We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely gardens and 6 star serivce”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely gardens and 6 star serivce”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed there for just one evening but we had a really good time. The one thing we were extremely impressed about was the standard of service in the restaurant. I have been to many 5 star hotels and I would say none of them is as good as this one. The staff are really well trained. One more thing I would like to mention is they also serve Irish coffee which is really tasty and not commonly found in many places. You won't be disappointed staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I am very grateful for your kind feedback. My team always strives to provide an excellent and high standard of service, and I am extremely pleased to hear that we impressed you during your stay, being compared to a 5 star service standard is something my team and I can take pride in.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a great review on trip advisor and your recommendation to others, it is really appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    229
    83
    25
    11
See reviews for
172
354
33
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having just spent a very pleasant overnight stay at Passford House, I felt we must give praise to the lovely friendly and helpful staff at this hotel. Cant believe its only 77% on trip advisor ? We have lived in the area for the past 12 years and had never discovered this charming old Hotel. A very friendly welcome as we arrived from the lovely receptionist down to the porter showing us to our room. We decided to eat in the hotel once we had walked in the grounds and had a swim. We approached the reception and changed our rate to dinner/ bed & breakfast with no fuss at all. The meal was just beautiful and we were very pleased with the quality, much better than 3*. The breakfast was adequate and the standard room we had was well decorated with recently re furbished bathroom. This Hotel has loads of character and lovely gardens to sit and relax in, well worth a visit. We will certainly return and tell our friends in future, thanks to all at Pasford House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bored33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Your comments and feedback are lovely, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the hotel along with the facilities. It makes me extremely proud to hear such wonderful comments about my team and the continued excellent service they provide to all the guests, and I know my team will be thrilled reading it.
Thanks again and my team and myself look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely country house hotel which is tucked away on the edge of the New forest. With lovely gardens and indoor pool and a gym it is the perfect place for a relaxed quiet holiday or short break.

The service is attentive without being puchy while the comfortable traditional lounges provide home from home comfort. The bedrooms are well furnished and the grounds superb providing delightful views and you may even be lucky enough to see Concorde.

Although we were this time part of a group booking the menu choice for our evening meals was excellent and changed daily, while the quality of the food was up to the standard you would expect from a well managed hotel.

Room Tip: If you have accessibility difficulties ask for a ground floor room there are no lifts and the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments. It is great to hear you had a lovely time with us on your second visit. Our gardens and views are superb and it is wonderful to know you also love them as much as we do.
When guests are staying with a large group, our head chef likes to ensure that our guests are given a wider selection of menus throughout their stay, while providing excellent quality and high standards and we are happy you enjoyed his selection.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to be welcoming you and your guests back to Passford House hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We arrived to a very pleasant welcome by the staff and were shown to our superior ground floor room which had patio doors leading out to such a pretty garden. It was a good size, comfortable & spotlessly clean with chairs to sit in, a huge bed and all the usual facilities. The hotel is set well away from the main road and very quiet. It is well situated to get to Lymington and the coastal areas by car or to drive into the New Forest. We did not have time to use the pool or steam room but it looked clean and enticing and the gym upstairs had a pool table, table tennis table and four or five pieces of gym equipment-quite enough for us! We were impressed that you could have access to these facilities throughout the evening with no real cut off time as is often the case. We ate both in the bar and the restaurant and the food was excellent, flavoursome and very reasonably priced. The breakfast included in the room price was delicious too.The hotel had a lovely relaxing feel but all staff were very efficient and very pleasant. Every query was responded to quickly and kindly-it seemed that nothing was too much trouble. The quality of food and service was 4* but lack of lifts and air conditioning and one or two tired if rather charming areas, keep this at a really good 3* hotel. We would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior rooms have access to the pretty gardens. If you don't like stairs ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KAS747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay along with our food within the bar and restaurant. I am especially pleased you had a relaxing and lovely time. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 3 nights stay with my wife. We found this hotel to be both comfortable and clean. The staff were always polite and willing to help. The location suited us but being remote there's nowhere to walk too, some people my find this a problem. The indoor pool was clean and the hotel supply towels so no need to take any. I suspect we'll be returning sometime in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us and found the hotel comfortable and clean, with friendly and polite service. The hotel is just two miles from Lymington, however it does benefit from forest access making it ideal for New Forest walks. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 3 night break at this quality and slightly quirky hotel in the new forest. The rooms are fantastically clean and not a cobweb or spec of dirt was found anywhere including the swimming pool, it really was spotlessly clean everywhere.
The decor is perfectly in keeping with the place slightly dated slightly jaded and frankly if it was all magnolia and Ikea the place would lose all of its country house charm, in short it's perfect for what it is, a country house hotel! It's warm and the rooms all have central heating and it really is comfortably warm throughout. The indoor pool is really nice with a sauna and there is a gym upstairs which I didn't visit, far too energetic for me!
The restaurant meals were very good and not ridiculously priced, bar meals were enormous and very good value for money and our inclusive buffet style breakfast was fantastic.
Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful as well as immaculately turned out and polite, this includes housekeeping staff who kept a low profile but were always courteous and friendly when bumped into. There is ample car parking and you are only a short drive from Lymington which is also very nice. Bar prices were a little steep for spirits and mixers but lager was reasonably priced and on the whole I would say bar prices were as expected, so there you have it, a really good hotel with some quirky bits excellent staff and facilities and not stupidly expensive. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view at rear of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback and comments are a true testament to my team and their continued hard work and passion, we all pride ourselves in ensuring each one of our guests has a fantastic and memorable stay.
With reference to our bar prices, we do our best to remain reasonable and within line with other hotels in our area, and believe we are one of the most competitive.
Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback and for highly recommending us. We look forward to welcoming back to Passford House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Superb girls afternoon tea experience to celebrate a birthday.
We had use of a private lounge at no additional room hire with doors onto a pretty cottage garden. Beautifully presented food with all homemade cakes, extra jam and cream were no problem as were regular top ups of the teapots. Also a great selection of fine teas and coffee.
Service was great too, very friendly and attentive.
Excellent value at just £12.95pp.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccaj582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I am delighted to hear you and your guests had a superb birthday celebration with us on Sunday 23rd March. I am especially pleased to hear you enjoyed our selection of home-made cakes & our varied selection of teas with your full afternoon and cream teas. We endeavour to provide great service to all our guests and appreciate your lovely comments,
Thank you kindly for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
351 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,809 reviews
6.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing