We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They really look after you”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“They really look after you”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Four of us (two couples) stayed for three nights
Well furnished room with comfortable bed, decent bathroom and effective air conditioning.
There are stairs to climb.
There will be dogs staying - all the ones we encountered were very well behaved and affectionate.
The Wifi is problematic. None of us managed to make it work anywhere in the hotel despite having the pass codes. They could do with boosting this, because so many people rely on wifi nowadays.
The food is wonderful. We ate dinner every night in the hotel, from choice, and it was all delicious. The staff are very attentive and interested in communicating with you.
We had a lovely stay and will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benniethefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    382
    118
    48
    10
See reviews for
186
958
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for nearly three weeks while working away from home in Lymington. The staff are excellent and were always very flexible even when I had to change plans. The rooms in all parts of the hotel are well furnished and very comfortable. Evening meals or room service was very good quality and always very speedy and reasonably priced.

Breakfast is very nice and the waitress at breakfast had great knowledge of the town when I asked what to do in the evenings. I would love to go back for leisure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant stay at Stanwell House Hotel, amazing service, good quality clean rooms, good price too. Special thanks to Marylin and David & all the staff for making our stay very special. David was especially brilliant making up a bacon sandwich, cup of coffee and very early wake up call for one of our party who had to leave to catch a plane.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this hotel through Red Letter Days and had a 2 night stay in a Georgian style room. We can not fault the service and attentiveness of all of the staff. They are well trained, happy to help and the manager was very hands on all weekend. We ate in the Seafood restaurant one night and had a delicious meal which was well presented and fresh. Breakfasts were cooked to order and very good quality. The bedroom was very clean and had everything we needed, albeit a bit small. The location is great for exploring the town and surrounding areas and was a haven to get back to for a fabulous cream tea! We really enjoyed our stay and the staff really made it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JADAVIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Mich Frampton has been an inspiration to our community and all her hard work over the past year has paid off! It's the final countdown leading up to the Carnival and the entire community is getting involved.

This year was our first Charity Ball with an Alice in Wonderland theme. Each attendee was sent a reconstructed playing card as their ticket to the event. With 160 people in attendance at Stanwell House Hotel it took over the whole hotel- Seafood Restaurant, Bistro dining room, and a marquee was added onto the back of the hotel to accommodate another 40 people! The conservatory turned into the crowded dance floor when BB3 a fantastic Lymington band took to the stage!

As you entered the Hotel you were greeted with a Prosecco cocktail and instructed to find your key which then lead you to your table, each with an Alice in Wonderland name, ours was Tweedledee!!

We had a silent bidding auction table set up that got very competitive at the end if the evening and raised about £1400 for the charity pot!

As each guest sat down there was a 'Drink Me' cocktail (melon and midori- yum!) waiting at each place setting and the bread rolls were each different colours!

The chefs really enjoyed the challenge of honoring a themed meal and it was delicious!

Mad Hatters Tea party to start- delicious flavours of rabbit, bacon, beetroot and other ingredients that blended together into a delicious concoction.

Our main course was a Mock Turtle Soup which consisted of a mixture steak and vegetables that were cooked to perfection- yum!

Eat Me Pimms was an amuse buche that packed a gin punch at the bottom of the shot!

The Edible Chocolate Garden was a dessert that was an amazing mixture of textures and flavours, each handcrafted to create the perfect garden for each table to share!

And the party continued with the vodka luge that offered different flavours of vodka to be sucked out of a giant ice sculpture and dancing the night away to the brilliant BB3 band!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BonVoyageFriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloxholm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our sixth stay at Stanwell House, and we will keep coming back. The staff are always so helpful, and always smiling, especially Marilyn on the front desk - ensuring that we had a super stay for my wife's Grandfather's 80th surprise stay. The rooms are tidy and really comfy; we have stayed in all of the different styles of room now, and they all offer something just a little bit different each time. We always get a good night's sleep, and can not wait for the breakfast in the morning. All you want in a morning meal to get you going for a day out. Thank you as always! Hope to be back in August!

Simon and Kim Thompson

Room Tip: They are all nice rooms, it just depends on how much time you want to spend in your room. The terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonandKimThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived on a Saturday...which is market day, meaning we couldn't park near the hotel as the High St was crammed with stalls (wonderful to explore) so had to try to find parking, then haul our bags to the hotel. The market finishes around 5/6pm though, so we were able to move the car after that.
After a smooth check-in we went to our room which was gorgeous! A 4-poster bed, roll top bath and champagne waiting on ice - the romance package arranged by my husband! The attention to detail in the room was super and I honestly wish we had more than just one night's stay planned so we could enjoy it more.
We had dinner in the bistro and that was super - deliciously tasting and delightfully presented, topped off by slick and attentive service - what more could you want!
Breakfast too was lovely, even though you had to wonder how we were hungry after the evening meal - still, it didn't seem to stop us salivating when you saw what was on offer on the menu!
All in all, a wonderful place to stay and if we're ever in the area again, we'd certainly come back!

Room Tip: Ours was number 25 and it overlooked the High St, but it was quiet a night, so no trouble sleeping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsHinMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,024 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing