We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Passford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Passford House
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very nice hotel, would highly recommend. I've stayed in a few hotels in the new forest and this us by far the best!! The staff were friendly. Breakfast nice. Went swimming and had the pool to ourselves. It was so hot like a bath!! Rooms lovely and very clean. I would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishalicious123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. My team and I are especially pleased to hear we are ‘by far the best’ in the New Forest! We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    230
    83
    25
    11
See reviews for
173
359
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very good staff with reception both courteous and helpful. Room 154 looked over the gardens and woodland. An older property with a maze like approach to some rooms. Ample parking. The room was larger than expected for the price we paid with its centre piece being a super king-size bed. The largest bed I've slept in. The hotel was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast on one day was waitress served and on another a buffet style. Food was good. I would visit again and recommend the hotel to others. A good three star venue, with plenty to do if the weather was against you. Well placed for local attractions.

Room Tip: 154 looks over the gardens and woodland, away from the noise and car park. From my perspective an ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Your review is both kind and lovely, I am very grateful to you for taking the time to leave us your comments. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay along with the facilities and you found all my team to be helpful. We are indeed well situated for local attractions and I am thrilled that you recommend us to others.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A very relaxing place to stay.

We were greeted by very pleasant and friendly reception staff. Our room (a superior one) was very comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very good, and we also enjoyed dinner at the hotel.

The children loved the swimming pool, and if we'd been there for more than one night we'd definitely have explored the other facilities available, such as croquet and the putting green.

One of the best things about this hotel is its beautiful grounds which are lovely to walk around in. You can also sit outside enjoying a drink/the Sunday papers etc. It's a perfect place to return to after a hard day's walking or cycling in the New Forest.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladioli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
It is wonderful you and your family had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us and found our reception staff to be pleasant and friendly. I am pleased you had the opportunity to enjoy the gardens, the croquet lawn and our putting green, not to mention our indoor swimming pool. Thank you for your kind words and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Passford House in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very relaxing stay at the Passford House. Staff were great and breakfast was tasty.
We had a very good afternoon tea in the garden and felt at home right from the start of our short stay.
Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I am thrilled to hear you will be returning to Passford House Hotel! Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay along with our Full Afternoon Teas, our garden and our breakfast. Michael our breakfast chef does cook a fantastic breakfast, even if I do say so myself. I receive endless compliments about his breakfast and I know he will be happy to hear he has delighted yet another one of our guests. Thanks again, and I look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was our second stay here and, especially at this time of year with the gardens bursting into life, it is hard to see how it can be bettered as a proper country house hotel. There is no criticism worth making of the hotel - just admiration. Inside and out it is a feast for the senses which few could match. it is very John Betjeman in style, which is what we like. The set tea is especially civilised, not to mention generous.

Occupancy was high for our visit but you only noticed it at breakfast time.

The only minus was the leisure centre, which is not in character with the rest of the hotel. There is a reasonable swimming pool and a very small sauna, normally switched off. It's best to arrange a visit with reception in advance. There was a phone link to reception which you use to ask reception to turn on the sauna. We tried this but there was no answer. Since this was also the emergencey number, we thought this very dangerous. Reception mentioned that there was a fault in the system which has caused this which had been reported. They apologised but think safety if/when you use the cenrtre. It did not spoil our stay but it was a disappointment and a little shocking that emergancy arrangements were faulty. An attendant would solve the problem but this may not be viable.

.

Room Tip: We took the 4 poster room (107) which was superb. It faces the front of the hotel, which is floodlit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliffordAlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Thank you for your review, your feedback is very much appreciated. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your second stay with us and you had the chance to enjoy our scummy afternoon tea.
In relation to our sauna, we do tend to turn it on when it is required, this is our way of doing our bit for the environment, especially as the majority of the time the sauna is unused.
I would like to apologise personally to you as you were unable to contact reception from the leisure centre, as we explained at the time, on this particular day we were experiencing a technical fault with our telephone.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Passford House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed one Friday night in standard double room. Very well decorated, clean and comfortable.
Lots of areas downstairs to sit and relax. Great gardens, with Monet pond and 10 acres. Good breakfast. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabtravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the hotel along with its facilities. We do love our gardens and our Monet garden and it is great to know you also love them.
I hope you will be visiting us again very soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Booked in for a long weekend of walking and this was a nice little hotel to come home to after a day out. Lovely grounds and very peaceful with good quality bedrooms and a choice of lounges to retire to.

The food was tasty and aspiring towards fine dining although portions too large to be nouveux cuisine.

Two suggestions for improvement. The SPA area is a bit dated with pealing ceilings etc. so needs an upgrade. Secondly and easier to fix, change the music CDs occasionally. The bar and restaurant used the same single CD on repeat for 3 days. Variety please.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H, Owner at Passford House, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you have a pleasant stay with us, that you loved our gardens and enjoyed your evening meal in our restaurant.

Thank you for your suggestions with regards to our leisure centre and the more easily solved music choices. Both these points have been taken on board and will be dealt with as appropriate.

My team and I look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.1 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
469 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
365 reviews
3.4 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passford House

Property: Passford House
Address: Mount Pleasant Lane, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Passford House 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Passford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passford House Hotel Lymington
Passford Hotel Lymington
Passford House Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing