We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A massive thank you passford house hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A massive thank you passford house hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked a surprise baby shower for my friend at passford house hotel for a few reasons 1 because we had friends traveling down for the baby shower, 2 the hotel allows dogs and children which was a bonus for myself, we arrived to find in our room a small mat, dog bowl towel and some treats. 3 A private room for our function of 21 people for afternoon tea and dinner in the evening for us guests staying in the evening.

The staff were all wonderful and take the time to talk to you and make sure you have everything you need.
All of the guests that attended the afternoon tea commented on how lovely it was, the selection of cakes and sandwiches were all very yummy and freshly made.

The 12 of us that stayed at the hotel enjoyed our stay very much the evening meal was something to remember as again we had our own private room which the staff made up for us which looked amazing we felt very special .

We have all come away with some lovely memories , thank you to all the staff involved in our stay because it's you guys that made our stay the amazing time that it was

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K8tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. My team and myself are thrilled you all had an amazing time with us celebrating your friends baby shower, while helping to create such lovely memories for you and your guests.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our full afternoon tea with our selection of freshly homemade cakes, scones and sandwiches, followed with a lovely evening dinner in our boardroom.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to be welcoming you and your guests back to Passford House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    214
    80
    25
    11
See reviews for
158
333
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at password hotel weekend of the 26th may 2014 for a baby shower in private function room for finger buffet, first class food just kept coming, followed by excellent three course evening meal food was fantastic. Service and staff very polite, room good, grounds and gardens excellent.

Room Tip: Room 123 higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind feedback. I am especially pleased to know you found our rooms, service and food to be fantastic, and you enjoyed our beautiful grounds and gardens.
We look forward to seeing you very soon here at Passford House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is one of our favourite hotels in England. The staff are lovely especially Zara, the reception manager, who is delightful and superb with kids. Brent the Manager is also a super guy. He even came and picked me up from Sway train station as my family were already there and in the swimming pool.

The food is excellent and the location of the hotel is perfect for venturing around the New Forest. The gardens within the hotel grounds are fantastic and there is a very relaxing feeling about the whole hotel. We even had one day were it rained all day and we had agreat fun in the pool, sauna and gym. They also have a pool table and table tennis for the kids.

The New Forest is lovely with beautiful walking & cycling paths through some of the country's most gorgeous areas. There are also some lovely beaches within easy driving distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, your lovely comments are next to none.
It is wonderful to know that Passford House Hotel is one of your favorite hotels in England.
We always try our best to cater for all of our guest’s individual requirements and I am thrilled to hear that my team provided this service for you. Brent and Zara are both an exceptional addition to my team and I know they will be overjoyed with your kind comments.
We are located in and surrounded by a beautiful part of England and I would like to thank you for highlighting this in your review, along with all of our facilities at the hotel, of which you and your family clearly enjoy.
Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back on your 6th visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed there for just one evening but we had a really good time. The one thing we were extremely impressed about was the standard of service in the restaurant. I have been to many 5 star hotels and I would say none of them is as good as this one. The staff are really well trained. One more thing I would like to mention is they also serve Irish coffee which is really tasty and not commonly found in many places. You won't be disappointed staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
I am very grateful for your kind feedback. My team always strives to provide an excellent and high standard of service, and I am extremely pleased to hear that we impressed you during your stay, being compared to a 5 star service standard is something my team and I can take pride in.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a great review on trip advisor and your recommendation to others, it is really appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Having just spent a very pleasant overnight stay at Passford House, I felt we must give praise to the lovely friendly and helpful staff at this hotel. Cant believe its only 77% on trip advisor ? We have lived in the area for the past 12 years and had never discovered this charming old Hotel. A very friendly welcome as we arrived from the lovely receptionist down to the porter showing us to our room. We decided to eat in the hotel once we had walked in the grounds and had a swim. We approached the reception and changed our rate to dinner/ bed & breakfast with no fuss at all. The meal was just beautiful and we were very pleased with the quality, much better than 3*. The breakfast was adequate and the standard room we had was well decorated with recently re furbished bathroom. This Hotel has loads of character and lovely gardens to sit and relax in, well worth a visit. We will certainly return and tell our friends in future, thanks to all at Pasford House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bored33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Your comments and feedback are lovely, thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the hotel along with the facilities. It makes me extremely proud to hear such wonderful comments about my team and the continued excellent service they provide to all the guests, and I know my team will be thrilled reading it.
Thanks again and my team and myself look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was our second visit to this lovely country house hotel which is tucked away on the edge of the New forest. With lovely gardens and indoor pool and a gym it is the perfect place for a relaxed quiet holiday or short break.

The service is attentive without being puchy while the comfortable traditional lounges provide home from home comfort. The bedrooms are well furnished and the grounds superb providing delightful views and you may even be lucky enough to see Concorde.

Although we were this time part of a group booking the menu choice for our evening meals was excellent and changed daily, while the quality of the food was up to the standard you would expect from a well managed hotel.

Room Tip: If you have accessibility difficulties ask for a ground floor room there are no lifts and the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Many thanks for your comments. It is great to hear you had a lovely time with us on your second visit. Our gardens and views are superb and it is wonderful to know you also love them as much as we do.
When guests are staying with a large group, our head chef likes to ensure that our guests are given a wider selection of menus throughout their stay, while providing excellent quality and high standards and we are happy you enjoyed his selection.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback and we all hope to be welcoming you and your guests back to Passford House hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We arrived to a very pleasant welcome by the staff and were shown to our superior ground floor room which had patio doors leading out to such a pretty garden. It was a good size, comfortable & spotlessly clean with chairs to sit in, a huge bed and all the usual facilities. The hotel is set well away from the main road and very quiet. It is well situated to get to Lymington and the coastal areas by car or to drive into the New Forest. We did not have time to use the pool or steam room but it looked clean and enticing and the gym upstairs had a pool table, table tennis table and four or five pieces of gym equipment-quite enough for us! We were impressed that you could have access to these facilities throughout the evening with no real cut off time as is often the case. We ate both in the bar and the restaurant and the food was excellent, flavoursome and very reasonably priced. The breakfast included in the room price was delicious too.The hotel had a lovely relaxing feel but all staff were very efficient and very pleasant. Every query was responded to quickly and kindly-it seemed that nothing was too much trouble. The quality of food and service was 4* but lack of lifts and air conditioning and one or two tired if rather charming areas, keep this at a really good 3* hotel. We would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior rooms have access to the pretty gardens. If you don't like stairs ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAS747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Your feedback and comments are very much appreciated. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay along with our food within the bar and restaurant. I am especially pleased you had a relaxing and lovely time. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing