We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect welcome, relaxing ambience and truly dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stanwell House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We were welcomed with confirmation that 'a dinner reservation had been made in the conservatory so our dog was able to join us for dinner ' - real empathy with dog owners! The whole ethos of the hotel was one of relaxation, with a young proffessional Team who provided service that was proffesional and attentive without formality or fuss - nothing was too much trouble.
We chose the dinner, bed and breakfast package - superb dining and excellent value.
The position of the hotel allows exploration of the town, a 5 amble down the cobbles to the harbour and than back to the embracing warmth of the hotel for tea or something a little stronger!!!
We shall certainly return................

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,485 - 1,491 of 1,676 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2011

I booked a special weekend away for the May bank holiday to propose to my partner. The hotel were extremely welcoming and informative on the phone. One aspect that I loved about this hotel was that they accepted dogs into the hotel, and even asked if we would like to have him at breakfast with us. We got a room leading into the back garden so we could take the dog for a small stroll outside. We were even provided with a blanket and biscuit for him on arrival.

On arrival they were very friendly and efficient and let us book in early. As planned a bottle of sparkling wine was provided in the room.

The garden room was really well put together, simple yet effective. Really great mod-coms. Small but nice bathroom.

Both the fish restaurant and bistro had excellent food. Service was a bit slow at times.

Cream tea was the best i have ever had in my life and would highly recommend.

Breakfast was also really tasty with lots of options.

Parking can be a bit of an issue at times.

Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we could not have had better service. We booked this hotel based on trip advisor ratings/reviews and their own website and I have to say that Stanwell House exceeded our expectations. The staff were so warm & welcoming, the suite we were in (upgraded to actually) had recently been refurbished to a very high standard. Without doubt one of the highlights was the dining experience - they have a young French Chef who produced the most mouth watering/delicious dishes. The attention to detail really shines through in the decor & furnishimgs throughout the hotel. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanS090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Great location to be in. The rooms were fabulous and the staff excellent. A great place to stay to visit the New Forest.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreenrawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Hotel fairly quite due to heavy snowfall but receptionist Marilyn made us very welcome. We stayed on a sunday night as it was our Wedding Anniversary but wished we had stayed on a Friday because on Saturday there is market on the High Street. Had a nice walk down to the Quay and along the waterfront despite the snow and ice. The quality of the food was excellent. which also seemed to be the view of other diners around us. Vowed to go back in the spring/summer when there are some leaves on the trees.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill_nabney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed in one of the recently completed de luxe suites ( number one ) . Impressive design - modern but a bit funky at the same time . Very comfy - we slept like logs ! We ate in the Seafood restaurant - the tuna tempura was delicious . Plus the little known Urlar wine was a pleasant surprise . For a three star hotel , very good value indeed .

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiaGilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

My husband and I stayed from Fri - Mon on the DB&B pakage. This hotel is set right in the middle of the high street in a very impressive building. The staff, food and room were all fantastic. The staff were so helpful and went the extra mile. For one of our days we were going to one of our favourite New Forest attractions and the reception girl looked up the location and wrote down the postcode for us while we had breakfast and even though we said there was no hurry, and we would collect it later, she brought the details in to us during breakfast. The waiting staff were very helpful as I don't eat much seafood/fish but wanted to give it a go, and they were able to offer excellent recommendations and taylor the meal around my fussiness. When there is a do on the Bistro and seafood menus are both served in the Seafood restaurant. There is a new bar to the left as you enter which at first seems compact but there is seating in a side room at the end of the bar next to the entrance. Very attentitive staff always polite and friendly. Our Garden room was a little dated but still very lovely, particulary loved the do not disturb notice method - a special cuddly toy to be left outside! The toys were also available to purchase at reception, which we just had to do. The cleanliness of the room and hotel in general was very good. Rooms were tidied and refreshed each morning.

The hotel has aquired part of the large car park on Cannon Street for their guests. When this is full the larger car park can be used and the price per hour isn't too bad. Other than this, it is possible to Park right outside the hotel onthe high street after 6pm till 8am except on Market Saturday. On arrival the reception offered to park our car for us and pay the cost which we just paid back at the end of our stay should their car park be full (approx 12 spaces only).

Less than 5 mins walk is Lymington Harbour where you can arrange a boat trip, peruse the independant shops or go for a drink or meal. We would suggest the Shipp Inn right on the Harbours front. There's lots of attractions in and around Lymington and the hotel staff can help you with leaflets and look up info for you.

Please ignore the bad reviews about this hotel! It's fabulous and a lovly place to stay.

Thank you to all at Stanwell

Mr & Mrs Chislett


We would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titch78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.1 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
773 reviews
2.7 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
442 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.6 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanwell House Hotel

Address: 14-15 High Street, New Forest, Lymington SO41 9AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £80 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stanwell House is a cosmopolitan and stylish boutique hotel situated at the heart of Lymington, near the New Forest in Hampshire. As part of your stay at Stanwell House you can be sure you will enjoy a warm welcome and superb stay complimented by fine dining and sumptuous wines at our cocktail bar, bistro and seafood restaurant whilst absorbing the relaxed and tranquil ambience, ideal of all the family including your 4 legged friend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Stanwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanwell Hotel Lymington
Stanwell House Hotel Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing