We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a local museum”

St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery
Ranked #8 of 36 things to do in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brockenhurst
Level Contributor
140 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gem of a local museum”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

When visiting Lymington, it really is worth taking an hour or two to visit St. Barbe's. It is quite small but has an excellent selection of art and exhibits and a good shop stocked with local goods. Good for souvenirs or hostess gifts. The museum is very child friendly and is an excellent place to go with the family.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank liberdade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    24
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

A good selection of art and exhibits, helpful and knowledgeable staff on hand.
Ideally situated just off the top of the high street.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend an hour”
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We had a half price ticket to go to this museum so decided to pop in with our 8 and 2 year old. The museum is fairly small but they have done a good job at making it fun and interactive for kids with dressing up items, toys, a simulated lifeboat, quizzes, etc. The staff were lovely too with one really outstanding lady who looked all over for our daughters lost bracelet - and found it! - and was very enthusiastic about us all seeing and enjoying all the exhibits including a fantastic art exhibition. Nice shop too :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jodyw74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Interesting museum and great for children too”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This museum is only a few minutes away from where I live, and we have an annual family ticket. When we have the grandchildren it's a great place to take them, especially on a wet afternoon. There are lots of displays of local interest, and the children love the simulated boat and the seaside exhibits. Nothing grand, quite simple, but it keeps them occupied for ages. I always enjoy the art exhibitions that they have, and there have been some enlightening and interesting exhibits, such as the Heath Robinson exhibition. I never knew he was such a great water-colourist. A good place to while away some time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A pleasurable place of calm”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This small local museum, in a side street off the High Street, offers well-presented exhibitions of mostly local artists often with a coastal theme. Children enjoy getting involved in various 'actions' such as a game of fishing. The shop in the foyer has a varied choice of New Forest related items for sale. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and the building has an air of peace and tranquillity. Try not to miss it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to St Barbe Museum and Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing