We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Bosun's Chair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bosun's Chair
Ranked #13 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    59
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
89
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

At last I can write a positive review! Stayed here for one night and recieved first class treatment. Rooms were basic but everthing was there that I needed. Food was fantastic and even though there was a bar downstairs it did not interfere with me working/ resting. Will definately be recommending to clients and returning again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brightlingsea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed in this B&B for our first year anniversary and really enjoyed our stay. We were looking for somewhere well priced in the heart of the New Forest ( which is always a task ) and noticed that the Bosun's Chair certainly offered the best accommodation for the money that you pay.
The B&B is above a pub and often people are put off by this due to noise etc but we didn't have any issues with this whatsoever. One night, in fact, there was karaoke in the pub but by the time we reached our room we could barely hear anything.
We had a lovely quaint room on the first floor, at the side of the building bit a lovely iron bed and an ensuite bathroom. Yes, some floorboards were creaky, and yes the ceiling was low. But this is an old building with character. And we loved it.
The bathroom was clean and appropriate, it would perhaps have been nicer to have a separate shower but a shower over a bath was fine for us.
Breakfast was brilliant. Food cooked to order if you wanted a cooked breakfast, or a continental style breakfast for those who didn't. We couldn't fault the food one bit!
Well done to those at The Bosun's Chair. We will certainly recommend and be back again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarch333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night in order to attend a wedding reception in Lymington. We chose this establishment as it was based in Lymington and not too far from the venue for the wedding reception.
The pub was a lovely old style British pub with several TVs showing different sports, as football fans ourselves we appreciated being able to keep up with the scores and watch a little of the games before having to get ready for our evening out. The owner Russ was very welcoming and made us feel at home from the start; as a local lad, he knew a lot about the area and how best to travel to the reception.
The room was just how I would have thought it would be in an old pub, a little on the small side, but fit for purpose with several mirrors, a dressing table and plenty of space for hanging clothes etc; there were also little extras that we did not expect such as locally produced bottled still water and plenty of items to make tea and coffee in the room ( comparing favourably to several other similar establishments we have stayed in around Britain).
The breakfast was excellent and well laid out with speedy and efficient service given by the waitress. We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaun c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pudsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Janet and I stayed for five nights,the rooms were very nice and comfy, the staff very friendly and the service and food was first class .
We both enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we go back to Lymington.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Bosun's Chair on the Friday and Saturday night after Christmas. I had read good reviews and was really looking forward to the trip. The exterior of the pub was not what I expected and the stairs were very steep, certainly not suitable for anyone who is not fit, especially if you are located on the top floor as we were.

The breakfast was very good and the staff sweet, but the noise from the band on the Saturday night was very loud and disturbing. I dropped an e-mail to The Bosun's Chair to let them know my disappointment but to date have received no response. So I am afraid we will not be returning to this venue, perhaps not suited to those who like a bit of peace and quite.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We were looking for somewhere central, comfortable and value for money in Lymington between Christmas and New Year - and this was it!

Situated very close to the station, quay and town centre the hotel is above a pub - but there was no noise or disturbance from downstairs although it is a busy friendly bar.

Very comfortable room, lovely facilities and great breakfast, I would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,044 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mayflower
The Mayflower
#6 of 7 in Lymington
240 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bosun's Chair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bosun's Chair

Property: The Bosun's Chair
Address: Station Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 3BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bosun's Chair 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bosun's Chair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bosun`s Chair Hotel Lymington
The Bosun's Chair Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing