We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great resort... even better service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 May 2011

we stayed at this hotel for a quick getaway. The location was excellent not far from the town. We were on a offer where we had dinner included. we were sceptical about what the quality of the food would be like... but we must say it was absolutely excellent. we could nt fault it and the service from the staff was second to none.
we had the most relaxing stay here and did nt want to go home. we will definetely be staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmjay83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you for your really positive feedback on the trip advisor website, your comments will be passed on to our entire team, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,434 - 1,440 of 1,591 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2011

This hotel is in perfect position if you want to be quietly rural but within walking distance of Lymington.Our chalet room was clean and comfortable. Good breakfasts both cold buffet and cooked.Didnt use formal restaurant for evening meal.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIKSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you, for the great comments you have left on the trip advisor website, we were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and we will pass your feedback regarding Breakfast food to our Head chef. We sincerely hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed for three nights with my husband and two daughters in a two bed apartment. Fantastic views from apartment which was very well equipped although the bathroom was dated and could do with refurbishment. Leisure facilities are very good but if you want a quiet swim look out for swimming lessons taking place in the pool. All the staff were very courteous and I woul recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Very close to White Link Ferry terminal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan66UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we were pleased to hear that on the whole your stay was a success, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The reception staff were excellent on arrival we were given our keys and told all relevant information. We ate in the Waterford Restaurant on two of the nights where the food was average but service very good. The childrens menu was a bit of a let down - crudities and dips (great idea) but unfortunately the dip was ketchup! Breakfast was excellent and served swiftly. Unfortunately we ate in the Sails restuarant on the other evening which was a real disappointment. All seemed very processed food with chips and the service was an absolute nightmare. We had a family room which was very spacious. The bunk beds are more suitable for children upto 10 years old I would suggest. The room was clean with a large bathroom. The leisure club was fantastic, beautiful pool and spotlessly clean. We used the tennis courts and there is also a great playground for children under 8. We really did have a lovely weekend and would certainly return. Its a very relaxing atmosphere and most staff very friendly and helpful. With just a little bit of effort this hotel could be excellent. Perfect spot to visit beaches, shopping, harbours etc.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dot024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback left on the Trip Advisor Website, we were pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us at the Macdonald Elmers Court. Our Sail Bar & Grill is a more informal experience with an extensive menu choice, however the products used are mainly fresh ingredients which are prepared on site. A majority of our dishes are served with chips as per customer demand however we would be delighted to accommodate guest requirement by providing alternative garnishes. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you experienced in Sails however this has since been rectified and the feedback has been very positive, we can assure you that this were isolated incidents and hope that you will return to visit the Resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Stayed three nights with partner and teenage daughter, in a executive room on the ground floor of a two-story block. VERY pleased with the room and the excellent maid service. Plenty of room (even with the sofa bed extended) , very comfortable bed and all was spotlessly clean. Our door and front windows overlooked the garden and main house - a very pleasant view . We found the breakfast in Sails most enjoyable, with an excellent choice of cereal, fruit and muffins at the buffet and good quality ingredients in the ample cooked breakfast. All staff were very friendly and helpful, and the pool is a good size. The grounds are beautiful, and there is a good choice of pastimes such as putting, tennis, giant draughts and croquet. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolmn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback left on the Trip Advisor these comments will be passed on to the team, which is such a boost to our team moral. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

My friend and I stayed in one of the Solent View Apartments, the rooms were very well furnished with a double room with ensuite, a twin room, family bathroom, seperate living room and fully equipped Kitchen Dinner. Everything was spotlessly clean and looked brand new.

Big glass doors opened out onto a semi private patio which showcased the glorius view of Lymington harbour and the Solent.

The food at the Sails Restruant was good, and we really enjoyed the pool and steamroom.

We got a special rate by booking through the hotel.shop.com so it was very reasonable, I think the standard room rates may be quite expensive, but the apartment could sleep 6.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eharris2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback left on the trip advisor website for the Solent View apartment that you stayed in. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found the apartment and the Resort facilities to be up to standard. Your comments will be passed on to the Resort team which is such a great factor in keeping the team motivated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

This review is solely based on our experiences when staying in one of the apartmenets offered through hoseasons. Firstly, this is a peaceful resort, with excellent leisure facilities and 2 restaurants for either end of the cost scale. We had the Marina Lodge, yet we were actually in the main hotel house. This seemed confusing, as like other guests we spoke to, the hotel rooms were actually out in the grounds. Although the location of our apartment (Manor House 27) was not necessarily a problem, the accomodation was rather dated and needed a serious refurbishment. stained carpets, hard matresses, half broken dining chairs, poor plumbing allowing only 1 bath before all the hot water was gone (bare in mind this is a 6 person apartment), so showers were the only viable option. Saying that, the apartment did have plenty of room which was really ideal. Our biggest gripe was the 'energy bill' of £41 for a 4 night break, when there was only two of us, and considering that we spent every day/evening out of the apartment, was hard to calculate. Surely having 6 people living in there, would make the cost more than the holiday itself! On check-in at the hotel reception, we were told our room would not be ready yet as it was still being cleaned, yet we wandered up the room to have a look anyway, and there was no cleaner, nor their cleaning trolley in sight, however we did walk into the apartment with all the radiators on full blast, thus resembling a sauna (perhaps a sign of them trying to boost the price of our eneryg bill). On check out, we were told this was to be done over at the leisure club, something which was an incovenience and could be a pain for people who dont fancy the additional walk (a simple message in the room to tell us, would have been helpful).

Overal, a nice resort, but badly let down by the organisation of staff, and quality of our apartment.

Again, this is based on the apartments, and not if your booking a hotel room directly with macdonalds (although looking at other reviews, it's not much different in some cases)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leecat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on the trip advisor website.
You were staying in a Time Share apartment which differs in organisation from the Hotel side of the Resort. Our Manor House is heated by central heating which stands at a set charge during winter month the additional cost is the electricity you consumed during your stay this get charged at a non profitable rate to our Time Share and apartment guests, the hot water is supplied by an individual immersion cylinder per apartment. We have taken your comments on board and now display an estimate of the energy costs for the week, in the Time Share reception area, based in the Leisure Club. From reading your comments it would appear that you arrived mid week and checked in to the Manor House reception area as the Time Share is only open on main check in day. Our reception team should have issued you with a welcome letter, including all details and information regarding your stay please accept our apologies if that was not the case, your comments have been passed to our Reception Manager, for him to ensure that letters are issued in future.
We can assure you that these issues were isolated incident and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Resort in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us if we could be of further help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
525 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £77 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing