We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undoubted Hotel of Choice”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Undoubted Hotel of Choice”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second stay here and, especially at this time of year with the gardens bursting into life, it is hard to see how it can be bettered as a proper country house hotel. There is no criticism worth making of the hotel - just admiration. Inside and out it is a feast for the senses which few could match. it is very John Betjeman in style, which is what we like. The set tea is especially civilised, not to mention generous.

Occupancy was high for our visit but you only noticed it at breakfast time.

The only minus was the leisure centre, which is not in character with the rest of the hotel. There is a reasonable swimming pool and a very small sauna, normally switched off. It's best to arrange a visit with reception in advance. There was a phone link to reception which you use to ask reception to turn on the sauna. We tried this but there was no answer. Since this was also the emergencey number, we thought this very dangerous. Reception mentioned that there was a fault in the system which has caused this which had been reported. They apologised but think safety if/when you use the cenrtre. It did not spoil our stay but it was a disappointment and a little shocking that emergancy arrangements were faulty. An attendant would solve the problem but this may not be viable.

.

Room Tip: We took the 4 poster room (107) which was superb. It faces the front of the hotel, which is floodlit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffordAlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review, your feedback is very much appreciated. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us and you had the chance to enjoy our scummy afternoon tea.
In relation to our sauna, we do tend to turn it on when it is required, this is our way of doing our bit for the environment, especially as the majority of the time the sauna is unused.
I would like to apologise personally to you as you were unable to contact reception from the leisure centre, as we explained at the time, on this particular day we were experiencing a technical fault with our telephone.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Passford House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    224
    81
    25
    11
See reviews for
169
348
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed one Friday night in standard double room. Very well decorated, clean and comfortable.
Lots of areas downstairs to sit and relax. Great gardens, with Monet pond and 10 acres. Good breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabtravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the hotel along with its facilities. We do love our gardens and our Monet garden and it is great to know you also love them.
I hope you will be visiting us again very soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked in for a long weekend of walking and this was a nice little hotel to come home to after a day out. Lovely grounds and very peaceful with good quality bedrooms and a choice of lounges to retire to.

The food was tasty and aspiring towards fine dining although portions too large to be nouveux cuisine.

Two suggestions for improvement. The SPA area is a bit dated with pealing ceilings etc. so needs an upgrade. Secondly and easier to fix, change the music CDs occasionally. The bar and restaurant used the same single CD on repeat for 3 days. Variety please.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you have a pleasant stay with us, that you loved our gardens and enjoyed your evening meal in our restaurant.

Thank you for your suggestions with regards to our leisure centre and the more easily solved music choices. Both these points have been taken on board and will be dealt with as appropriate.

My team and I look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

10/10 for this little hotel. Hidden away in the windy lanes of the New Forest, just north of Lymington, the hotel is in 10 acres of grounds - with some wonderful mature trees and a beautifully laid out garden.
It was the home of Lord Cecil (one of Victoria's ministers) but has been a hotel since the 1960s (or thereabouts).
The hotel sits on its own private road, away from any traffic, and surrounded by gardens that just need sitting in with a beer! (Which we did).
The staff are polite and helpful (even carrying our bags up to our room), and the room was wonderful (we had a Superior room with a King Size bed due to me being over 6 foot!)
The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom clean with lots of (very) hot water, and there were even bath-robes for our use.
We ate in the hotel for Dinner - good value, well cooked food, reasonable choice of wines. They coped well with our dietary requirements (lactose intolerance) - I had a huge steak, perfectly medium-rare with chips etc, and Sue had a very fresh local Lemon Sole.
Breakfast was a help yourself to as much as you can eat - so we did! Great choice of fruit, yoghurts, cereals etc - followed by a Full English... all delicious.

Room Tip: We chose a Superior Room to get a longer bed - well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-and-Sue-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
A very massive thank you for your lovely review, it is fantastic and very kind of you. I am extremely pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Passford House Hotel and you found us to be good value for money. My team and I like to go out of our way to ensure each guest has a very comfortable and hassle free stay. My chefs are always flexible with their menus to help our guests with all dietary requirements.
Once again thank you for your review and I hope you be seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a 4 night stay last week in very well run hotel. A little difficult to find initially but the sat nav did its job.
Staff were very polite and helpful, even the young man showing us to our room who actually got lost en route.
Room was just excellent with a lovely view over the garden area and spotless, even had a carpet up the side of the bath.
Breakfast for two days was help yourself to hot or cold items, other two days was served by the excellent staff. One or two guests had dogs with them which I consider a no no in hotels but to be fair they were very quite and well behaved apart from one indiscretion in the garden with guess who trod in it!!
One minor gripe was the quality of the room insulation/sound proofing we could hear everything going on i the room above.
One of the hotels we will be returning back to soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am especially pleased to hear you will be having a return visit to us here at Passford House Hotel! We really appreciate your feedback, and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to pass it on to us.
We are a dog friendly hotel and although our guest’s try to be considerate, occasionally the odd accident can be missed. Our staff do try to make sure it is monitored to the best of our ability.
Unfortunately, the age of the building does restrict us with what we can do with regards to soundproofing and some areas of the hotel do appear to be better than others, it can also depend on the other guests staying around you.
Thank you very much once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming to back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I recently stayed here for one night, en route to Norfolk. Accompanied by my 2 terriers I booked in, opened the door to my room and from there on in the whole experience of this hotel was nothing short of brilliant. From the dog bowls and mats, thoughtfully left in the room, to the large and lovely room with huge bathroom, to the gorgeous grounds and last but not least, the superb meal. I dined with a friend who is vegetarian, and we both impressed by the quality of the food. The service throughout was excellent - friendly, efficient and relaxing. I shall certainly recommend to friends and will stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with iknow-uk

Helpful?
Thank GILLS2851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you ever so much for your lovely review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your two terriers, we are a very dog freindly hotel and go out of our way to ensure our little doggy friends have just as much of a comfortable stay as our guests. It is a pleasure to hear you had wonderful service thorughout and you and your guest enjoyed your meals. Once again and I hope to be welcoming you back to Passford House Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked a surprise baby shower for my friend at passford house hotel for a few reasons 1 because we had friends traveling down for the baby shower, 2 the hotel allows dogs and children which was a bonus for myself, we arrived to find in our room a small mat, dog bowl towel and some treats. 3 A private room for our function of 21 people for afternoon tea and dinner in the evening for us guests staying in the evening.

The staff were all wonderful and take the time to talk to you and make sure you have everything you need.
All of the guests that attended the afternoon tea commented on how lovely it was, the selection of cakes and sandwiches were all very yummy and freshly made.

The 12 of us that stayed at the hotel enjoyed our stay very much the evening meal was something to remember as again we had our own private room which the staff made up for us which looked amazing we felt very special .

We have all come away with some lovely memories , thank you to all the staff involved in our stay because it's you guys that made our stay the amazing time that it was

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K8tp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. My team and myself are thrilled you all had an amazing time with us celebrating your friends baby shower, while helping to create such lovely memories for you and your guests.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our full afternoon tea with our selection of freshly homemade cakes, scones and sandwiches, followed with a lovely evening dinner in our boardroom.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we hope to be welcoming you and your guests back to Passford House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
414 reviews
6.1 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,537 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,687 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing