We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

we stayed here one night on our way to the Isle of Wight, c. we eat in the bistro which was ok. rooms were clean and comfortable and staff friendly Food overpriced. Very good location for ferry to Isle of Wight

Room Tip: In the main hotel second floor acc. Not easily accessible with suitcases. Car park 100 yds away. Whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    370
    115
    48
    10
See reviews for
177
929
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed Sunday night at the hotel and only wished our stay was longer.The food was excellent
Well presented and the staff friendly and very helpful. We had an allowance for our evening meal which made our stay good value for money.Yes the hotel had no parking but that is not uncommon for a hotel in the middle of a town and we had no problems finding a space.
My husband was relieved we could only get wi-fi in the conservatory so that was not a problem either!!
Would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for good quality food and a stay in Lymington which is a delightful little town
Mrs A Green

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Although Stanwell House calls itself a boutique hotel, it isn't really - it's just a nice, small (but delightful) English country town hotel. We stayed for three nights and found it ideally located for exploring Lymington and its beautiful coastline and for heading off into the wider area. We had a first floor garden room which was fairly small but had every amenity except one, wifi, which we sorely missed. I know it's a bit sad to need wifi on holiday but we did and, despite being told that the signal would be boosted, nothing happened and we had to go into the conservatory to get a signal. That wasn't all bad, because the conservatory and adjoining small garden are nice places to sit and relax over a drink or a coffee.

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night (as part of our deal we had an allowance worth two table d'hote menus) and this was excellent - both the food and the accompanying service. Breakfast was also first class, with a very good cold selection and excellent cooked food - the full English was great and the smoked haddock and poached eggs lovely.

On the debit side, however (and this added to the wifi problem is why I only award four stars) is the parking situation: the hotel car park is very small, hard to find and nearly always full. It's a pity that they can't come to some arrangement with the local council to enable hotel guests to park at a discount (or for free) in the pay and display area. Finally, and this isn't the hotel's fault, but please note that the Saturday market is just a bit (ok, a lot!) disappointing: we were expecting a bit of a farmers' market type feel with local products and crafts, but most of the stalls were just selling the stuff one would find on any local market.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

My wife and I have just spent 3 days at this Hotel and the experience was first class. Whilst I must say that our bathroom was in need of some attention the rest of the facilities were second to none, the food was excellent but the big bonus was the staff. All extremely polite, helpful and interested in our well being generally. I have to take my hat off to two ladies in particular, namely Marilyn and Alexis. The former was perfection in reception, warm in her acknowledgement of you and a very committed and professional member of the staff. Alexis who was in charge of the breakfast area was a true joy to deal with, encouraged her team with a very professional calm authority and mingled amongst the diners with a class of yesteryear which was absolutely wonderful. I had to smile each time I saw her. So wonderful to find two cracking ladies with a gift to serve and please, both supported by other very friendly staff. A lovely Hotel which I would recommend to anyone.

Thank you.

Mervyn Jones

Room Tip: We had room number 32, very comfortable but the bathroom whilst clean is in need of refurbishment. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Attended a fab charity fashion show at Stanwells on Thursday evening in aid of a local charity - event was extremely well organised and so efficiently run by the staff at the Hotel - a welcome drink then the buffet was excellent! Handmade individual savoury tarts that were divine - skewers,cheese board,delicious looking fresh strawberry pastries etc etc and coffee to follow - it was a pleasure to have such a fab evening with girlfriends ,couldn't fault the food,staff and organisation skills !

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank samanthahollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Booked this hotel as I was meeting some business colleagues for an evening meal on Friday – they were staying on their boat in the marina – being petrified of boats I chose this hotel. All going well until no WIFI in room (router problem I was told) – then at 3am the roof leaked – no one answered at reception so for the rest of the night was listening to the water dripping in through the ceiling!
Breakfast was slow – was joined by 5 guests - then they told us that the breakfast area was to be closed for a private wedding!
The hotel staff were friendly and tried to put things right but after very little sleep things feel worse!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 1 night at the Angel and Blue Pig, and then two nights at the Stanwell House hotel. They are not comparable, even though the latter was cheaper! We had a fabulous stay at Stanwell House, the room was fantastice, and the service was great, nothing too much trouble. We had afternoon cream tea, which was the best I have had, and was lovely sat out in the garden.
We will return, it's the only place to stay in Lymington.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing