We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be warned if your staying in one of the apartments!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This review is solely based on our experiences when staying in one of the apartmenets offered through hoseasons. Firstly, this is a peaceful resort, with excellent leisure facilities and 2 restaurants for either end of the cost scale. We had the Marina Lodge, yet we were actually in the main hotel house. This seemed confusing, as like other guests we spoke to, the hotel rooms were actually out in the grounds. Although the location of our apartment (Manor House 27) was not necessarily a problem, the accomodation was rather dated and needed a serious refurbishment. stained carpets, hard matresses, half broken dining chairs, poor plumbing allowing only 1 bath before all the hot water was gone (bare in mind this is a 6 person apartment), so showers were the only viable option. Saying that, the apartment did have plenty of room which was really ideal. Our biggest gripe was the 'energy bill' of £41 for a 4 night break, when there was only two of us, and considering that we spent every day/evening out of the apartment, was hard to calculate. Surely having 6 people living in there, would make the cost more than the holiday itself! On check-in at the hotel reception, we were told our room would not be ready yet as it was still being cleaned, yet we wandered up the room to have a look anyway, and there was no cleaner, nor their cleaning trolley in sight, however we did walk into the apartment with all the radiators on full blast, thus resembling a sauna (perhaps a sign of them trying to boost the price of our eneryg bill). On check out, we were told this was to be done over at the leisure club, something which was an incovenience and could be a pain for people who dont fancy the additional walk (a simple message in the room to tell us, would have been helpful).

Overal, a nice resort, but badly let down by the organisation of staff, and quality of our apartment.

Again, this is based on the apartments, and not if your booking a hotel room directly with macdonalds (although looking at other reviews, it's not much different in some cases)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leecat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the trip advisor website.
You were staying in a Time Share apartment which differs in organisation from the Hotel side of the Resort. Our Manor House is heated by central heating which stands at a set charge during winter month the additional cost is the electricity you consumed during your stay this get charged at a non profitable rate to our Time Share and apartment guests, the hot water is supplied by an individual immersion cylinder per apartment. We have taken your comments on board and now display an estimate of the energy costs for the week, in the Time Share reception area, based in the Leisure Club. From reading your comments it would appear that you arrived mid week and checked in to the Manor House reception area as the Time Share is only open on main check in day. Our reception team should have issued you with a welcome letter, including all details and information regarding your stay please accept our apologies if that was not the case, your comments have been passed to our Reception Manager, for him to ensure that letters are issued in future.
We can assure you that these issues were isolated incident and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of further help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,436 - 1,442 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was in a 2 story block around a courtyard. The room was large, clean and modern, and very quiet. The bed was very comfortable. No complaints at all really. We ate in "Sails Bar" one night. The food was plentiful and not too expensive, but not much atmosphere in there, with a TV screen and it catered for families. We had a drink in the "Tudor Bar" in the main house. Lovely bar, but a bit pricey for us. We had intended to use the leisure facilities but as it is used by the public it was always a bit busy for us but the pool and spa facilities looked great.
Our only slight disappoinment was the location. It was a good 25 minute walk into Lymington, on a fairly busy road with uneven pavements. But we did walk one way, then caught a taxi back (£5) which was fine. I would consider staying again for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback left on the trip advisor webiste. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. Our Leisure facilities are very popular and they can get very busy however we have adult only swimming time to ensure we meet all of our guests expectations.
We are as you righlty mentioned around 20 minutes walk into lymington however guest staying at the Resort can catch the train from the Isle of Wight ferry terminal into Lymington for a small fee. The terminal is only a 5 minutes walk from the Resort.
Thank you again for such positive feedback. We look forward to welcome you back at the Resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Like another reviewer I have found this hotel perplexing and difficult to review. I had a well appointed executive room with a bed so hard an uncomfortable that it was like sleeping on the floor. Unlike a previous comment about a marshmallow pillow mine was as hard as the mattress. The main house is wonderful, the views from the bar and restaurant out towards the Solent are wonderful, the gardens are great with pleasant walks. The big dopwnside for me was the main accomodation area which is in unattractive 60's blocks.
To offset the downside there is a huge upside, the Waterford restuarant where the food was excellent, with service to match.
The hotel is in an ideal location to explore the New Forest and visit the Isle of Wight, just close your mind to the ugly accomodation blocks which are completely out of character with the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiggerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we were sorry to read that you did not find the accommodation block to your liking, we appreciate that it was not to your liking however a majority of our guests do enjoy the settings which fits the nature environment of the New Forest.
Thank you for your great feedback regarding our Manor House Restaurant and Bar, we have passed your comments to our team as this give them such positive boost to constantly improve in order to exceed our guests expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Although the room was clean and spacious, there were stains on the carpet and chips in the enamel of the bath.
Breakfast in the Sails Brasserie was most unpleasant. I ordered a cooked breakfast, which took 15 minutes to arrive, during which time other diners who arrived after us were served their cooked breakfasts. When mine finally arrived, the bacon looked barely cooked. The sausage was pale except for a little brown on one side, and on the other side it had a mass of cold congealed fat under the skin. It was disgusting. I showed it to the waitress, who offered to get me a replacement sausage. I refused and returned the breakfast. The waitress apologised and said she would "have a word with the chef". We didn't take the breakfast at Sails on the following morning.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCHM22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on the Trip Advisor website following your stay here at the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel in Lymington. It is very helpful to receive customer feedback such as yours in order to maintain our high standards.

We were sorry to read your comments regarding the chipped bath and stained carpet. We have instructed our maintenance and house keeping Managers to rectify these issues to avoid further guest’s disappointment.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the downfall in breakfast standards you experienced during your stay. I can guaranty you that we only use premium pork sausage for our breakfast and to date we have received only very positive comments regarding these. However we have retrained our kitchen team to ensure the right cooking methods are followed to meet all of our guests expectations.
We can assure you that these were isolated incidents which we hope will not deter you from visiting our establishment in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

This hotel is a tricky one to review as the rooms are great, roomy, with a sofa, kitchen area, fridge and breakfast bar. The staff are friendly and the location is right by a yacht haven. Sadly it feel disjointed and a little like a timeshare resort (which I believe it is in addition to a hotel). The main building is beautiful and olde worlde but the accommodation looks more like chalet blocks.

Our main issue with the hotel is that the spa (again in a different block) is lackluster. No jacuzzi, but a poor spa bath, fairly large pool, sauna, steam room (but was not working during our stay). It has a well equipped gym, squash court, pool table and table tennis and tennis courts. It also has an outdoor swimming pool (one of the reasons we booked this hotel) but it was not in use during our stay which was a let down. We had stayed in the lake district in december and had the use of a heated outdoor swimming pool which was heaven.

The restaurant Sails by the leisure area is ok, a bar/restaurant with TV's showing football and the food is average. We had lunch and breakfast here. The breakfast actually being superb with locally produced products and fantastic black pudding.

We did have a great 30 minute treatment each but we were unable to relax by the pool afterwards as there are no loungers by the pool (as you'd expect) and there were loads of kids, screaming and bombing and no-one to supervise - not at all relaxing.

The highlight for us was the main meal in the main restaurant in the main building. 3 courses and absolutely top notch food. I had goats cheese to start and my partner had ham hock and foie gras terrine, followed by duck and lamb main courses. For desert lemon tart and eton mess. Good wine choice and the good service all round. My only criticism is the fact that they were playing some lovely jazz then it would switch to some horrible pop music - I'm only 31 but the jazz set the scene far better and added to the atmosphere.

Overall a decent experience, not special as we had hoped and we are quite surprised by the 4 star rating it has on here. For us the lack of decent spa facilities and lack of overall atmosphere lets this place down, also some small aesthetic changes in Sails would improve it massively.

We spent £212 and this included, room, breakfast, dinner, wine and a 30 minute treatment each and use of the facilities so reasonable value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alondonmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for your feedback on the trip advisor website. We were sorry to read that you were mistaken regarding our AA Star rating as we are a 3 Star Hotel and not a 4 Star as you mentioned.
Thank you for the great feedback regarding our Food and Beverage facilities, we have forwarded your comments to our team and they thank you in return as it gives them such encouragement to excel. Our outdoor pool is normally open from the end of May until the end of September weather permitting, the pool is not fully heated as we have an indoor pool which is open all year round. We are sorry that during your stay the steam room was out of order, this was due to a major fault with new equipment which had to be replaced by the manufacturer and this has been carried out since with the shortest delay possible. Unfortunately we cannot place loungers by the indoor Pool side as space is limited and we do not have life guards on pool side however we have CCTV cameras.
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you needed further assistance, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Just returned from a 2 night stay here for my birthday and we have to say the staff were friendly and really went out of their way to make us feel special. Our room although a little dated and a bit chilly was very spacious and we had the best nights sleep that we've had in a hotel in years, probably because there is no noisy corridor outside and no door banging. We had a lovely meal in The Waterford Restaurant and as it was my birthday we were even given a complementry extra course, the service (Linda and Darren) and food here were outstanding. Breakfast was served in the Sails Brasserie and this was for the most part OK but when I asked for poached eggs on toast it was a bit disappointing to get one egg on a dry (un buttered) piece of toast. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindymoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for such a positive review you placed on the Trip Advisor website. Feedback like yours is always a source of encouragement for our team and your comments have been passed on to Linda & Darren, as well as all the other members of the team who looked after you during your stay. We are sorry that breakfast did not quite meet your expectations, we have discussed at length your feedback with our Head Chef and he has retrained his team to avoid further guest disappointment.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

No hot water. Glib staff. Cold breakfast and dhs surroundings in 1970s flat in grounds. The best thing about this place is reception in manor house surroundings. Handy for links to Isle of Wight but thereafter it is nasty flats in damp outbuildings. Any questions or complaints are met with blank wall. You feel that they are well-used to unhappy guests.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ink02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

We were sorry to read your comments regarding your poor experience of the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort. The majority of our guests leave the Resort delighted about their stay and many return on a regular basis.

Thank you again for your time taken to leave your comments. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you were prepared to give us more detailed comments regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
756 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
521 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £78 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing