We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't tell everyone!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't tell everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The trouble with writing a good review is that other travellers sit up and take note. So when you return to an absolute gem of a hotel you are reluctant to share your memorable visit with others as you want to keep it all to yourself!
However, when ALL the staff go out of their way to make you feel so special you just have to shout it from the rooftops to show recognition for all their efforts.
The biggest compliment we can give is that it feels like you are coming home and when the Head Chef creates a menu to suit your own personal tastes, that's special. Especially when it tastes as good as it looks.
When the food and beverage management pander to your every needs, that's special: and when you are greeted at reception with a warm welcome and a broad smile, that's special.
All we can say is we can't wait to return and thanks to everyone for making our stay more than special. Get the Pinot on ice! JLS

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jbgoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    370
    115
    48
    10
See reviews for
177
929
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We contacted the hotel months before our wedding to ask about special rates for group bookings. The answer was no, but we booked anyway as the reviews here said it was the best in Lymington. We had 11 rooms at the hotel at £110 each.
I dropped off our luggage at 11am, explained I was getting married that day and asked for our bags to be taken to our room, which the receptionist agreed to do.
We checked in after 11pm, our bags had not been taken to the room and we had to wait for the receptionist to do this after our long day. We went to the bar for a drink, there was no apology.
Next morning at breakfast we waited 45mins before being asked what hot breakfast we would like, and then only when I said some guests had to catch the ferry, again no apology.
The hotel itself and breakfast was great but the service was awful. It felt like they know they are good so they don't bother trying. I didn't accept something for nothing but a little extra effort for my wedding night would have been nice!

Room Tip: Opt for the Georgian Rooms, rather than the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LazyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for the night on Saturday 24 July and can not speak highly enough of our experience. Hotel was stylish, clean and comfortable and above all the staff were all incredibly friendly and efficient. In particular, Anita, who looked after us in the seafood restaurant went to great lengths through out the evening to make sure that I was comfortable given my disabilities effecting my leg. The food in the seafood restaurant was excellent and the breakfast was probably the best hotel breakfast I have had in many years - so nice to have it cooked freshly to order rather than the dried up buffets that most hotels provide. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable reunion with friends at the Stanwell House Hotel. First time visitor but very impressed. Room excellent with own terrace. Food really good and all the staff made the short break memorable. Anna looked after our party superbly and Lucy even drove us to the station when a taxi wasn't available! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just got back from a short break at Stanwell House after celebrating our wedding Anniversary there. I can't speak too highly of this lovely hotel. From it's classic but unassuming entrance to it's classy and intimate interior and lovely gardens, the hotel oozes quality and style.
We were allocated a lovely ground floor garden room (ask for No.1!) and our 3 double doors opened onto a lovely quiet lawned garden, where we took our afternoon tea in complete peace.
Our room was really beautiful, well appointed, spacious and with a superb bathroom with bath and shower and everything was immaculate.
I have to say that every single member of staff that we met were welcoming, cheery and helpful, but special thanks to Marilyn on Reception, who I understand has been with the Hotel for 20 years....she was superb! Extremely helpful on the phone prior to our visit and warm, friendly and professional during our stay.....what a great ambassador for Stanwell House.

Our thanks to all of you for a lovely stay!

Kind Regards, Mark and Lesley

Room Tip: No.1 Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardtop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We visited the Stanwell recently for a coffee and a light bite, whilst in town with our dog.The conservatory and garden is lovely and the service was excellent. There was a really nice atmosphere.
Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N1VBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Lovely boutique style hotel in the heart of Lymington Town. The stylish entrance leads into a light and airy foyer. We were greeted by a warm and professional Receptionist, who showed us straight to our suite with its own private garden. The suite is tastefully decorated with great attention to detail. The modern white bathroom has a large bath and a power shower and a mirror with lights. There is a flat screen TV in the lounge area and another in the bedroom. We were lucky enough to visit during a hot and sunny spell, which made the private garden, with table, chairs and parasol a delight. Breakfast was a five star affair both in choice and quality. Service is efficient, friendly and professional. The hotel boasts two restaurants, a choice of Bistro or Seafood, which the staff recommend highly but we decided to take advantage of the many other eateries in the area. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite No. 1, which ticks all the boxes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing