We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passford House Weekend break”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Had a very relaxing weekend break at the Passford House. Booked last minute and was not at all disappointed. Staff welcoming and courteous, excellent service, food first class both breakfast and restaurant. Two downsides were the english weather, don't think I can hold them responsible for that, and the intermittent functioning wifi- which had recently been installed throughout the hotel, but needed some tweeking. Nothing else I could fault - the Pssford House is a hotel that I look forward to returning to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BigSigh56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2012

Only could stay for one night, but had a great night sleep in a "garden room". In the morning we had a full English buffet breakfast which was again top class. It was a miserable rainy day, but our short stay at Passford, was a delight.

Room Tip: Garden room for us was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martingd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed at Passford House in July 2012. I found it friendly and welcoming but it was a bit Fawlty Towers at times. I really liked the relaxed atmosphere, the fact that you could bring your dog (although it would be even better if you could bring them into the bar). I loved the log fire (it was a cold day!) and the sofas and games in the lounge. The grounds were beautiful; I just wish we had not had so much rain so we could have enjoyed them more. The breakfast was great though more black pudding would be appreciated. The food was a bit hit and miss, 2/3s of what the group I was with tried was delicious but 1/3 of it was a little bland and disappointing. The décor in the rooms was also a bit hit and miss with some being better than others. Our bathroom was a little disappointing - I don’t think carpet is a good move in bathrooms as it can get damp and damaged. My bathroom had two showers, a standing up one and one linked to the bath tap, the former didn’t work but the latter did – you just had to hold it the whole time. The showers in some of the other rooms were great apparently. The biggest disappointment to me was the service from some of the staff. Some of them were brilliant (especially on reception) but some of them (particularly the younger staff) weren’t very sure what they were doing. We regularly had our drink orders mixed up, wine delivered to the wrong tables (which nobody was sat at) and had bottles of wine just plonked on the table with no offer to pour. This did put a bit of dampener on things, especially as it was a special celebration for us. All in all though, I did really enjoy my stay here and would like to go back and stay for longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynsey1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have just had our Wedding Breakfast at Passford House and have got nothing but praise for Andrew and his team.

From start to finish, nothing was too much trouble.

The gardens are beautiful and are an ideal venue for your Photo's; the food was fantastic (even ordering some speciality cheeses that we had asked for) and the room which we used for our meal looked perfect. All of our guests commented what a great day it was.

I would have absolutely no problem to recommend that anyone planning a Wedding Reception; go and look at Passford House - and compared to other local venues - it was outstanding value for money.

Thank you for making our 'special' day - that little more special!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthewbeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our third visit so we obviously like the place and it is idyllically set in beautiful gardens with a cosy feel to the place with panelled lounges to relax in. Nice restaurant overlooking the garden with crisp tablecloths, silver (plated!) cutlery and proper napkins - not those horrible paper ones! The food was delicious but relatively expensive. We had a superb bedroom overlooking the gardens.
However, this time we noted a considerable decline in the attentiveness in some of the staff. There were instances of laughable incompetence in the bar- particularly with a young man who was only in his second week of employment and significantly under-performing and clearly not cut out for the hotel business. Wife's handbag was sent flying when he wiped the table top, drinks were spilled over the bar whilst being poured, wine and spirit bottles left with the tops off and white wine not replaced in the chiller promptly. White/rose/champagnes were nowhere near chilled enough which made me wonder when they are put in the chiller or for how long. There appeared to be no overall hotel manager on duty. The bar was invariably unattended which meant hunting down someone to get served. If a second drink was required, the same process was required. Even reception was left unattended on one occasion with the receptionist heard nattering in the kitchen with others. There was a general air of lack of management control in the bar/restaurant although one or two were conspicuously efficient, polite and attentive.
The lady who appeared to be holding the position of Maitre D' seemingly had no idea how to get the best out of the bar/restaurant staff. She openly admonished in front of guests and was often heard barking orders within earshot. Staff were overheard sharing their most recent experiences of this. The bar/restaurant did not seem a happy place. Would we go again? Probably. After all, the Fawlty Towers touch gave us some entertainment but we did feel sorry for some of the staff as above. We would have preferred to give some face to face feedback before we left but only to a responsible and accountable manager which appears not to exist. This hotel is stylish with potential to be really classy but needs to buck its ideas up a little if it is to justify its price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed at Passford House last year in July for my birthday with my boyfriend and it really is a stunning hotel set in the most amazing gardens we have ever seen.
The hotel is a picturesque peaceful haven, lots of hanging baskets and beautifully tended front entrance, the hotel has several small cosy lounges to relax in and a bar for an afternoon tipple or two!!
Our room was super clean and had recently been refurbished, we had amazing views of the stunning "Monet Gardens" which made it all the more special. The room also had all the facilities for making tea and coffee.
The afternoon cream tea is highly recommended!
There are lots of ameneties in the hotel including a gym, and indoor pool with jacuzzi and swedish sauna.Although the outdoor pool is currently closed, but considering the great british weather, that wasnt too disappointing.
Although we didnt have an evening meal at the hotel the menu certainly looked very appetising, breakfast was lush with lots of locally produced eggs, bacon, etc, all adding to the lovely experience.
Tha staff were all very friendly and helpful.
As it is right on the edge of the new forest its easy to have days out too, although a car is essential.
All in all a gem of a hotel, we enjoyed it so much that we are going back this year to celebrate my birthday with all my family again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the monet gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

For sure the decor is a bit dated, but this is a very comfortable & friendly hotel:
The breakfast is very good and served in a pleasant room overlooking the gardens, which are immaculate. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the bedrooms are just fine.
Its also terrific value for money. I recommend you try it

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Lentune17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
525 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,630 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £92 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing