We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening meal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful evening meal!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I just want to say a big thank you to all the staff in Stanwell. I and my husband wanted a lovely meal to celebrate our 5th anniversary, but the restaurant we had booked originally lost our reservation so we ended up in Lymington and what a perfect experience it was. Staff very polite and helpful even though we did not have a reservation they showed us the bar for a lovely cocktail and after 15 min our table was ready on a busy Friday night. The food delicious, service could not be more excellent, we said from the begging to the reception that we are celebrating our anniversary and at the end of our meal we were presented with a plate with lovely fudge wishing us 'Happy Anniversary'.- what a lovely end of our evening. We will be back Stanwell House and next time we will bring friends.

Room Tip: Unfortunately we only had a meal but next time we will stay, oh bring your dog with you because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnejankaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    389
    123
    50
    10
See reviews for
194
977
20
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our last day on holiday at a nearby farm where we could walk into Lymington 'off road' via footpaths. We stopped out of interest outside the Stanwell House to see what we might grab for lunch, went inside and then out to the outside sunny patio. Ordered moules and frites followed by plum cobbler - delicious! And a very nice pinot to go with our meal too. Thank you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My family and I visited the restaurant on Mother's Day and had a rather terrible time which resulted in me making a complaint to the hotel and writing a review on here. The owner contacted me following the review and we discussed the issues. Following our telephone conversation he invited us back for afternoon tea this time for my mothers birthday and I am so pleased we returned. As before the food was spectacular and the service was 100%. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the owner came out to introduce himself and have a chat.

The conservatory is light and airy and very comfortable and sets the mood for the visit. At the end of our afternoon tea my mother was presentation with some hand made basil fudge on a slate board wishing her a happy birthday, this was a lovely surprise.

On my first review I would not have returned but having gone back again and experienced the atmosphere and service as everybody states they have I wouldn't hesitate in coming back for afternoon tea and a meal.

Thank you for a lovely afternoon!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is our second time at Stanwell House & won't be our last !! It has to be my favourite place to stay in the UK x we had a delicious cream tea on arrival , the homemade scones were gorgeous. We then took the stanwell Twizy electric car to explore the new forest & visited bucklers hard which was beautiful & worth a visit X our evening meal was 10/10 the best food we have had in a long time, breakfast in the morning was also brilliant . The hotel is clean and well maintained, the rooms are fantastic. What sets this hotel apart for others is all of the above and the staff, the were all so friendly & welcoming & couldn't do enough the accommodate our needs x it's well worth a visit .... Also you must try the cocktails .. Very nice ... Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful stay x

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We had a delicious cream tea there on Sunday afternoon. There were 2 scones with jam and cream, plus a selection of homemade cakes, which were lovely and fresh. All served with a hot drink of your choice. Very nice and very filling! The service was friendly and efficient as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a weekend at Stanwell hotel. We were quite a large group - myself, husband, parents, sister and brother in law as well as our two dogs.

Myself and my husband had the dogs with us in room 5 and were very impressed by the greeting - dog treats and a blanket ready and waiting for them.

The rooms were nice and homely and the room my parents stayed in (room 2) had some amazing modern features!

The food in the hotel was absolutely delicious. The service was a little slow but the food was certainly worth waiting for and beautifully presented.

I would certainly recommend this friendly hotel to anyone wanting a trip away to a fab part of the country with or without canine friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked a couple of nights at Stanwell House, and can say we had a fantastic stay. Rooms were lovely, bathroom and particularly shower was top class. Had read a couple of reviews about noise when the market set up on a Saturday morning but they either tip-toed or it's not a problem. Next time we're in the New Forest we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,061 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing