We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a little more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected a little more!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

A few years since we stayed at the Inn on the Prom and visiting again for a 2 night short break. The hotel staff that we met were all friendly, helpful and a credit to their employer. However, whilst the reception and lounge / bar area is still in good order, the bedrooms are looking tired and badly need modernising and updating. We booked 2 executive rooms with sea view on DBB terms and were surprised that the room furniture was not good quality and well worn - looking more than a little shabby. Carpets worn and marked. The owners need to invest and not rely upon the location of the hotel to fill their rooms at what can't be considered as low prices. Room cleaning was only average with clear evidence of thick dust on a number of less obvious surfaces at check-in, which hadn't been removed after 2 days.
The concept of charging £7 a day for wifi access is frankly out of date in 2014 and will only serves to annoy many guests. This should be addressed as soon as possible for both holiday and business users. Please remember that 200 yds away, The local coffee shops offer a free wifi service for the convenience of their customers and when you are paying the prices that are being asked by The Inn on the Prom, free wifi should at least be offered in the main public areas, if not all executive rooms.
The Restaurant is only fair. Ingredients are of very average quality and most of the food is clearly pre-prepared and plated beforehand, which was a little disappointing. As a result food temperatures can vary greatly on the same plate! We had meat that had clearly been standing for some time and was luke warm, whilst the veg was very very hot, suggesting that it was most probably flashed in a microwave to get it back up to temperature. Restaurant Staff were efficient and friendly, but clearly on a mission to get all guests through their dinner as quickly as possible, get set-up for breakfast and get in their way! Not necessarily a problem, but it is quite obvious. Frankly, we're unlikely to visit again unless there is some clear evidence of changes / improvements having been made. Our review is based upon comparing this hotel with many others both in the UK and overseas. Sorry guys, but hope that the criticism will be viewed as constructive.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Emguzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
hi many thanks for taking time to leave feedback this always helps with the continued improvements by our dedicated team cheers the inn on the prom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    291
    143
    57
    32
See reviews for
316
260
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a lovely 4 night dancing holiday with Richard Keeling at this hotel.
The staff here where very pleasant helpful and always had a smile on, a real credit to the hotel.
The Breakfast was help yourself and there was just about everything and plenty of it.
Evening meal menu was limited with extras you could pay for but the meals they served where excellent. I call it pretty food but there was also plenty on the plate.

I think the price of drinks was excessive and the happy hour 6 til 7 each evening was a joke,not many people want doubles on spirits at 6 in the evening.
We also booked an upgraded room (Boutique room) which although decorated nice and very clean was crammed with 2 double beds leaving no where to sit in front of the TV.We found ourselves huddled by the window and would suggest its nor worth upgrading. The maid service was excellent and plenty of tea coffee and milks left for you each day.

In the spa the changing facilities are a flight of stairs away from the pool and access is not good.Also don't go down for a relaxing swim at around 4 til 6 as the local swim instructor will be putting the kids through their paces.

My wife had 2 Spa treatments and thought Linda was very good and the prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
hi many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback all appreciated by the team at inn on the prom we look forward to welcoming you back again soon cheers .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I went on a linedancing weekend with friends and had a lovely time. We found the hotel staff very friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable with plenty of tea bags, coffee and milk. The breakfast was self service with plenty of choice. Evening meals were served at the table the choice was not large but the quality was excellent and you could order steaks if you paid extra. Would reccomenc this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margarets44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
hi many thanks for the super feedback much appreciated by all the team at inn on the prom cheers .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A group of ten off us stayed overnight for friends pearl wedding anniversary we had a great time service was great rooms were lovely and to top it all the dj James made it a night to remember by reserving us seating and adding his own personal touches .. It was like our own private party and our friends and us will definately stay again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Party10pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
hi many thanks for the fantastic comments and feedback really appreciated by everyone at the hotel we look forward to seeing you again soon cheers the team at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just returned from a 1 night stay for my parents Golden Wedding Anniversary celebration. The hotel did us proud. My parents had a complimentary bottle of fizz waiting in their room, which was a lovely gesture. We were a party of 12 and took 4 bedrooms, all of which were excellent. The entertainment at night was enjoyed by all, especially the children's entertainer (DJ). Breakfast was superb. We will certainly by coming again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
hi many thanks for the great feedback really appreciated by the team at inn on the prom we look forward to welcoming you back soon thanks the team at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here earlier this year for just 1 night, so feel free to ignore this. Had a night in the dance hall downstairs, and it was brilliant. Food was really good and delivered with aplomb. However, the bedroom left a little to be desired. The long corridor to it was fine, but a section of it smelt of damp. The room was ok, but there was nowhere to hang a wet coat,in Blackpool!! Also, despite us not having coffee or tea from the tray, we found unused milk cartons down the side of the bed. There was also nowhere to put your shaving stuff etc. All this is a bit sniffy. We really enjoyed our night, not least in the hotel bat 'till late. Breakfast was also ok.
Give it a go, you never know.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlashG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
hi thanks for taking the time to leave feedback we greatly appreciate all comments many thanks the team at the inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited the Inn on the Prom for one night in the middle of June as a family group for a family celebration. We were disappointed with how the hotel has deteriorated over the years. The place is in need of a major overhaul as the decor in the bedrooms is shabby and dated. The room was very warm and there was no air conditioning.Paint peeling off the walls and an unpleasant smell in the room.

For the price paid I would have expected toiletries to be provided in the room and not a soap dispenser over the bath similar to those found in budget hotels, and only a really tiny bar of soap on the washbasin. Budget standards but not budget prices.

Breakfast was another disappointment, buffet style and I decided to pass on cereal when I couldn't find a clean bowl to eat out of. The cooked breakfast was not particularly hot and the staff in the dining room were not customer focused at all.

The location is great, right on the sea front and a good sized car park. A real shame that the place has gone down hill. I hope that it pulls itself around to its former glory,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank campariandbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPC21, Owner at Inn on the Prom Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
hi thanks for taking the time to leave feedback much appreciated by the team at inn on the prom thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
919 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
795 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Prom Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Prom Hotel

Property: Inn on the Prom Hotel
Address: 11-17 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Prom Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the prom hotel is located on st.Annes promenade overlooking the Irish sea .Offering over 100 bedrooms from single to family and standard to suites ,a lovely family run Boutique style seaside hotel.Only a stones throw from the beach and close to st.Annes square and only 2 miles from Blackpool and all its attractions.Swimming pool ,restaurants and bars along with live entertainment through the summer months ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Prom Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Prom @ Fernlea Hotel And Niven`s Health Club
Inn On The Prom Hotel Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing