We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little B&B”
Review of A Little Gem

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Little Gem
Ranked #20 of 40 Lymington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Little Gem B&B as I was tired of staying in hotels and wanted to stay somewhere a little different. On a quiet cul-de-sac, a 5 minute drive from the centre of Lymington, Little Gem is a good base to explore the New Forest and the proprietor Elaine is a very conscientious (and loquacious!) host. Our room was good, with a very large and comfortable bed and a small yet practical en-suite. As other reviewers have noted, breakfasts were a highlight.

Room Tip: At the time of visiting (March 2014), Elaine had a small dog so if you are implacably opposed to hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregoire34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

My friend and I went on an adventure not really knowing much about the New Forest area.
We found this B&B online and it was the best thing that could happen to us.
It's within walking distance from the Lymington Town train station (about 20 minutes).
Our host, Elaine, is the most amazing woman! Very attentive and helpful. She gave us many tips about places to visit in the area and recommended a few restaurants in town.
The room was very comfortable and the full english breakfast Elaine cooked was just the best!
If we ever return to that area, we really hope that we can book a room again with Elaine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arkanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just back from another delightful trip to Lymington made all the better by staying at the Little Gem B&B!

Best kept secret this place! Fantastic landlady, very kind and magically entertaining. Pretty comfy rooms, lovely garden to sit out in and smashing breakfast with homemade bread! What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from my break at the New Forest and a night at the lovely Little Gem. I came across it looking for a dog friendly B&B, and how lucky was I to find it! Elaine and Brona Brown were the perfect hosts for me and my little puppy. We felt instantly welcome. Warm quintessential English decor which truly adds flavour to the experience of being in the English countryside. Lots of hot drinks on offer , great power shower , toilettries, tv and DVD player with DVD's to choose from and even hair dryer and hair straightener!! So thoughtful!
Breakfast was just delicious , piping hot and abundant. Loved the home made bread! And most of all I enjoyed Elaine's company and chat during breakfast. I will most definitely go back next time I take a break in the area.
Ana & Brissie pup

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I nearly didn't book a room here because of critical comments from a Bedfordshire couple which I have now realised are totally unfounded!

We stayed in the room they had stayed in and it's smashing! No problem with size or decor. Very comfortable, the bed especially, everything you need with a fantastic host.

Elaine and her gorgeous little dog are the best to stay with in this area, I cannot recommend and praise Little Gem enough. Simply the best!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in The Forest area for a few days and I must say The Little Gem was absolutely perfect for us. The atmosphere is lovely, very welcoming and cheerful and the rooms are really comfortable, crisp and clean.Fantastic beds! Breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of it, we were able to select what we wanted the night before. There is ample parking directly in front of the house.What we found most useful was the fact that although the house itself is set in a quiet close there are shops and take-away resaurants within a few hundred yards. Very welcome indeed when you arrive late in the evening and really don't feel like getting into the car again, or if you want to buy stuff for a picnic before setting out in the morning. Mrs Money made us feel very much at home and was really good at giving us ideas of what might be especially interesting. Will definitely be staying here again as we didn't get round to doing everything!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Theres no question Elaine is an attentive, informative and excellent host serving an excellent breakfast but unfortunately the room we stayed in next to the larger ensuite bedroom is wholly inadequate as a double room, especially considering it's the same room rate as the other bedroom twice the size without the convenience of an ensuite. Although there is a separate bathroom located across the hallway which to be fair was for our sole use, the hand shower attached to the bath tap was a real disappointment. Our recommendation would be to request the ensuite room, order a full breakfast with Elaines delicious home-made bread and jam. The secondary room is ideal for one person or kids and as recommended by Elaine, an electric power shower over the bath would have earned a five rating. We would have no hesitation staying in this little gem again but only in the larger ensuite room as highlighted during our stay is underpriced and presents very good value for money.

Kevin & Maggie xx

Room Tip: Request large ensuite room and pay extra because it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bronabrown, Owner at A Little Gem, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for your review. I loved having you both here and am pleased you found the food fab and look forward to welcoming you in the super-king en suite room. You will be delighted to know I am in the process of having a shower put over the bath.
With regard to room size, Visit Britain and The New Forest Associstion have a standard for a double room and the room you stayed in complies with that standard: FULL-SIZE double bed, etc. Actually, some people really do prefer this room; especially those who need a bath and dressing gowns are provided. Many couples have slept happily in this room and left good feedback. (See the two reviews immediately below).
The decor is not to every one's taste but I like traditional white wicker. My pricing structure is one of the lowest in the New Forest and is reviewed annually. I will take your remarks into onside ration then.
Thank you for staying here. I wish you well in your coffee shop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
1.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
580 reviews
1 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,679 reviews
4.7 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amberwood Bed and Breakfast
Amberwood Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 40 in Lymington
37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leyland Country House
Leyland Country House
#5 of 40 in Lymington
263 reviews
1.1 mi away
Britannia House
Britannia House
#4 of 40 in Lymington
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little Gem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little Gem

Address: 1 Pennington Close, New Forest, Lymington SO41 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lymington
Price Range: £79 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both rooms have been refurbished in 2014 with William Morris blinds and Jennifer Adams bedlinen. Flexible room already has power shower and now double room , with private bathroom, now has digital power shower over the bath. Little Gem is a small two-bedroom B&B specializing in providing personal service and magnificent quality breakfasts. It's a modern townhouse, refurbished to the highest standards, located in quiet Close between New Forest and coast in the yachting haven of Lymington. Near: salt marshes, marinas, IoW ferry, pubs, restaurants, golf, railway stations. (1m Lymington High Street; 3m Milford; 5m Brockenhurst; 7m Beaulieu) Pickup can be arranged. Children and dogs welcome. Wifi available. Near bus stops. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Little Gem Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing