We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

The Walhampton Arms
Ranked #34 of 118 Restaurants in Lymington
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

went for lunch and the food was more motorway level of cooking - butter in plastic, pickle in plastic, cheese was dry and the coleslaw was tasteless

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    129
    54
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chertsey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“more good than very good but better than average”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

staff friendly, busy, but dealt with without delay, carvery was between ok and good. for example meats were alittle overcooked but only a little, veg was good but spuds were just a bit tasteless. im being fussy but overall a worthy effort and a carvery that wont leave you hungry. a good choice of desserts and reasonable prices. tables not too close together and drinks arrived quickly. overall i would eat here again which is the telling factor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great Sunday lunch!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We booked a table for 11 people today. As soon as you walk in you can feel the warm and friendly atmosphere. Staff were excellent, good choice of local ales and more importantly the food was great! Most of us had The Carvery, a great chef carving with a good sense of humour, plenty of hot vegetables and more than enough meat on the plate. The sweets were good too. All very good value, our 1st visit but not our last!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mudeford1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A place to drop into”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

On our way home we have used this pub / restaurant. The food was good, maybe a little pricey, the atmosphere was typical for a country pub, would visit again. Jazz played one evening each week.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Friendly Service & Good Food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We have driven past the Walhampton Arms many times; usually on a Sunday when the car park looked very full. We arrived just after opening on a Tuesday for lunch; lots of space in the car park and a warm welcome too. There is a separate area for us doggie folk and we were soon joined by a partially sighted lady, her guide dog and companion, who are regulars. My wife had two starters as a 'main' whilst I went for the carvery. Both her dishes were freshly prepared - the salad was nice and crisp. There was a very jolly chef serving at the carvery - he made a special effort for the partly sighted lady without being condesending. The carvery fare was good honest pub food and plenty of it. Excellent value for money and we will be back with the rest of the family. The landlord said the wekends are very busy so need to book.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watchman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walhampton Arms also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Walhampton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing