We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay in this lovely hotel.I pride myself on giving honest opinions of places we stay so here goes.We arrived early so we could use the pool as this was on of the reasons we chose the Passford.The pool was closed as there had been a power cut the night before but we were given our key to a very nice large standard double room.The heating was off so the staff did their best to provide us with portable heater to keep us warm,on the 3rd one we hadheat!The bathroom was large but out dated with Carpet up the side panel(thought that went out with the ark).The room was lovely an clean though.The grounds are amazing!!When we did get a swim it was very cold didnt stop in long and complained before we left as we felt although the pool water was clean the tiles and sidesof th pool were in need of a scrub.We had an amazing dinner in the restaurant the first night couldnt fault it breakfast was great good choice as much as you could eat but not very hot! We ate from the bar menu the s e cond night and the food was just as good we felt the food prices were quite reasonable but the bar prices steep!We would def return again even though we felt overall the price per room was a tad expensive for what we got.Next time we will return in the summer to take in the amazing grounds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozzyCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments. Please once more accept our apologies regarding the swimming pool, we have contacted our pool maintenance company to resolve the issues you have mentioned, however we would also like to thank you for your understanding regarding the pool being closed when you arrived.
I am pleased to tell you that we are currently in the process of refurbishing our bathrooms throughout the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed and had an amazing meal in our restaurant and that you plan to return in the summer months, we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently just for one night. Lovely huge room with a four poster bed, and huge bathroom with a sunken bath. Very impressed. Only things that let the room down were the plug in the bath didn't work so we ran a bath went to get in and half the water had disappeared, had to keep running it while in the bath, and that the tv in the bedroom was behind a bookcase so we couldn't watch it in bed.
It was sometimes impossible to get service in the bar as no one was around and no bell to ring.
We only had a bar snack and breakfast at the hotel but what we did have was very nice.
Overall a lovely hotel with very friendly staff, beautiful grounds and the swimming pool/sauna was lovely, the changing rooms were a bit too cold for my liking though! Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Here at Passford House we pride ourselves in taking all our guests comments and feedback seriously and weather good or bad we always do our very best to resolve any issues raised, which is why I am happy to tell you we are looking into relocating the television within the bedroom space and the plug in the bath has now been fixed. Once again many thanks for your feedback we are delighted to hear you will be returning in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here for a wedding reception in Jan 14, beautiful old hotel in lovely grounds, great size room, very comfortable. But, bathroom fittings and decoration in room tired and would benefit from a refurbish without losing the classic feel of the place. Bar prices the usual overpriced standard for hotels, and the gentleman serving definitely had his smile and sense of humour removed when we were there, saw him again at breakfast, hadn't cheered up! Rest of staff very pleasant. Breakfast was ok but black pudding so overcooked it was barely edible. Generally nice place though and would visit again.

Room Tip: Away from bar if there is an evening function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Just a really lovely hotel set in gorgeous grounds which must be fantastic in summer. Didnt have evening meals but breakfast was excellent. Beds soooooo comfortable and internet connection (free) in room was one of the best ive came across. One minor, because rooms are quite large TV seems a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bewise56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We had been before many years ago, it was a surprise break for my wife. They take Dogs - even better. We had a smallish room, big bed and large bathroom. Its a strange hotel full of quirk - huge wooden ducks in the entrance, a games room (board games), a nice swimming pool, a pet cemetery, and a Helipad - although I doubt one had landed there recently. Beautiful extensive grounds. The food is good, the service excellent, just the right balance between concern and giving you space. Judith you were wonderful. Its very very quiet, and very peaceful as a result. Log fires abound. Residents tend to be on the wrinkly side, very genteel and interesting. Will go back in a couple of years.

Room Tip: Rooms 141, 142, 143 on ground floor I believe are "dog friendly" rooms, if they have confe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed in a superior double room at the front of the hotel. Spacious with a pleasant bathroom and well supplied with toiletries etc. One small gripe though, no tea making facilities provided. When checking out I was told that if I had asked they would have been provided. Bearing in mind the cost I do think that this should have been provided automatically. We had dinner, beautifully cooked but really quite expensive, especially the wine ! Breakfast was included in the price, as much as you wanted but self service. The hotel was warm, clean and the staff very helpful and attentive. Log fires, plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge and bar.
I would go back though, it is a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Positives are that the rooms are clean. The bar prices for beer are ok but forget anything else. Pint of larger £3.60 but a lager shandy is £5.60!! The food isn't bad, but its also not great. However the service is not just slow but it makes Basil and Manuel look attentive and competent hosts! I am not one to complain at all, and believe me I don't, I think a travel inn could have been better. Having said that, the fry up for breakfast is not the hottest but is tasty. Wouldn't rush back and would try others well before coming back

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hairygrumpymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
501 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,757 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £94 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing