We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Very welcoming and friendly staff. The room was lovely, very clean and tidy. Gorgeous cocktails and delicious breakfast. Suited our vegetarian needs for the English breakfast. Will definitely be staying again. From Karyn and Peter

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    220
    81
    25
    11
See reviews for
166
340
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Long Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel which is very traditional, somewhat dated interiors and makes a huge effort to offer a very personal service, including silver service and printed cards on your breakfast table with your name on. I think they don't have the right balance. Focus more on the interiors, more updated without losing the charm, and less focus on the over-the-top personal service. Appeals to an older traveller.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank mju1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our family stayed there for three nights, there were 23 of us. The staff are delightful. Very helpful. The food was excellent - we had our separate room for our dinners.
There is a very pleasant garden and the Forest is a short walking distance, the rooms are very comfortable. We already booked it again for December 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night in early Septemeber. The setting was beautiful, very quiet and the grounds were absolutely lovely.

We ate lunch outside in the grounds. My husband had afternoon tea and I had a ploughmans - both were lovely but we did wait quite a long time for the food to arrive and it was difficult to order it as there was no-one on the bar - we ended up ordering our food at the check-in desk which was a bit odd! The lunch menu was reasonably priced.

We chose to eat dinner in Lymington as the dinner menu at the hotel seemed very expensive for what it was.

We paid a discounted rate of £90 for our room, including breakfast, as it was a last minute, mid-week booking. I would have been disappointed with our room had we paid full price as it certainly wasn't worth more than £90. The decor was very old fashioned and tired. I really didn't like the carpet in the bathroom and the bed/pillows weren't very comfortable.

We really enjoyed the full english breakfast and the all of the staff were very friendly.

In summary, a lovely stay but the hotel is a little old fashioned and need updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a one night stay at this excellent Hotel. It was our first visit and will not be our last. We arrived following a very delayed and tiring car journey and were welcomed by a reception lady who could not be more helpful in arranging a taxi to take us to a private dinner party a few miles away. As time was short {we had to be showered and out of the Hotel in 35 minutes from arrival!) two refreshing drinks were speedily delivered to our rooms in 2 minutes by a very cheery barman.
The room and bathroom were beautiful, with quality furnishings and a large comfortable bed.

On returning to the Hotel at 12.10pm with six other friends, the bar staff were very polite and helpful thus making our "night cap" a perfect end to a great evening...some sandwiches were requested , prepared in less than 10 minutes and were first class !!

Well done to all staff and we will be back

Room Tip: Room 109 for a special stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We felt we deserved a break away for the weekend but didn't want to waste time travelling too far from home so chose Lymington. I researched hotels using trusted Trip Advisor and selected Passford House because of it's location, gardens and swimming pool. Passford House also appeared near the top of the list of places to stay. The weather the weekend we visited was one of the best this year so we were extremely disappointed to find the outdoor swimming pool was closed. We really fancied a swim so went for the inside option. We didn't stay long as the water looked filmy and cloudy. We were concerned about the cleanliness. Our room was large but very dated and in need of refresh. Having said this we slept well and breakfast was good. I am not sure I would choose to stay here again if I were to go back to charming Lymington. This was overpriced for the condition of the rooms.

Room Tip: We requested a four poster bedroom with a garden view. It failed to provide luxury because the fixt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEAVHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Only a one night stay and Passford House did the job. Staff were lovely and the hotel itself is clean and nice enough but definitely in need of a spruce-up. For example - crack in bath covered by mastic, skylight in bathroom getting full of condensation and dripping, overall decor c.1990. It is fine and the breakfast was pretty good but with no safe, only limited tea/coffee in room and no water, it just felt d fashioned and at £160 for a double room, pricey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank throwingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing