We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently spent 2 nights at the Stanwell House Hotel. We have tried to stay before but it was always fully booked but were lucky to get a room for our dates in May. The hotel is in a great location. We were in a garden room/suite, we had a small lounge area and a good size bedroom and bathroom. Despite the location there was no noise during the night. we had lunch at the hotel which was great and visited the small bar each evening. Its good to remember that the bar is not staffed but there is a small bell to ring and the staff come straight away. All in all our stay was very enjoyable and one that we would definitely repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

870 - 876 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited the Dry Dock bar for birthday celebrations. Champagne of choice available (not an assumption you can make elsewhere in town). Excellent bar snacks - amazing quantities and very tasty. Owner very kindly gave a small wrapped birthday gift to my father. Above and beyond!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked our stay at 'The Stanwell House Hotel' through Secret Escapes, and got a good deal, which included the following:
1) Standard Room, we were given a Garden room, which was really light and airy, spacious and very clean, and in a quiet location in the hotel.
2) Bottle of Champagne, which was waiting for us in the room, in a bucket of ice and very well presented.
3) Deluxe cream tea, in hotel conservatory, this was lovely, beautiful home made scones and mini cakes and tea of coffee.
4) A 6 course Taster Menu for dinner, the food was amazing, very well presented and so tasty, and the staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
5) Breakfast was also very tasty and well presented, nice bacon. mm mm
The hotel drink prices were good for a hotel, and the choice good
Loved the dog Roly on the bed, to use as a do not disturb for the room, as in. 'Let sleeping dogs lie' very funny, and such a sweet fluffy dog available to buy.
The receptionist was excellent, offering not only Hotel details but local knowledge as well.
In fact all staff were friendly and appeared happy in their work,
We will definitely be back to stay here again, very nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a fabulous stay we have had. A one night break booked on a Sunday evening bed breakfast and evening meal deal. We upgrade to a suite which was well worth the small supplement we paid. A beautiful, well thought out hotel with many personal touches. We spent the early evening in the courtyard area drinking some the best gin and tonic's we've had. The savoury snacks were a little scarce but the staff went all out to get me some and refreshed them with every drink order. The camel staff in particular cannot do enough to make your experience pleasant. Very professional and efficient and nothing is too much trouble.

We had our evening meal at the hotel. and both chose off the fish menu. Absolutely stunning food. The gin battered pollock was to die for.

All in all a wonderful stay and would be more than happy to return paying the full price.

Lovely to stay in an independently run hotel, the personal touch is really there. Thank you. Xx

Room Tip: Definitely worth the supplement for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbrownandherboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we stayed here one night on our way to the Isle of Wight, c. we eat in the bistro which was ok. rooms were clean and comfortable and staff friendly Food overpriced. Very good location for ferry to Isle of Wight

Room Tip: In the main hotel second floor acc. Not easily accessible with suitcases. Car park 100 yds away. Whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed Sunday night at the hotel and only wished our stay was longer.The food was excellent
Well presented and the staff friendly and very helpful. We had an allowance for our evening meal which made our stay good value for money.Yes the hotel had no parking but that is not uncommon for a hotel in the middle of a town and we had no problems finding a space.
My husband was relieved we could only get wi-fi in the conservatory so that was not a problem either!!
Would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for good quality food and a stay in Lymington which is a delightful little town
Mrs A Green

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Although Stanwell House calls itself a boutique hotel, it isn't really - it's just a nice, small (but delightful) English country town hotel. We stayed for three nights and found it ideally located for exploring Lymington and its beautiful coastline and for heading off into the wider area. We had a first floor garden room which was fairly small but had every amenity except one, wifi, which we sorely missed. I know it's a bit sad to need wifi on holiday but we did and, despite being told that the signal would be boosted, nothing happened and we had to go into the conservatory to get a signal. That wasn't all bad, because the conservatory and adjoining small garden are nice places to sit and relax over a drink or a coffee.

We had dinner in the hotel on the first night (as part of our deal we had an allowance worth two table d'hote menus) and this was excellent - both the food and the accompanying service. Breakfast was also first class, with a very good cold selection and excellent cooked food - the full English was great and the smoked haddock and poached eggs lovely.

On the debit side, however (and this added to the wifi problem is why I only award four stars) is the parking situation: the hotel car park is very small, hard to find and nearly always full. It's a pity that they can't come to some arrangement with the local council to enable hotel guests to park at a discount (or for free) in the pay and display area. Finally, and this isn't the hotel's fault, but please note that the Saturday market is just a bit (ok, a lot!) disappointing: we were expecting a bit of a farmers' market type feel with local products and crafts, but most of the stalls were just selling the stuff one would find on any local market.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
395 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £108 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing