We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Romantic, Excellent Staff, Weekend to remember!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at Stanwell house For Valentines Weekend- We Chose the valentines package which consisted of 2 nights, dinner, breakfast, chocolates,champagne and a bed of roses!
We had a very romantic and relaxing weeked which was made perfect due to the gorgeous room, massive roll top bath and the excellent service. ( The molton brown bath products were an excellent touch too!)
The staff we excellent, I couldnt fault them, they were polite, helpful and made the stay enjoyable.
We had an excellent weekend, we would visit again and would highly recommend to anyone!!!! Thanks to the staff at Stanwell House xx

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,513 - 1,519 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2010

My partner and I went to the Stanwell House Hotel for the Valentines Weekend package, which consisted of two nights B&B, champagne and chocolates in the room on arrival, rose petal turn down in the evening and a five course dinner in the Bistro restaurant. I decided to go for the four poster room after speaking to one of the receptionists as it had both the bed and a roll-top bath.

Communication with the hotel prior to our stay was excellent, my partner has special dietary requirements and they were very attentive to his needs. Service whilst at the hotel was also excellent, friendly and welcoming. One of the staff helped me arrange an additional romantic surprise and was very helpful in doing so.

The breakfast was good (although the scrambled eggs were quite sloppy). The dinner was wonderful.

The room itself was much larger than I expected, with a HUGE four poster. There was lots of storage (two built-in wardrobes and several small cupboards). The fridge and refreshments tray were hidden inside an antique cabinet so as not to spoil the style of the room.

The bathroom was also excellent, with a slate floor, the afore-mentioned bath and a separate shower. There were several mirrors in the room and in the bathroom, and a vanity shelf as well as a sink.

Sleep was interrupted a couple of times by loud groups of people going home from the pub (the room is at the front of the hotel) but the hotel is on the main street of Lymington so it's to be expected. The curtains provided a certain amount of soundproofing, and it seemed like a normal level of noise given the location.

There's not a huge amount to do in Lymington itself and most of the restaurants seem to be at the expensive end of the scale. However, there are boat trips and the new forest is easily accessible by car, bus and train.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Having visited this hotel in early December for a Christmas Party and having found the experience not that good we were offered by the Manager to come back and try it again.
We were offered DBB for £99 as a special offer which we gladly took. We were greeted well and given the key to our room. We couldn't believe it when we entered the room as it was wonderful (the suite consisted of a sitting room and a very tastefully decorated large bedroom) - we were impressed!
We ate from the Simply Bistro menu which was okay, nothing spectacular. Service was a little slow but worth the wait.
What really surprised us is when the Manager came across and asked if everything was fine and that the effort to make everything better this time was going okay - we thanked him very much as it was! We decided to forego the dessert and were offered complimentary drinks which we took (however, they did try and charge us for it on the final bill).
Breakfast was good, again nothing out-of-the-ordinary.
The staff throughout the stay were very attentive and friendly.
The decor of the hotel is wonderful (not really appreciated the last time we were there).
I would certainly stay there again and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LymingtonRadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

really lovely cozy individual rooms, great location

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a "Gourmet Break" at The Stanwell House Hotel and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the food excellent(both in the restaurant and breakfast), location was fab and our room(No.26) was simply gorgeous. From offering to park our car to recommending walks, eateries & days out, the staff were great. I have stayed at many great hotels around the world and would be delighted to return to Stanwell House anytime.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelOftenAndWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2010

As a regular guest to Stanwell House, i thought it was time i wrote a review.

i would firstly like to thank all of the staff for being so wonderful. A welcoming and friendly service from the moment you enter the hotel - so very important..... and so rare these days!

myself and my partner recently stayed on the 'Gourmet Break' special offer, 3 nights accommodation, 2 nights including dinner - which was superb, we have friends who live locally and joined us one evening which was not a problem to arrange. The hotel has two restuarants but as it was mid week we could choose from both menus in the front restaurant....which suited us perfectly as my partner loves seafood and myself not being overly keen (no squabbling over which restaurant to dine in!!) The food was as usual, in so many words - to die for!!! i cannot compliment the chef and his team enough, we always look forward to dining in!

we were upgraded to a beautiful four poster room on arrival - most impressed with the bathroom, it did overlook the highstreet so there was a little noise but that did not really bother us as the room was simply perfect.

We are looking forward to revisiting Stanwell House in May.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cosyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

My partner and I have stayed at Stanwell House twice this year, the second time over the Christmas period. It's so refreshing to stay in a hotel which is not part of a chain and to actually be made to feel special - rare these days. The hotel is described as 'boutique' and it really is original - the foyer/hallway has this amazing staircase, and leads to a conservatory and restaurant (couldn't fault the food - breakfast is spectacular and locally produced). Another restaurant and a couple of bar areas allow you to feel as though you are not in the hotel - we loved the 'snug' area with its oversized settees and intimate ambience. The bedrooms were stylish and quirky (in a good way!) and reflected the hotel as a whole.
The level of service and attentiveness cannot be faulted - as a Customer Service trainer I'm fastidious about this and in all areas of the hotel, from the reception to the restaurant, staff were friendly, provided a warm welcome and really went out of their way to make our stay enoyable (especially at Christmas). Nothing was too much trouble.
Lymington itself is lovely - fantastic shops and close to the New Forest. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a relaxing break in a customer focussed environment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VJC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
526 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
6.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £84 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing