We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mode Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mode Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We chose this hotel from the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and stayed last Sunday night, after attending the Lytham Proms. We received a warm welcome from Alicja on reception who was very helpful. We had a spacious room on the second floor overlooking the back of the hotel, which was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was well equipped with a walk in shower, but a make-up/shaving mirror would have been a useful addition. The Continental breakfast buffet had a good choice of food, which was replenished as required.
We recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODE_HOTEL, General Manager at Mode Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Shemala,

Thank you very much for a great review about your stay at Mode. I am very pleased to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Also, thank you for mentioning Alicja. My staff are always delighted to receive a few nice words about their hard work. We will be more than happy to welcome you at Mode again, hopefully in not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    171
    46
    8
    5
See reviews for
90
424
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

just back from a 2 day break at the mode hotel and it's one of the best hotels i've been to in a long time where do i start well with the staff who couldn't do enough for us especially hannah nothing was to much for the staff so well done ladies now the room we had was on the first floor with a small balcony with a beautifull view of the sea and st annes coastline very impressed with this toilets were very clean and so was the room in general lovely big comfortable bed and the room was a very decent size as well moving on to breakfast the mode only serves a continental breakfast but it was more than enough and plenty of it the small home baked pastries were do die for me and my partner were sorry it was only a 2 day break but we will defo return in the near future .......thank you so much for making our short break fantastic ( mode hotel )

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertosoave777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODE_HOTEL, General Manager at Mode Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear albertosoave777

It is such a pleasure to read your feedback about our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share with Trip Advisor audience what a great stay you have had. Comments about our staff, Hannah especially, are truly appreciated. We employ nice and friendly atmosphere to make our dear guests feel welcome and at ease. Breakfast.. I am so happy you took the full advantage of our delicious pastries and found the breakfast items plentiful. I am so looking forward to see you again, hopefully in not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend (Friday, Saturday, Sunday) in July

Lovely Seaview room with balcony, and the room itself was wonderful, a bit warm but a pedestal fan was available which was well used by us (maybe cool rooms down before guests arrive?) Unfortunately there were a few issues with the balcony. There a large sunken area on one side which put up off using it, and although staff said it was safe (I'd like to have seen civil engineering proof!) they also admitted that it had been like that for two months so whilst I appreciated you can't get things fixed overnight, they had long enough. To be fair, the hotel refunded the extra part that I paid for the balcony and Seaview so I can't fault them for that (we were in room 9 so if you have this room I suggest you check with hotel)

Second fault with the balconies was that the ignorant people in room 7 kept smoking a cigar on the balcony despite a no smoking rule. To be fair the no smoking sign on the balcony had been peeled off (by whom???) but the glass doors still had a label on. I reported this to to staff several times but wanted them to catch the culprits, they eventually did but it was on the final evening, felt more could have been done considering the hotel guide speaks of fines and how strict their policy is.

Hotel is well placed, central, great Seaview, car park is small and too tight but I just chose to park on the main road instead. Breakfast is continental which suits me as a veggie, it's basic but good although we did once request the ice chilling the yogurts to be changed (was lukewarm) and it was ignored, and that put my fiancée off a bit given her food industry background

Despite the small niggles I think we should still stay here again, the staff are all very helpful and friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FalkirkJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODE_HOTEL, General Manager at Mode Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear FalkirkJim,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and also for taking the time to leave a feedback about your visit. I am pleased to know you found the room itself wonderful and our staff helpful. Since, you have stayed with us the balcony has been fixed as well as the problem with yoghurts. The ice machine has broken and although we keep our yoghurts in the fridge we were not able to keep them cool during the 2 hours of the breakfast serving time (normally, we keep them in a bowl full of ice). I apologize it has not been explained to you when the problem occurred. Yes, we do have a non – smoking policy within our premises and it has been mentioned to the guests who were smoking on the balcony. We put more stickers since then and decided to be even stricter about it. I would love to host you again and believe there will not be any niggles for your next visit!

Best Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked for my parents to stay in this hotel on 19th July 2014 in order for them to celebrate my mum's 75th birthday and their wedding anniversary as we had stayed here in 2013 & enjoyed our stay.

To help them celebrate, I requested a bottle of red wine to be in the room upon arrival at the time of the booking. This was confirmed several times via email & telephone conversations.

Lo and behold when my parents arrived at the hotel there was no wine waiting for them in their room. I could not believe, after so many emails & telephone conversations, this would have been forgotten about.

I phoned the hotel immediately and spoke to a member of staff & asked to speak to the duty manager. I was informed the duty manager was not working. I was advised the duty manager would be in work the next day (Sunday) at 9.00am. I explained the situation and my voiced my huge disappointment and, to their credit, a bottle of wine was delivered to their room shortly after my telephone conversation, but this was too little too late. I asked for the manager to call me back the next morning.

Sunday morning I eagerly awaited a call from the manager. By 11.30am I was fed up of waiting so phoned the hotel myself. When I asked to speak to the manager I was told there was no manager in and there was only her working in the hotel at that time. When I asked why I was informed the day before that a manager was working on the Sunday she said she didn't know. I asked when a manager would be in and was given an extremely vague reply of "well, not today or tomorrow" so I presume she meant Tuesday.

I was not willing to wait another two days before speaking to someone so sent an email addressed to the duty manager outlining details of my complaint and asked for a response.

As I hadn't received any reply by Wednesday, following a bit of research, I managed to find the managing director's email address so forwarded details to him. The next morning I received a reply confirming he would look into all aspects of my complaint &, later that day, I received a very honest and apologetic reply. I was advised the hotel will endeavour to resolve any complaints within twenty four hours in future. The reason given as to why the wine wasn’t in the room is that due to my parents arriving at 12.30pm and official check-in is 2.00pm, because my parents long journey, the receptionist thought they would like to relax and let them in the room but in hindsight they should have ensured the room was ready, including the bottle of wine which was already paid for.

I do believe the managing director has relayed details to the staff at the hotel & I hope lessons have been learnt so nobody else has similar issues. It is however disappointing that I had to go to such lengths to receive a quality of customer service which should be standard in a hotel, especially when it promotes on their website of their 'professional & personal service'.

Compensation has been offered by the managing director which is very generous. I hope staff at The Mode learn from his professionalism & high level of customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODE_HOTEL, General Manager at Mode Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear andrew t,

Thank you for taking the time and leaving us with feedback here on Trip Advisor. I apologize for what has happened. Required actions have been taken ensuring situation as such will not take place again. I was delighted to meet your parents the other day and was really pleased to find out they thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

Best Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is really nice. On the front and near to all shops, etc. You get a lovely welcome here. Very friendly, happy to help nothing too much trouble. Alicia! Is a real asset to the hotel.
We stayed in room 3 had a little balcony facing the sea worth paying the extra.
The bedrooms are very nice, very comfortable bed and the bathroom is very clean and tidy.
The only downside is the parking -only nine spaces so get there early. There is plenty of parking on the side streets so not too bad.
Nice continental breakfast with Alicia serving...she works so hard this girl.
Thank you for a lovely stay we will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KPRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODE_HOTEL, General Manager at Mode Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear KPRI,

What a great review. Thank you for taking the time to write such fantastic words about our hotel. Moreover, Alicja is thrilled to be mentioned. It always is very rewarding to be noticed for staff’s hard work. Thank you for mentioning the bedrooms too. I am pleased to know that the balcony and the sea view contributed to your overall experience here at Mode. Thank you for choosing us and I cannot wait to have you here again.

Best Regards
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

very modern with upmarket bedrooms and a help yourself trust bar, clean restaurant but no atmosphere and the breakfast was very basic, I miss my full English when I stay away so although I was there for 2 nights I had my 2nd breakfast in town.
Don't let me put you off this is a nice modern hotel

Room Tip: try for one facing the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODE_HOTEL, General Manager at Mode Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Trunkers,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am happy to know you found Mode modern and clean. I am sorry to hear you found our Visit England Breakfast Award winning Continental Breakfast basic. We believe we provide good selection of high quality fresh food, i.e. freshly baked breads, croissants and pastries, boiled eggs and smoked salmon, and much more. Although, you went for your 2nd breakfast elsewhere, I am happy you have tried ours on the 1st night of your stay. Thank you for staying with us and it would be a pleasure to be your host again.

Best Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Arrived at Mode Hotel after having arrived at another hotel and found they didn't have my booking and they were full. Not what you want to hear after a 4 hour drive. Was tired and very bad tempered but the lovely woman of reception, was so helpful, found me a room and suggested I go and get settled then come down where she would have a Gin and Tonic waiting for me. You can't get better service than that.

The hotel is boutique style, smart and clean. All the guests were very friendly and I suspect regulars which is not surprising given the quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MODE_HOTEL, General Manager at Mode Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear KJScotland,

I am delighted to read the feedback you left about Mode here on TripAdvisor. My attentive staff are thrilled to be mentioned. I am very happy they helped you to relax after the day you have had. You are right, we do get many regular customers and with our Loyalty Scheme we feel like we are giving something back for their commitment. I hope to see you again in not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
2.6 mi away
Clifton Arms Hotel
Clifton Arms Hotel
#6 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mode Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mode Hotel

Property: Mode Hotel
Address: 45 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#3 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mode Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, contemporary hotel and B&B in St. Anne's, whether you're here for business or pleasure. Awarded the TripAdvisor certificate of excellence 2016, Mode hotel offers a unique combination of stylish luxury and a spacious contemporary feel with an intimate, friendly atmosphere. Following our quarter of a million pound refurbishment, you can enjoy the warmth, comfort and privacy of home at a realistic price. We simply provide everything you need for your pleasure and convenience, whilst you enjoy excellent value, avoiding paying as standard for extras you don't require. Our professional, personal service will ensure your every satisfaction in our accommodation in Lytham St Anne's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mode Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mode Lytham St Annes
Mode Hotel Lytham St Annes
Mode Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing