We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanwell House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
US$194
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Passford House(Lymington)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$347
US$338
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mayflower(Lymington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,714)
Filter reviews
1,714 results
Traveller rating
1,081
432
136
55
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,081
432
136
55
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood restauranthigh streetcourse tasting menugarden roomthe hotel car parkafternoon teaboutique hotelcream teaupgraded to a suitelovely hotelnew forestsconesfour postereggs benedictone night stayevening mealour wedding anniversary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,598 - 1,603 of 1,714 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Having visited this hotel in early December for a Christmas Party and having found the experience not that good we were offered by the Manager to come back and try it again.
We were offered DBB for £99 as a special offer which we gladly took. We were greeted well and given the key to our room. We couldn't believe it when we entered the room as it was wonderful (the suite consisted of a sitting room and a very tastefully decorated large bedroom) - we were impressed!
We ate from the Simply Bistro menu which was okay, nothing spectacular. Service was a little slow but worth the wait.
What really surprised us is when the Manager came across and asked if everything was fine and that the effort to make everything better this time was going okay - we thanked him very much as it was! We decided to forego the dessert and were offered complimentary drinks which we took (however, they did try and charge us for it on the final bill).
Breakfast was good, again nothing out-of-the-ordinary.
The staff throughout the stay were very attentive and friendly.
The decor of the hotel is wonderful (not really appreciated the last time we were there).
I would certainly stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LymingtonRadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

really lovely cozy individual rooms, great location

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a "Gourmet Break" at The Stanwell House Hotel and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food excellent(both in the restaurant and breakfast), location was fab and our room(No.26) was simply gorgeous. From offering to park our car to recommending walks, eateries & days out, the staff were great. I have stayed at many great hotels around the world and would be delighted to return to Stanwell House anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOftenAndWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

As a regular guest to Stanwell House, i thought it was time i wrote a review.

i would firstly like to thank all of the staff for being so wonderful. A welcoming and friendly service from the moment you enter the hotel - so very important..... and so rare these days!

myself and my partner recently stayed on the 'Gourmet Break' special offer, 3 nights accommodation, 2 nights including dinner - which was superb, we have friends who live locally and joined us one evening which was not a problem to arrange. The hotel has two restuarants but as it was mid week we could choose from both menus in the front restaurant....which suited us perfectly as my partner loves seafood and myself not being overly keen (no squabbling over which restaurant to dine in!!) The food was as usual, in so many words - to die for!!! i cannot compliment the chef and his team enough, we always look forward to dining in!

we were upgraded to a beautiful four poster room on arrival - most impressed with the bathroom, it did overlook the highstreet so there was a little noise but that did not really bother us as the room was simply perfect.

We are looking forward to revisiting Stanwell House in May.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My partner and I have stayed at Stanwell House twice this year, the second time over the Christmas period. It's so refreshing to stay in a hotel which is not part of a chain and to actually be made to feel special - rare these days. The hotel is described as 'boutique' and it really is original - the foyer/hallway has this amazing staircase, and leads to a conservatory and restaurant (couldn't fault the food - breakfast is spectacular and locally produced). Another restaurant and a couple of bar areas allow you to feel as though you are not in the hotel - we loved the 'snug' area with its oversized settees and intimate ambience. The bedrooms were stylish and quirky (in a good way!) and reflected the hotel as a whole.
The level of service and attentiveness cannot be faulted - as a Customer Service trainer I'm fastidious about this and in all areas of the hotel, from the reception to the restaurant, staff were friendly, provided a warm welcome and really went out of their way to make our stay enoyable (especially at Christmas). Nothing was too much trouble.
Lymington itself is lovely - fantastic shops and close to the New Forest. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a relaxing break in a customer focussed environment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews