We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of The Crown Inn

The Crown Inn
Ranked #14 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$38
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Crown Inn Pub and Restaurant - our aim is to accommodate both drinkers and diners alike, within a comfortable contemporary setting (we have tried to mix the old with the new, to create a warm, cosy ambience)We have been here for 6 years, and Phil does all of the cooking, so our main objective is to provide consistently good home-cooked food (which obviously takes time to prepare and cook to your liking) from an extensive menu, using only quality produce.We would like to think that our service is of a similar standard to the food, and that you should feel welcome and 'looked after' at all times.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fantastic food, freshly cooked. A large selection, and big portions. I would definitely recommend eating here.




Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Turkeycrew09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    72
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hopefully better next time”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We decided to eat at The Crown recently as we have enjoyed meals there in the past. Not sure if we were just unlucky, but this time has not lived up to expectations. The full menu and daily specials are on a large blackboard in the centre of the smaller of the dining areas. There are no menus available to read at the table so you have to stand and read through the blackboard before sitting down at your table. I did get the impression that the people sitting on the table by the board, probably felt in the spotlight with so many diners looking their way! Our waitress was extremely pleasant and attentive throughout our meal but unfortunately the quality and presentation of the food was not up to the previous standard. Let's hope this is just a blip . . We will be back but this time we felt that it was very expensive for the quality of the food that was served up.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service was excellent”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Lovely place to eat.The food was delicious with a great choice and made to order.The Staff were very friendly.Would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“wont visit again”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This pub has recently reopened, the food used to be good with a reasonable choice but we went there for lunch last Tuesday and was disappointed with the lack of choice, we both had the burgers which were supposed to be like no other in the area, and they were passable, but not great, what a pity

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 66chuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We went here for a family meal and from beginning to end were treated well by the friendly helpful staff, had lovely food that was cooked to order and just had a really nice meal. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fulltimemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing