We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not suitable for disabled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Although we had been to the hotel before we had never stayed there.
My friend is disabled and finds it hard to climb steps so we asked for ground floor rooms. The rooms were on the ground floor but we had to climb steps to get to them and the stairs didn't have any rails. The ground floor rooms were next to the patio area so there was no privacy for us when people were just outside your window. Although the staff were helpful they couldn't help us move around. The restaurant at night wasn't up to scratch I'm afraid the food didn't live up to our expectations and when we complained they didn't seem that bothered although one night the fish wasn't cooked.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

We guess hat the hotel is an old coaching house, it has a wonderful atmosphere and is located on Lymington High Street. There is a private car park.. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, breakfast was one of the best we ate in hotels on our recent UK visit. Staff are friendly and helpful, It is clearly very popular with the local population. We have several visits to Lymington planned over the next 12 months and this will be an automatic choice..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ffljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It has been over 15 years since I last stayed in this hotel. Since then there has been the onslaught of the mobile phone and internet as well as a few changes on the high street (Woolworth’s replaced by the 99p shop shows a definite consistency). Mobile signals still don’t seem to have reached Stanwell House but perhaps that’s no bad thing if you want a weekend away from it all. Internet definitely has reached the place with good complimentary W-Fi available.

The rooms are nice but nothing out of the ordinary for a hotel of this calibre. In fact they are rather small but come with the usual tea making facilities and biscuits in wrappers that are difficult to open. And they are very nicely appointed. Breakfast is an excellent buffet with a couple of fish options as well as the standard ‘English’ with ingredients provided by people and farms I have never heard of but put across in a manner that that implies superiority to all else. You can also have a couple of other options (Eggs Benedict or Florentine) for an additional £2.50. Bearing in mind the cost per night, this seems a little over the top.

The big plus for this hotel is its location – situated right on the high street so close to a whole range of bars and restaurants. It couldn’t be more ideal if you like an evening with a few drinks in different places with no taxi at the end of the night. The hotel also has a restaurant that the staff seemed keen to push when we arrived. We didn’t eat there since it seemed a shame to tie ourselves to the hotel with so many other excellent options available in the town.

The hotel has free car parking available on the opposite side of the street entered from the council car park. But it fills up at busy times so you may be unlucky. Otherwise, parking is free before 8am, after 6pm and all day Sunday on the road. The council car park charges seven days a week.

This hotel is a boutique hotel which, in this case, really is a euphemism for expensive. It certainly isn’t cheap if you want to stay here for a couple of nights. We managed to get a deal with an extra night added for £85 which brought the average cost per night down to a more reasonable level but without this, the nightly cost, to me, could not have justified the hotel, nice though it is.

Overall, a very lovely hotel but on the pricey side even for what you get and you might want to check out the numerous town centre pubs that do accommodation before making a decision.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlyerMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I took the special offer: cream tea on arrival, 3 nights B&B and 2 nights dinner in a suite in the main hotel. The hotel is very nice, but beware of the stairs in the main house. The room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice of hot and cold food. Our two dinners were good. We ate off of both menus and paid a little more than the allowance in the offer. Lymington is a great base for exploring the New Forest and this hotel is ideal. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank grahamfarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for one night, in a lovely quiet room with access to the garden. All the staff were friendly and very efficient but without 'being in your face'. Able to park in the hotel car park just across the road and visit the lovely shops right outside. Dined in the Seafood Restaurant in the evening - a fine dining experience of superb food, well cooked and beautifully presented. The wine list was very comprehensive although we opted for the cocktails which were super! Breakfast was just as good in the morning. Free Wi-Fi in the lovely conservatory was good - a lovely place to have a drink whilst surfing the net.

Was a bit worried when I saw the sign that said it was a 'Dog friendly Hotel'. However, all the dogs were well behaved and quiet and were allowed in the conservatory but not the dining rooms.

A truly lovely hotel in a super location and although quite pricey, worth every penny!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlook the garden and so are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My fiance and I spent one night at the Stanwell House Hotel to celebrate his birthday. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and told we had been upgraded to a suite. The suite was beautiful, over looking the garden. We ate in the Seafood resaurant and the food was amazing. Beautifully cooked, presented well and the ambience of the restaurant superb. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: can definitely recommend suite 16 at the back of the hotel on the first floor overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuePKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We've wanted to try this place for an awfully long time but had been put off because we didn't realise they accepted dogs. Anyway, we popped in for tea last week and sat in the conservatory waiting for someone to take our order, which they did - eventually.

One of the teapots had a large chip out of the spout - I expected better. Service was slow and they weren't busy.

We were thinking of booking a stay but I'd want to try a couple of more times with drinks before spending money as accommodation is on the pricy side.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
394 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £108 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing