We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

From the welcoming arrival from jade. Our very pleasant room with nice shower feature.the food in the seafood restaurant was delightful ,my wife had the crab cannelloni and I had the potted prawns full of flavours and very fresh , tasting of pork for main again well presented and so tasty. Shame we could only stay one night but we will be back. Even the sun was shinning.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haguenau67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

965 - 971 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in March on a Secret Escapes deal.

Check in experiences was excellent and told on arrival we had been upgraded - lovely - but the paint smell in the room from the decoration going on outside was very strong and not so lovely!

Room itself was lovely, but standard of decor in corridors is very poor - more like a scruffy B&B with old stained carpets than a 4* 'boutique' hotel. Lukewarm shower in the evening.

Food in the restaurant was of a very good standard but service bit amateurish.
Breakfast service was chaotic and very poor, 30 mins to get some orange juice, almost an hour in total. Not the best start to your Saturday morning. On check out asked to speak to manager about the breakfast service, spoke to the restaurant manager who said 'sorry' and that we would receive a email from the manager/proprietor. Almost a week later and heard nothing. Was left to receptionist to be proactive and deduct cost of breakfast from our bill. Very nice young lady.

Overeall disappointing, and not at all the relaxing night away we hoped for. It was a good value deal but even at that, let down by the breakfast experience in particular. Would have been even more disappointed if we had paid full price. We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have original sash windows and no secondary glazing so you can hear a lot of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tootz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and attend the opening of The Elderflower restaurant in the town. We stayed in room 29 a suite which had a balcony and nicely furnished. There was a problem with hot water both nights which meant we could not have a shower. This was dealt with by the hotel staff but too late for our stay. We were given money off our room when we checked out. We would like to stay again but in a different room as the suite was not worth the money. The breakfast was lovely but gets very busy on Saturdays when people come in for coffee. Looking forward to a return visit and a better experience.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from our third stay at this lovely hotel, this time with a dinner, bed and breakfast special offer, which we thought was very good value.
Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated (even if the decorator had a very wobbly hand!) I was delighted to find feather duvet and pillows, so much nicer. Our room was at the front of the hotel and we were concerned that we would be disturbed by the sound of the market being set up the next morning, but we didn't hear a thing. In fact the hotel is very quiet throughout.
We had not eaten here before and now wonder why. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The bistro has three different menus, bistro, grill and table d' hote, but we were able to go "off piste" and mix and match. Food was delicious, loved the pickled vegetables served with my starter. It was served elegantly and the staff were friendly and attentive. Our wine was topped up and we were asked if we would like extra bread.
We slept well, maybe too well as when we showered the next morning, there was no hot water. Reception told us that it was a busy time showerwise and to give it twenty minutes for it to reheat. Sadly we didn't have time for that so our showers well and truly woke us up! All fine the next morning though.
Breakfast was great with a menu for cooked breakfast brought to your table rather than buffet style. The quality was excellent. There was a good selection of continental breakfast too, with cereals, cheeses, meats, fruits and pastries. I do enjoy bread with my breakfast and there wasn't any of that, but I am sure I could have asked. And I certainly didn't go hungry!
One thing that did shock and disappoint us was the manager (?) asking the maître d at breakfast how he felt breakfast went, then launching into an aggressive attack saying it was an utter shambles. How unprofessional to do this in front of customers. We thought everything was excellent, so if that was a shambles, well I'd love to see it on a good day!
Would highly recommend to anyone for both sleeping and eating.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed for one night on business on a Saturday night. Communal areas were really nice and the location is fantastic. Service was good and the young lady with red hair and glasses on reception couldn't have been any nicer if she tried, thank you. The only downside was the room itself (33) which felt a little unloved. Some of this my be the old world look which I don't normally go for. The bed was really comfy and clean. Yes I would recommend this hotel and I will return. Breakfast was really nice in nice surroundings.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Bugnerh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I have stayed at this hotel more than 10 times over many years for single occupancy when attending a sailing corporate event

This time my partner stayed for a two night Dinner/Bed and Breakfast and it exceeded expectations with regard to food, ambiance ,quality and originality on décor and fittings. The staff are friendly ,helpful and really attend to every request

An experience difficult to fault and excellent value for money

Room Tip: Room 17 suite is amazing and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

"Magical Christmas and New Years Eve"

Have eaten here on many occasions sampling almost all of the menus and I can honestly say, that the food is always outstanding !
I decided this year I wanted a stress free Christmas. Wow! without any doubt Stanwell House Hotel on Christmas day delivered, delicious food, sumptuous champagne and fine wine, courteous happy staff and stress free! From the bar to the restaurant with reception staff in-between they were all so helpful and all seemed to genuinely want to make our day special.
Our meal was excellent - every course was beautifully presented, some wonderful flavours and a few imaginative twists, all cooked to perfection.
I can say no more, other than -GO AND HAVE THE "STANWELL HOUSE EXPERIENCE"! Not just at Christmas, it’s great at any time of the year in fact we had such a memorable day we booked for the New Year's Eve Black Tie Dinner and Dance and what a fantastic time we had, very memorable again thanks to the team.
Our meal was amazing we had a 7/8 course taster menu which was brilliant and once again the service was second to none we had a first class evening.
On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful young lady we were then served some very inviting champagne and canopies, all very relaxed with no panic or rushing around.
Our meal had both quality and quantity, so much so that we didn't finish all the courses!!!
It was a great occasion and we enjoyed it so much that we fully intend to return next Christmas and New Year
We would recommend this Hotel to anyone who is visiting the New Forest Area at any time of the year and we are sure that you will have a great experience as the whole team at Stanwell's just seem to have got it right!
Well done to them all and thanks for making our Christmas and New Year so special.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £95 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing