We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Use For Cake Paper Cases!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gun Inn

The Gun Inn
Ranked #80 of 119 Restaurants in Lymington
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Telephone No. 01590 642391 This is a pub with food eaten either at tables near the bar or in a separate dining area. Order at bar but waitress service to tables.
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New Use For Cake Paper Cases!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

After going for a walk round Keyhaven Marshes we popped in here for lunch. It was a sunny, warm day, so we sat in the large garden to the rear. After ordering our food from a grumpy elderly man we speedily received smoked mackerel ploughmans and a cheddar and onion sandwich. The ploughmans was reasonable, but the chutney was in a cake paper case - very odd touch and not exactly appealing. There was no butter on the sandwich which made it very dry. Don't think this is going to be a memorable pub and definitely won't bother to revisit!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    73
    55
    40
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent family pub - worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Popped in here for lunch. Food very good and good price. Garden out the back, pets welcome. Nice friendly atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank serafin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never a bad visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We travelled from Southbourne to Keyhaven and the Gun, with a Russian student as its such a great old pub and we wanted to show her the pub and the lovely area, the little harbour, and the spit to Hurst castle etc. We have been to the gun many times and have "never" had a bad experience ( I am amazed at some of the reviews here)
Today in the lovely busy pub garden under sun shades we had, 1 ham salad platter, 1 prawn salad platter, and a tuna mayo jacket potato, very good sized in fact to much for our student.

Parking is sometimes a problem although a large pay and display car park is opposite the pub the area is very popular.

We will return without doubt.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfie2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“On holiday and popped in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely, picturesque pub. Service great. Partner ordered pie but unavailable so had the curry. I ordered crab salad. Both very tasty. Best crab salad I have had with a massive portion of well dressed crab.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann_Margaret_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford,united kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have been going to the gun when we come down on holidays for twenty years the service is good, staff very friendly and the crab and prawn salads are great ,the beers and wines are at a good price, great large garden at the back, dog friendly ! It's worth a go .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgeandpaul246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gun Inn also viewed

Lymington, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to The Gun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing