We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating at Stanwells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I regularly visit the hotel with clients and fellow professionals. The service is always excellent and the food is always well presented, hot when it should be, and most importantly, tasty. I have never had a bad experience at this hotel and mostly I positively praise the standard of food presented and would and do not have any hesitation in recommending it. Being children and dog friendly are added plus points!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastingbychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the stanwell house for a short break. The hotel is in a good location on the High Street a short walk from the railway station. Rooms are very comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
We had dinner in the Seafood restaurant and were very impressed by the quality of the food and wine.Service was efficient and attentive. Breakfast is also very good with options for all tastes and diets.
Lymington is a very typical English town with lots of history.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary this weekend at Stanwell House. Check-in was warm and professional, the room was great, location spot on and dinner just fabulous. Thanks for making a rare escape such a good one! Nice touch on the Jellycat toys too. Our daughter loves the pony toy we bought her!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirthdene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have been coming to Stanwell House for a number of years now and it never fails to hit the mark every time. We have a Whippet and she is made so welcome - it is so unusual to have a dog friendly hotel that has such high standards.

Dogs are welcome in most areas of the hotel except the restaurants, although dogs are welcome to eat with you in the conservatory.

The staff are exceptional, friendly, relaxed but on the ball. The restaurants (two) are both very good, the starters are absolutely brilliant.

Stanwell House is a great hotel, great location in a great town. Check it out.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, Garden rooms brilliant for dog owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichWandsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

From the moment staff received us - helping with luggage and check-in - throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Staff were courteous and friendly; food was excellent; rooms were all different and all very comfortable; location is perfect. This was a group from a Gardeners' Club. I'd recommend this hotel for any kind of stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Excellent service from the staff throughout our stay and would recommend for personal stay or a business team day. The only small downside was finding the parking but given the location, it's not a significant issue.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyinruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

great location and a really warm welcome from the night duty manager (David I think?) when I arrived late...he was very helpful BUT from arrival in room it went a bit downhill. In a 'boutique' hotel you expect a nice room with a bit of a difference but I found mine really stuffy and a bit old fashioned. Nothing to complain about just not that great. Got quite a lot of noise from the street outside too so quite hard to sleep with the window open and no aircon so not much choice. Didn't have dinner but restaurant looked OK and it was well set out for breakfast in the morning where, once again, the service was great BUT the soft boiled eggs were hard boiled which was a let down. Parking awkward but that comes with the town centre location and you will have to pay to park. Staff great, room average, wifi not working so all in all a bit disappointed. Great location though and lots of nice restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: stay away from rooms overlooking the main high street if you want a quiet night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySING73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £95 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing