We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I've just got back from a 2 night break and everything about this place was great. The service was really friendly and efficient, the place looked clean and bright, the room was very comfortable, its location in the centre of Lymington is superb and the food was excellent (both dinner and the breakfasts we had). The wine/alcohol list was also very good.
I can't say a bad word about it.
Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: all rooms here are nice, but the garden/patio view is probably a little nicer.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,592)
There are newer reviews for Stanwell House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

I have been here 5 times. The food had always been delicious and the restaurant is beautiful. The meals I have has have been very good value for the quality. I think it is by far the best place to eat in Lymington. The local art exhibitions give this place local charm. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank loveshotsunnydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I would like to thank you for a wonderful New Years Eve 2013/14 enjoyed by my wife and I and our friends. We all found the venue, the atmosphere, the warm welcome, the excellent service and particularly the food a joy.
Please continue that beautiful 8 course taster menu for as long as possible - wonderful, the best we have tasted for a long time.
Many thanks and best wishes - Clive Holmes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 147Clive43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Stanwell House this christmas with friends and could not fault our stay. Lovely staff, really nice rooms, great food - just a perfect stay.
Would recommend the Georgian rooms at the front of the hotel, lots of character.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianakroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed one night between Christmas and New Year. Well placed hotel right on the High Street. Reasonable sized room, spotlessly clean with good sized shower. Our room (no 36) had a view over the roof tops to the Marina. Dined in the Sea Food restaurant which had a good choice of fresh fish which tasted lovely with great service. Had drinks in the bar after (small but nice). Breakfast was good too. A slight wait (15 mins) as Dining Room was very busy but plenty of tea/coffee/ while you wait. (Eggs Benedict were superb) We made a point of chatting to all the staff we met and they really were very efficient/professional whilst remaining very friendly. Lymington itself was very pleasant with plenty of shopping, good walks and a couple of nice pubs. We would not hesitate in returning to Stanwell House.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

For a friend's birthday, we decided Stanwell House would be the ideal location for afternoon tea. It didn't disappoint us! A delightful, relaxing and airy setting, friendly, helpful staff and a fantatsic selection of delicious cakes and sandwiches. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOUisebids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just back from a lovely trip to Lymington and would go to Stanwell House again.
Nice, smart hotel with aspects of the old character (staircases). Lovely rooms, clean , modern, with everything you would want from a good hotel.
The Bar is nice, small but functional, we had lovely cocktails in there, they have a sister Bistro two minutes away too.
We ate in the Bistro restaurant, great food, excellent service. I had pork, my partner the steak, we washed it down with a nice Pinot Noir.
Breakfast was great, the Grand Breakfast was good, the continental breakfast looked good too.
We had room 23, which was fine but my partner is a light sleeper, so we would not have a room on the High Street again.
But would definitely stop at the Stanwell again when we next visit Lymington :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
383 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £125 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing