We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Food, Shame about the Service”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #25 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Food, Shame about the Service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We often visit Lymington and we always come to the Ship, it's location on the harbour is second to none, and the pub is done up very nicely! It has everything that a great pub should be! On this occasion kid free we came down to Lymington for the weekend, we looked over the menu for dinner that night and thought "Why not!"
They were busy, but not overly, we sat outside and I asked to set up a tab as we were eating only to be told no tabs if sitting outside, ok I understand so we had a drink and then went and sat inside, time to order dinner, we order and ask for a tab no problem! Strange that, I can just as easily walk out of the pub like I could have the garden!
The starter comes after 1/2 hour we aren't fussed after all we are kid free, but no one comes to clear up the table after all the waitress is only meant to bring the food out!! So after an hour and half dinner arrives and we ask for another bottle of wine, an easy request I think! But no, I am told if I want a drink I have to go the bar hang on I'm eating! Obviously, After such a wait I can surely stand at the bar for 10 minutes and then have a luke warm steak!
I could go on but that would be unfair. My gripe is customer service does not exist here, but the food, pub and setting are lovely, just let down by poorly trained staff, or is just that they do not have sufficient staff on for a Saturday night!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeanyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    393
    235
    154
    135
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food,awful service.”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The food was beautiful but the service was shocking.our party was made up of four adults and our daughter who is three years of age.we ordered and food served quickly.however,the waitress had forgot to tell us that the chef didn't have our daughters choice.she only noticed this when all our meals had been served and we asked her about the one meal missing.we then had to wait ten minutes for our daughter s meal.we managed to keep her happy by feeding her food from our plates .on receiving the meal there was no apology.we then had to keep asking for condiments and they kept forgetting to bring what we had asked for .at the end of the meal no mention was made of the error and no apology was made.all the waitressing staff need training as they are letting the chef and kitchen team down.would not return again due to the poor and ignorant service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrshkarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice pub - diabolical service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Nice pub, good atmosphere, food was good if rather pricey, took an age to get drinks from the bar due to a lack of staff which were disinterested when they could finally serve be bothered to us. Basically the service we received from the staff present was simply appalling, almost laughable if it wasn't for the fact the food was top money. The 'waitress' who took our food order seemed frankly annoyed that we were there at all; anyone who has flown BA over the past 10 years will recognise the attitude immediately. When she brought the food for each course she just dumped it on the table, clouting my younger sons arm with both courses (starts and mains) with no apology or any verbal interaction whatsoever and then cleared off leaving us to go to the bar to ask for our fighting irons - the lack of interested bar staff made this a lengthy process both times. The pub was reasonably busy as it was evening meal time but far from flat out - We just looked on the funny side of it as it's simply wasted energy to get annoyed with things like this...... the pub obviously feels it can get away with staffing levels and quality this low as this due to the location.... a shame as the food was good, just let down by the few people who simply were very poor in their work and didn't realise or care that they are the ones who make all the difference.......

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Relaxer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at this Inn before,when in the area,so we took our friends with us this time,because the food was great and the standards high the last time we visited.
And thankfully nothing has changed,food was wonderful as was the service,well done Charlotte,some of the eateries I've used in the past could learn from the way this young lady deals with people.
Keep up the good work,hope to get back there in the near future to sample the food delights.

Helpful?
Thank barry j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Julia is a star !!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After sailing six hungry crew had a great meal - Julia plus blonde and dark haired (Spanish?) waitress were very, very busy but kept it all going with a smile an a great level of customer service. The Ship has a great position right on Lymington Quay, often very busy so inevitable wait but why rush - enjoy the day - plenty to watch. Recommend sautéed mushrooms started and King prawn chorizo Linguini for main hmmmmmmm.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jami mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing