We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming hotel, but do read what the website says about the size of the car park.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
740 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“A charming hotel, but do read what the website says about the size of the car park.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We reached Lymington at 1200, as it was a lunch party which had drawn us there, and we got the last legitimate space in the hotel's own car park. I'm not sure that there was very much movement later in the day. If one can't get into the car park then parking is expensive and requires payment, or moving the car, by 0800 the next morning.

Mind you, we'd intended to go by train; it was only on discovering that the railway would be shut east of Brockenhurst when we would be returning that we took a car instead.

The hotel is in at least one Georgian building in Lymington's attractive High Street. There is a tiny bar on the left as one enters, before reaching Reception. Beyond Reception there is a very attractive area with seats and tables in what is effectively an atrium. This gives the impression of being between old buildings, although apparently it was created deliberately and the flagstones are actually only about 15 years old.

The rooms are well equipped, with good bathrooms. Our room, at the back, was quiet. Unusually I didn't use the free wifi, so can't comment on it.

As we only needed a light supper after an excellent lunch, we went out; the hotel does offer options, but they all seemed likely to be more than we needed. There are plenty of alternative places to eat nearby.

Luckily we just beat the rush at breakfast, which was slightly chaotic, although it was a very good breakfast and freshly cooked.

We enjoyed our stay at Stanwell House and would return, so long as we didn't have to rely on the hotel's car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Room, to be away from the street (especially on a Friday night, as the market sets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarum_Castle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    370
    115
    48
    10
See reviews for
177
929
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very pretty hotel and the front of house/reception is clean, bright, stylish and pleasant. Sadly it all went downhill as soon as we entered the corridor leading to our room. Dark, dank and with a strong smell of industrial cleaning products, the room was no better; small, dark, stuffy, full of way too much furniture and equipped with what appeared to be two child-sized single beds shoved together.

The bathroom was laid out for the convenience of advanced contortionists and the towel rail was, rather alarmingly, held together with gaffer tape.

The bed lived up to its promise, contriving to be so concave that, regardless of where I laid, my feet were the only bit of me able to go to sleep. In the end I gave up and curled up on the floor.

It may be that, because we were staying as part of a Red Letter deal, the hotel decided to stuff us by giving us an awful room. I don't know. Either way, a nasty experience and one we have no desire to repeat.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Booked this restaurant for an afternoon tea from Red Letter days. The hotel was easy to find and the conservatory where we had our tea was bright and airy. We didn't stay here but it looked well worth another visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_Vampyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

From the welcoming arrival from jade. Our very pleasant room with nice shower feature.the food in the seafood restaurant was delightful ,my wife had the crab cannelloni and I had the potted prawns full of flavours and very fresh , tasting of pork for main again well presented and so tasty. Shame we could only stay one night but we will be back. Even the sun was shinning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haguenau67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for one night in March on a Secret Escapes deal.

Check in experiences was excellent and told on arrival we had been upgraded - lovely - but the paint smell in the room from the decoration going on outside was very strong and not so lovely!

Room itself was lovely, but standard of decor in corridors is very poor - more like a scruffy B&B with old stained carpets than a 4* 'boutique' hotel. Lukewarm shower in the evening.

Food in the restaurant was of a very good standard but service bit amateurish.
Breakfast service was chaotic and very poor, 30 mins to get some orange juice, almost an hour in total. Not the best start to your Saturday morning. On check out asked to speak to manager about the breakfast service, spoke to the restaurant manager who said 'sorry' and that we would receive a email from the manager/proprietor. Almost a week later and heard nothing. Was left to receptionist to be proactive and deduct cost of breakfast from our bill. Very nice young lady.

Overeall disappointing, and not at all the relaxing night away we hoped for. It was a good value deal but even at that, let down by the breakfast experience in particular. Would have been even more disappointed if we had paid full price. We would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have original sash windows and no secondary glazing so you can hear a lot of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tootz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and attend the opening of The Elderflower restaurant in the town. We stayed in room 29 a suite which had a balcony and nicely furnished. There was a problem with hot water both nights which meant we could not have a shower. This was dealt with by the hotel staff but too late for our stay. We were given money off our room when we checked out. We would like to stay again but in a different room as the suite was not worth the money. The breakfast was lovely but gets very busy on Saturdays when people come in for coffee. Looking forward to a return visit and a better experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from our third stay at this lovely hotel, this time with a dinner, bed and breakfast special offer, which we thought was very good value.
Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated (even if the decorator had a very wobbly hand!) I was delighted to find feather duvet and pillows, so much nicer. Our room was at the front of the hotel and we were concerned that we would be disturbed by the sound of the market being set up the next morning, but we didn't hear a thing. In fact the hotel is very quiet throughout.
We had not eaten here before and now wonder why. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The bistro has three different menus, bistro, grill and table d' hote, but we were able to go "off piste" and mix and match. Food was delicious, loved the pickled vegetables served with my starter. It was served elegantly and the staff were friendly and attentive. Our wine was topped up and we were asked if we would like extra bread.
We slept well, maybe too well as when we showered the next morning, there was no hot water. Reception told us that it was a busy time showerwise and to give it twenty minutes for it to reheat. Sadly we didn't have time for that so our showers well and truly woke us up! All fine the next morning though.
Breakfast was great with a menu for cooked breakfast brought to your table rather than buffet style. The quality was excellent. There was a good selection of continental breakfast too, with cereals, cheeses, meats, fruits and pastries. I do enjoy bread with my breakfast and there wasn't any of that, but I am sure I could have asked. And I certainly didn't go hungry!
One thing that did shock and disappoint us was the manager (?) asking the maître d at breakfast how he felt breakfast went, then launching into an aggressive attack saying it was an utter shambles. How unprofessional to do this in front of customers. We thought everything was excellent, so if that was a shambles, well I'd love to see it on a good day!
Would highly recommend to anyone for both sleeping and eating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing