We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More shabby chic than boutique.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“More shabby chic than boutique.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

A much needed break but sadly disappointing despite having been to the hotel before. Booked through Red Letter Days and that is perhaps the reason although they have compensated us. Our room was shabby (threadbare chair, broken lamp shades and missing bulbs), bathroom dated, carpet ill fitting, cold (in an unused way), cobwebs on the ceiling and a spider! The real issue was though that there was no water at all from either of the hot taps. A plumber was called but we gave up waiting and moved to a garden room - this room was more corporate drab than boutique. We were given a bottle of red wine to improve our evening after it was completely spoiled by this - had I known that nothing else would be offered I would have refused to accept it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pippa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    385
    123
    49
    10
See reviews for
189
969
20
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SE England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I recently stayed here for two nights accompanied by my wife. This boutique hotel is situated in the centre of Lymington and sets a very high standard. The room and facilities are excellent. Food was superb on both nights as was breakfast. There's a super wine list and it was great to unwind with afternoon tea in the lounge after a few hours shopping in Lymington followed by a walk alongside the nearby Quay area.
The hotel staff were professional and friendly and the service was first class, couldn't be faulted. All in all - the perfect escape!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Having stayed here a few months previously, our most recent visit was a let down.
On our initial visit we were asked how we heard of this Hotel and we said Trip Advisor. When we arrived we were upgraded which was unexpected but lovely.
This time we booked a garden room, which in fact looked out to a brick wall.
The room itself was comfortable however a few niggling issues.
The top of one of the taps in the bathroom was missing and black masking tape was strapped around the radiator. Not what you would expect in a hotel of this calibre.
The package we booked included breakfast. We generally don't eat a big breakfast, nor did we here. I just had some fruit and toast, and my husband had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon.
When we checked out we were asked to pay a £2.00 supplement. Yes, this is a paltry amount of money, but why charge it and what was it for? When we queried this they said don't worry, forget the charge. Many people in the restaurant were eating heartily, and several courses too, and why not. We wonder if we were charged because of a slither of smoked salmon?
We may give this hotel one more chance. We live several hours away from Lymington, but have family in the area so it is convenient. Watch this space.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VEUVE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Although we live only a 45 minute drive away, we stay here fairly regularly as a comfortable place for a night away and meal with wine without having to sort out a taxi ride home. We also lunch here regularly. The food is of a consistently high standard, in terms of taste, choice, quality and presentation. The lunch menu, in particular, is excellent value for money. Most recently, the presentation of my smoked mackerel starter was so good - it was like a small piece of art - that it almost seemed a pity to destroy the composition. I don't belong to the generation that takes food photos to post on social networking sites, but I was very tempted to. The kitchen team could teach a certain other far more expensive 5 star hotel in the forest (where a Michelin-starred chef has been brought in in mostly an executive capacity, and where we have also stayed on a number of occasions) a thing or two. I hope they don't read this and poach the Stanwell chefs!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Booked this hotel over a year ago, but due to family illness have had to cancel my booking twice! No problem for these lovely people - they simply did not charge us a bean; then allowed us to re book within six months which we ended up having to do TWICE! Eventually got to stay and given a wonderful upgraded room. Fantastic décor, ambience, but above all....wonderfully helpful friendly staff, including their Night Porter who looks after you like royalty!!
The food is also interesting, exciting, (Charles choc desert was the most original desert I have ever experienced!) with great sea food and a lovely restaurant.
Enjoyed a number of night caps in the cosy little lounge between the two restaurants.
Can't wait to return to this jewel in Lymingtons' crown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Stanwell House Hotel a few years ago and as it was a special birthday for our two wives we decided to try again as we had such a good time before.
There was an offer with Waitrose that included 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast plus and afternoon tea and a bottle of house wine, who could refuse.
I emailed to request a parking space as the four of us travelled in one car and after dropping off the baggage from the high street I found a space for my car during our stay.
Lymington is a beautiful town on a hill with lots of unique boutique shops, a few with a nautical feel as you are right by the sea, in fact there is a link to the Isle of Wight if you want.
The hotel food is absolutely excellent, we ate in the Seafood restaurant both nights, delicious as was the red wine called ELKI, definitely recommend this one.
The staff are so friendly and helpful from reception, housekeeping through to the restaurant and breakfast team, even the owners are friendly and happy to chat.
There is lots to see and do in and around Lymington including the New Forest and country and coastal walks, Christchurch a lovely seaside resort. The hotel even has a "Twizzy" electric vehicle to hire.
We stayed in two of the Garden rooms upstairs and they have a lot of amenities including free bottled water each day. The rooms are getting to the point of needing a redec, but still very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodCultureFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteparish
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The only quibble I would have of the Stanwell House is that the fruit at breakfast seemed to me to be out of cans, although it is promoted as "poached". Perhaps it's my taste buds. Whatever, as I say that was a tiny disappointment in what was otherwise a superb experience. The staff were very attentive, very friendly.... our room (16) was excellent, and dinner in the Seafood restaurant was one of the very best we have ever had. Excellent! Breakfast was splendid (despite the fruit), a cream tea, splendid. I have notched up quite a few "brownie points" with my wife for this stay.

Room Tip: 16 is a suite with a view of the garden and a little more expensive than some other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,045 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing