We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gone downhill” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Walhampton Arms

The Walhampton Arms
Ranked #39 of 119 Restaurants in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
london
Level Contributor
197 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“gone downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had visited this pub previously and had good food. We had steak and kidney pudding it was okay but needed more gravy. It was served on top of the mash which made it all a little dry and craggy. I could taste no kidney at all. It was okay but nothing special. I then ordered sherry trifle, I think someone had drunk the sherry the trifle had none. The custard was runny which made the whole thing very sloppy. When we went to pay we told them about it as I had not been able to eat it. We were told nobody else has complained. Great attitude will not be going back

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank farmgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    123
    52
    35
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely setting, but almost empty on a Sunday should have been a warning. Overcooked roast meat was a disappointment. Vegetables were OK, but someone had dropped half their food into the gravy and that certainly didn't help with 'presentation' even from a carvery.

There is outside seating, but that too was empty, in spite of ashtrays and sunshine (no, I'm not a smoker, so thought it worth warning other prospective visitors. It is possible that we missed the 'rush', but chatter from a nearby table warned us not to visit on a Monday when it is over-filled with coachloads of pensioners.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasparilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A lovely end to a lovely day in the new forest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I think in total i have been to this pub to eat on more than hmm 10 occasions. That in my opinion says more than i could waffle here on trip advisor. ITS GOOD (especially on Mondays) so go here if you are in the area

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HubertEgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very dated menu, below average food, OK service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

The pub looks very nice from the outside, but from picking up the menus we realised we'd made the wrong choice in pub. The menu & specials were dated and uninspiring, the 5 of us (3 adults & 2 kids) eat different dished including fishcakes, burgers, lamb shank & fish.
all were poor but not disgusting.

In short there are many much better pubs in the Lymington area that offer superb food.

I will not visit here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jontread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have been here about 8 times now in the last 12 months and each time we come we have always had lovely meals, today my Mum had the steak and she said it was lovely, I went for the burger with cheese and bacon and the burger was very tasty, my brother had the steak pudding and he too enjoyed it, today it was fairly busy, service was good, the staff are very friendly. Its a lovely pub, well worth a visit in my opinion.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Walhampton Arms also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Lymington, New Forest
 
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to The Walhampton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing