cafe Grand, our "all day" continental dining experience with a vibrant modern atmosphere and dishes created using local specialist suppliers. The Hotel has recently undergone a large refurbishment throughout all of the room stock and we have also introduced an annexe of 22 additional rooms just 50 metres away from the main building called Grand TwentyTwo. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lytham St Annes
Grand Lytham St Annes
The Grand Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing