We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big chain pub”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #25 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Big chain pub”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Glorious location on the quay's edge. Inside - just another Marstons pub. Nicely decorated and furnished - all recently redone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localityenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    405
    240
    157
    137
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Location”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is one of the better pubs in Lymington. Lovely and warm in the winter and perfect in the summer. Can get busy but anywhere any good will be in Lymington. Food is pretty good and I continue to return from time to time when eating out. Beers and not your standard Fosters and such but more Belgian and such. Bit pricey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good summer location for outside eating”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

WE have been to The Ship several times , the food is always good . It is busy at the W/e & popular with the younger locals .In the summer it is lovely to sit outside by the river ,Service is always pleasant .Price medium for standard .probaly a good idea to book a table can be done on line .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank applewitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Lovely food, excellent menu and wine and beer selection as well as a stunning setting. We are frequent visitors at The Ship and have found it ideal for couples, groups and family occasions. Highly recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJB-05021968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice location. Friendly staff but over priced”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a great location right by the quay. There is seating outside for the better weather with a good view of the boats.
Out waiter was a nice guy and chatty. We all thought for the price our portions were a bit on the mean side. When questioned re the portions we were reminded ( politely) that chips were a side dish! We'd eaten at a pub earlier in the week with much bigger portions for less money so still think £10.95 for a burger & a few chips is too much to pay! The food was very nice quality however and the burger was delicious.
We wandered off and had an ice cream else where.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whereamI2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing