We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique, but a bit different”
Review of East End Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
East End Arms
Ranked #16 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boutique, but a bit different”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We read about this place in BEER magazine - CAMRA's great little read. It sounded quirky and quality - and so it was! Owned and refurbed by John Illsley of Dire Straits, occasional guitar riffs drip through the speakers, and rock heroes of the past loom down at you from the walls in the restaurant below the bedrooms of this typical New Forest local's pub.

We stayed on the Sunday night over the jubilee bank hol weekend. We were warned on booking that the restaurant would be closed - so no dinner there - which was a shame given the fab food reviews below. However, they recommended the Red Lion at Boldre nearby and we had a great meal there, and saw a bit more of the Forest, so it was fine.
I'm reviewing because the room was so lovely and because I want to correct the dire breakfast reviews below. The breakfast here was better than the supposedly best breakfast in the New Forest we had at The Montagu Arms in Beaulieu the day before. The cereals are now in special containers, and the fresh juices are jugged in the foyer by the restaurant. The cooked brekky was made to order, with a good range to choose from, or you could simply have the works and just choose which eggs you want. I must make a special mention of the chef-made marmalade - gorgeous, tart and juicy.
We had Room 2, the same room photographed in the 2nd review below. From the L'Occitane toiletries, to the large wall-mounted flat-screen TV, the fresh milk for in-room tea and coffee, to the bouncy carpet, the huge bed, perfect mattress and Egyptian cotton linen, to the motion-sensor lights, everything is beautifully and thoughtfully done.
£120 B&B for a large, tastefully-styled comfortable room for 2, in a quiet little spot near a (rare) beach access road in the New Forest national park. Bargain!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    28
    12
    10
    3
See reviews for
17
70
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 with my in-laws. We all thoroughly enjoyed the stay - especially the food, which was really gorgeous and the best we found during our trip around the south west. We would have happily paid twice a much at a top restaurant for our evening meals - thanks again to the chef, who I think has a great future!

The rooms were excellent and the staff all helpful, accomodating and freindly.

We took a walk down to the solent from here, which only took about 20 minutes. You'll find plenty of horses roaming about too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PatrickTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Firstly, we must apologize AGAIN about our dietary requirements. The staff were most understanding & accommodating. Thank you so much. Great atmosphere, gorgeous food & delighful staff. Did not get to meet John Illsley ... perhaps next time! We'll be popping through in April for a wedding on the Isle of Wight. Can we have the same room again please?

Many thanks

Sheila & Ian xx

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wallington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Lovely staff great ale, brilliant food and a great location, ideal for touring the New Forest. You may be lucky enough like us to meet John Illsley former Dire Straits bass guitarist who owns the pub.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veronica28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I had a great stay here in April. The location, rooms, bar and restaurant all met or exceeded my expectations. The staff with one exception were all friendly and helpful. But the manageress was abrupt, unsmiling and rude.

I had met someone from the area who had mentioned she was feisty, or words to that effect, so I was prepared for a businesslike and detached manner. But what we got was simply rude, unsmiling, abrupt and unwelcoming.

This is my first time leaving a review on tripadvisor. But I felt compelled to as I was saddened to see such a lovely establishment - with so much going for it - let down by such a simple yet important aspect of the service it offers.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bellechasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
solihull
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

room we had at the front was fine but bed mattress was very soft.there is no daily room service unless you request it.the breakfast was poor orange juice a couple of cereals no breakfast menu.if you had a cooked breakfast most of the items on the plate other than the eggs were cold.when we checked out we discovered we had been charged for evening meals and wine that we had not had.
PS the girl who runs the place is lovely but rest of staff need to improve

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danfordSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I have deliberately not posted our visit to this establishment early, to enable proper reflection on our visit, such was our experience. It must be said that one or two members of staff were most helpful during our stay, others were very poor. We booked a superior room and for the price of £115 it was small, not in the best decorative order (the walls had been patched with emulsion paint very amateurishly), with cobwebs in the bathroom with loose bath & tap fittings. The bath, sink & W.C. were clean. The wardrobe was small with few hangers, there was no radio or trouser press, no biscuits or bottled water with the tea/coffee makings - something one can reasonably expect nowadays, given the room rate. Be aware there is no telephone in the room, internet connection or mobile phone signal so to communicate with the world is difficult. We went to the bar once, prior to dinner on the first evening and can only describe it as hideous .It was small and dark with the seat cushions being so disgustingly dirty we could not sit on them with other seating and tables of poor quality…..this could not be described as ‘characteristic’ in any sense. Dinner in the restaurant did not live up to any reasonable expectation, the menu being overly ambitious, poorly executed and relatively expensive. The starter of smoked mackerel pate had an excessive mayonnaise topping with no French toast or bread, the terrine was fatty and poorly constructed. The steak was so tough most of it went back onto the plate (the waitress said she would mention it to Chef, we heard no more). Dinner on the second evening was no better with the Butternut squash risotto being undercooked and cold and the seasoning of the jus accompanying the lamb being excessive. Breakfasts on both mornings were very poor……no fresh fruit or yogurts…..cereal boxes left on the bar, cheap bread used for toast and cold tea....truly shocking! Overall, a dire experience and very poor value…we will never return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Westsussextraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
3.9 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
3.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Master Builder's House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.0 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East End Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East End Arms

Property: East End Arms
Address: Lymington Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your East End Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East End Arms Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing