We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel in Lymington and let's keep it that way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The only hotel in Lymington and let's keep it that way”
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Lovely hotel, good service, restaurant, nice rooms, lovely garden, great location. Food was very good, they have a restaurant, bar & coffee area. The room itself that I stayed in had a wonderful four poster bed.

It is very central to Lymington, very easy to get to and from on foot. Close to the train & bus stations too for local travel.

The reception desk was very nice and understanding when I arrived. I was meant to stay here with my other half to visit family but unfortunately ended up being on my own. I asked if I could be moved into a single cheaper room instead of a double suite and there was no problem at all in rearanging everything at the very last minute when I showed up!

Two bad things, but manageable:
1 - Carpet in the bathrrom!! Obviously an old bathroom in need of refurbishing but I have a pet hate for carpets in bathrooms especially if they aren't your own.
2 - The four paster room was on the front of the hotel which meant it was facing hte high street so noisy in the morning from traffic, general businesses, etc and in the evening a littl enoise from passers by, late nights, pub closures, etc.

There are however lots of different "wings" to the hotel where rooms are much quieter and more modern so the above two problems would not be an issue.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summeraddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    383
    118
    49
    10
See reviews for
186
960
19
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My wife and I had two lunches at this hotel last week. On our first visit we had the "light lunch", and on our second visit we had lunch from the set 3 course menu. On both occasions the food was beatifully presnted by friendly and helpful staff in the superb conservatory restaurant. The seafood dishes were particularly good. Value was superb. Definitely recommended if you are visiting Lymington.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is a great little hotel, very friendly, excellent food, convenient location, also, being a bit unorganised we left a credit card and a few books behind, the hotel called and then posted, nothing was too much trouble. So, super honest too.

I'd say this, if you go to Lymington and you are looking for somewhere to stay, this should be the first call you make. Have dinner here too.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We spent the weekend at Stanwell House Hotel. We arrived very late at night and the night porter was very accomodating allowing us a drink in the middle of the night! We had a lovely room, quite small but just right for us. A lovely power shower and beautiful antique furniture in the room and hotel. Everything we needed was provided for and a lovely, comfortable bed!
The breakfast was divine, lots on offer using local produce and the staff in the restaurant were excellent and very accomodating! The meal in the evening in the Bistro was possibly the best meal we have ever had, the steaks are amazing....!
The location was excellent, right on Lymington high street, on a saturday there is a large market outside and you can walk to the harbour in minutes where you can go on boat trips to the isle of wight etc.
A wonderful hotel, with a very calm atmosphere and excellent staff. The lady pn reception was lovely, extremely polite and we will definetely come to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank written
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

A truly fantastic wedding day made special by all of the attentive and dedicated staff.

Special mention to the owners Rob and Tor who were so patient and helpful on the lead up and on the day, Lucie who oversaw the day and looked after us, David the night porter who was so attentive and a true gent....he went out of his way to bring us up some of our evening buffet with glass of champagne to our room after the big day had finished which we didn’t get a chance to try...and the bar maid for the evening (sorry we didn’t catch her name) who served our guest’s promptly and with a smile.

Attention to detail on the day was nothing short of fantastic. Food was perfect, thank you Chef!

Thank you all at Stanwell House

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLYON10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The staff and management at Stanwell were fantastic. My partner and I stayed with our 4 month old and the team were very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were very nice and the bed was comfy. The food at the restaurant is great and worth a look. In terms of location it is right in the centre which makes everything just a stones throw away.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeBHanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgeham
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Junior's (14th) birthday on May Day Bank holiday and he wants a trip to see Granny in the Forest, but the usual camp sites are all booked up, so we decide to have a treat at a hotel for two nights. Stanwell House in Lymington High Street seemed friendly enough when we arrived. The manager was even on duty checking-in new arrivals and offered us a family room at a bargain price. There was a choice of restaurants for our evening meal, sea-food special or a more culinary one. So, of course Junior chooses the burger option over the sea food one, and even now rates the wonderful Lamb burger and chips he had that evening as the best he's ever tasted (even above MacWimpyKing!) Praise indeed from a fourteen year old!
What made it even more memorable was the breakfast where ShortPants (6) wanted porridge, which we assumed would be a no-no at 8.00am, but the same manager was on duty in the kitchen and whisked up the best porridge she's ever tasted and even had Golden Syrup (We saw him run to get it from the Tesco in the High Street opposite!)
Couldn't ask for better, or more friendly, service. The eggs Benedict that we had was equally wonderful.
Oh, and the rooms were pretty good too !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDYINDIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,026 reviews
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Property: Stanwell House Hotel
Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing