We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restauant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We celebrated my birthday in June by having dinner in the Stanwell House.
It was excellent - In fact we would go so far as to say this was the best meal we have had in a very very long time.
The presentation and quality of the food was worthy of 5star - hang on to your chef he or she is worth their weight in gold.
.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn5222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here for just one night in late June 2012 and had a very pleasant night. Although the hotel has its own car park, it is some 100 yds away across the High St (and was full when we arrived soon after 4pm) parking was reasonably easy in the High St itself. The room allocated was nicely decorated, and there are two points worthy of special note: the towels were superb and the bed was very comfortable indeed. We chose not to eat dInner at the hotel, preferring to go down to the waterfront and soak up the atmosphere there, but breakfast the next morning was excellent. Definitely a spot we shall remember for the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for two nights for a friend’s wedding, The rooms are nicely decorated, clean & comfortable. The wedding dinner was lovely not a morsel of food left on anyone's plate and the evening buffet went down a storm. The much needed breakfast in the morning was also very nice. What makes this hotel so lovely is the staff, they were so accommodating and friendly they could not do enough to help us. Hotel staff tend to be faceless people we are polite too but do not have much to do with however, at this hotel I can name three exceptional staff who made our stay that much nicer... The Bar Steward Hiten always smiling, receptionist Marilyn who gave us the history of the hotel and pointed us to a lovely Indian restaurant and Lucy who worked very hard coordinating the wedding. We plan to go back to this hotel. Hint: There is only a small free car park to this hotel, worth getting there early to get a parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justyouraverageme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stayed here for work and it was relaxed, run by attentive and helpful staff and clearly has a quite talented chef lurking in the kitchen. Very nice room with some shabby chic decor and some very nice touches. Because this was paid for by a company booking I don't really know how to gauge my review had I paid for it out of my own pocket but I certainly would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stpirans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

my boyfriend and i had need to be in the area so decided to make a trip out of it. we were taking our puppy too so our first criteria was 'dog friendly', but this way exceeded our expectations. it was a sunday and we got an amazing DBB deal. the food would not set the culinary world on fire but it was really nice, local, fresh and served with grace. having said that, the b'fast was delicious.
what really stood out was the vintage glamour decor and the friendly, helpful, professional service. in fact we loved it so much we stayed an extra night!

Room Tip: garden rooms...........take your dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulietDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

After seeing reviews on trip advisor I booked a garden suite for a nights stay for our anniversary and the room was fantastic. Beautifully decorated (especially the bathroom) with a feeling of having its own garden. We were very lucky as we stayed when the weather was gorgeous in May.

The location on Lymington High Street is great, with some lovely boutique shops only a few doors away.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant, which the food was divine and breakfast had a good selection.

The only negative point I have is that I only stayed for one night! I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeandLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed here for one night in May 2012 for one night. We booked a standard double room which was 99 pounds. We were in room 30 which was quite small and very hot given that it had been a warm day and there is no air conditioning or fan in this room.

Bed was comfy, decor was okay but a bit dated in the bedroom. The bathroom had definitely seen better days and I've uploaded some pictures of the chipped bath tub, broken tiles, yellowed grouting. Shower was quite poor and underpowered. There was also no extractor fan in the bathroom and the window also didn't open in here.

The breakfast was nice and staff very friendly. This place is okay to stay in and we can only comment on the room we had, however I personally think that they are over seliing it a bit as a boutique hotel.

Parking is on a first come first served basis and we had to drive round the one way system a couple of times before we could find a space to unload our luggage.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
395 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £108 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing