We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Ship Inn”
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #46 of 123 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: US$8 - US$33
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With its impressive waterside setting, varied menus, and great selection of real ales, lagers, and wines, when you dine at The Ship Inn you certainly won’t be disappointed. Boasting a sophisticated bar area, an impressive dining space, and a beer terrace looking out onto the marina, The Ship Inn should be your first port of call for drinks in the sunshine, a three course meal, or an impromptu work lunch. We are also a child friendly establishment, so please feel free to bring your little ones along. Our dedicated children’s menu is sure to go down a treat! Of course, if you have any questions about our delicious menus or daily special offers, or you would simply like to make a booking, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Our team always goes above and beyond to ensure that your dining requirements are met.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a busy place yet the service was very good. Starter and sweet excellent. Main was as steak but unfortunately the chef couldn't cook it as required as came out very rare. This however was minor as the whole evening was enjoyed.
Nice friendly busy venue especially as it was also a very busy pub

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alcoprop0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShipInnTeam, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Alcoprop0704,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such wonderful feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Many thanks

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 1,691 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited on a Friday afternoon for a late lunch. We arrived after 2pm and the restaurant and bar were still busy. We ordered 2 courses from the fixed price lunch menu. It was good value at £12.95 per head. All the food was excellent quality and portions reasonably generous. Service was friendly - I ordered the gammon, egg and chips and requested to add an egg instead of chips, which they had no issue with. Would return when in the area.

Thank paulerayner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paulerayner

Thank you for your great feedback. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and found the food and service to be excellent.

Your recommendation means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ordered a sharers carne platter, but what a disappointment. The flat bread with fennel and pork sausage was cold and you needed a magnifying glass to see the sausage! The whole platter was a total disappointment!

1  Thank Lalalyn50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lalalyn50

Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit with us at The Ship Inn.

We are really sorry to hear you felt disappointed by the Carne Platter. We hope next time you might find yourself in a similar situation, you bring the matter to our attention where we would be more than happy to try to rectify it.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

The Ship Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Busy lunchtime, food and service good. Great location and great views across the harbour. Been before and always good.

Thank Billthedukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShipInnTeam, General Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Billthedukr,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I hope we will see you again soon!

Many thanks

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having seen this pub many times over the years I was surprised on entering to find a very smart gastro pub. The menu we ordered from was the lunch menu, which runs till 18:00, so didn't see the evening menu. Had a fillet steak sandwich on ciabata with caramelised onion and rocket served with fries and my partner had a duck salad. Both meals were very good and the service was prompt. Staff were very friendly and happy to oblige with any requests made.
Definitely will be back next time we're in Lymington.

Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShipInnTeam, Manager at The Ship Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stephen M,

Thank you for your fantastic response to your lunch here with us at The Ship! The team are all happy to hear you enjoyed your time here due to our food, as well as the service from the team.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Lymington!

Kind regards

Abi Stringer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing