We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of A Little Gem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Little Gem
Ranked #23 of 43 Lymington B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed for one night only, but we left as friends. Mrs Money the landlady is very welcoming and cooks up the best breakfast in Lymington! The beds are super comfy. Loved it! We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abster_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We were welcomed very warmly and shown to our ensuite room. Breakfast was lovely and Elaine did everything she could to help us with our stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I and my husband visited the beautiful New Forest and stayed at The Little Gem with our two little girls, 6,5 and 8 yrs, this summer.
We were given are wonderfully nice and warm welcome. We rather had the feeling we were visiting a dear old friend or relative than a B&B.
The house is very light and friendly. The rooms are immaculately clean, contain anything you might desire including brochures on what you might do in the surroundings, ferries to the Isle of Wight, nearby sights etc. and I especially loved the way the rooms are furnished with beautiful four-poster beds :) .
It's wonderful to start the day by following the lovely smell of a delicious breakfast and taking place at the lovingly set breakfast table, having the friendly rays of the morning sun shining in through the generous glass front, and enjoying the comfort and calm of looking out onto a beautiful little garden while having breakfast.
All the more so, as we could actually enjoy a nice long breakfast, since the garden and the host Elaine's two dogs offered our two little girls the wonderful possibilty to be off and out and playing. :) Generally the two girls took to Elaine, the house and dogs like a house on fire and declared they loved Elaine and would definitely want to return next year (I wasn't asked about that ;) ).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronabrown, Owner at A Little Gem, responded to this review, 3 September 2011
Thank you so much for your review I really do appreciate you took the time to do it. . Such a lovely surprise. I too really enjoyed every minute of your stay and am flattered you wrote such a lovely review. Please come back to stay whenever you can and give my love to your children.
With every good wish, Mrs. Money, Bertie Biggles and Brona Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

My younger sister and I stayed here for two nights, the room was very clean, spacious and had everything you would need. The ensuite, again was immaculate with a great shower. The breakfasts on both days was great, good choice of cereals for grown ups and for kids and a fantastic cooked breakfast (love the scrambled eggs!!)

Mrs Money makes this place special, she is friendly, fun, takes pride in what she does, and does it exceptionally well.

I would stay here again, it's a perfect location for the forest and the seaside!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexxeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A Little Gem is a lovely place to stay. Mrs Money makes you feel very welcome and at home. This is an ideal place to stay with children. My children didn't want to leave!!!! Breakfasts are tailored to your individual needs and requirements and are very very tasty. A Little Gem is close to the local village and only a 5 to 10 minute drive into Lymington, in a nice quiet cul-de-sac. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Two rooms, dbl has seperate bathroom, twin has ensuite shower room (this can also be made into king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at this B & B for two nights. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hostess Mrs Money was very welcoming and
her two little dogs were endearing. The breakfast was ok. We did feel very welcome and if we visit Lymington again we will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My Mother and I spent a very enjoyable night at 'A little gem' in Lymington which this B&B was. It was easy to find and was ideally situated for both the New Forest and for the ferry across to the Isle of Wight. We were made to feel extremely welcome. The ensuite room was a good size and met all our needs with excellent coffee/tea making facilities. The full english breakfast was cooked to order and was hot and very tasty; and we were able to have it at a time that suited us. Good value for money. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: Quiet residential area with street parking. Excellent breakfast included and coffee/tea making facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicLover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lymington hotels
0.6 mi away
Auplands Guest House
Auplands Guest House
#21 of 43 in Lymington
119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harford B & B
Harford B & B
#19 of 43 in Lymington
27 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inglemere
Inglemere
#1 of 3 in Hordle
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Angel & Blue Pig
The Angel & Blue Pig
#20 of 43 in Lymington
353 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Olde Barn
The Olde Barn
#14 of 43 in Lymington
94 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Bosun's Chair
The Bosun's Chair
#12 of 43 in Lymington
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little Gem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little Gem

Property: A Little Gem
Address: 1 Pennington Close, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both rooms have been refurbished in 2014 with William Morris blinds and Jennifer Adams bedlinen. Flexible room already has power shower and now double room , with private bathroom, now has digital power shower over the bath. Little Gem is a small two-bedroom B&B specializing in providing personal service and magnificent quality breakfasts. It's a modern townhouse, refurbished to the highest standards, located in quiet Close between New Forest and coast in the yachting haven of Lymington. Near: salt marshes, marinas, IoW ferry, pubs, restaurants, golf, railway stations. (1m Lymington High Street; 3m Milford; 5m Brockenhurst; 7m Beaulieu) Pickup can be arranged. Children and dogs welcome. Wifi available. Near bus stops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Little Gem Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing