We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very lovely stay - will come again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very lovely stay - will come again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were looking for a break to get away from it all and to feel a bit special. Well, this did tick those boxes for us. We chose the dinner, B&B with a botle of wine in room package which seemed the best value for us at the time. Our room was very comfortable, It had a fridge (very handy), a sofa and coffee table, flat screen tv. It was great. The grounds are kept beautiful and it was nice to have a walk down to the Solent and watch the boats go past. (and the ferry to IOW). The dinner in the Waterford restaurant was absolutely gorgeous - you do need to book a table time, although if you wanted to change the time it really was no problem. The service was excellent, the staff were welcoming. The drinks are pricey, but hey, you come here for a little bit of pampering! The breakfast which is served in Sails Brasserie was really good (sausages to die for!) We used the indoor pool which was nice, the weather not good enough to brave the outdoor pool. All in all we had a lovely stay and we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloubelle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor site, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    465
    257
    137
    65
See reviews for
419
707
24
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

Traditional country house style hotel set in extensive grounds with the addition of modern bedrooms in a garden setting. The hotel is just outside Lymington and is approached down a drive to the main biulding which houses, reception, Waterford Restaurant, bar and other facilities. The majority of the bedrooms are in modern two storey buildings in the grounds of the hotel.

One wall of the bedroom is totally glass to take full advantage of the view of the well maintained gardens. The first floor rooms are approached by an outside staircase leading to a balcony. The rooms are nicely furnished in a traditional style, well equipped with all the usual facilities, TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making, and a spacious modern bathroom.

Predinner drinks are taken in the main bar in the original part of the hotel, in a traditionally furnished wood pannelled room adjoining the main Waterford Restaurant.
Dinner was excellent, quality food, well cooked and nicely presented at a very reasonable price. Breakfast is served in the Sails Grill which serves lighter less formal meals in the evening. At breakfast there is an extensive buffet catering for all tastes, cereals,fruit,cold meats, breads, pastries, muffins etc with hot dishes cooked and served to order.

An excellent hotel and useful base for touring the new Forest area, Lymington, Beaulieu, Brockenhurst , Bucklers Hard etc with Bournemouth and Southampton close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malcolm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor site, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel as part of a wedding party. We had a very large room which consisted of a King Size Bed, Bunk Beds (In a separate room) and a travel cot. There were plenty of towels, toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water and hairdryer. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and looked after. The leisure facilities were fantastic, the indoor pool was like getting into a bath - very warm, plenty of room, kids loved it. Sauna and Steam room were also really nice. Changing rooms had plenty of lockers, a play pen to put small children whilst you get yourself dressed, 2 Hairdryers. All the staff we had dealings with were very polite, very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I had was that the highchair we were given at dinner had obviously not been cleaned for some time and was very dirty, but this was quickly rectified. At breakfast there were a choice of 3 highchairs in the restaurant but everyone of them had broken straps - again, this was soon rectified with a highchair that had working straps. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back there and recommend to friends. Prices are quite high for food and drink, but this is expected for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VICKYJM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we are pleased that you enjoyed stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

I am so happy- I don't think I have ever been able to write a good review, but Elmers Court was simply wonderful and I am delighted to be writing this.
Our room was huge- which meant that we could put the baby's cot at the far end to minimise disturbance (both ways!) And the newflatscreen digital tv was a godsend. The grounds are stunning. We spent a long time just wandering around watching the rabbits and the birds. Using the playground, wandering down to the edge of the solent to watch the ferries to the Isle of Wight. Playing draughts on the giant set. The outside pool area was beautiful. Sadly we didn't manage to use it as it was a bit too cold for a young baby, so instead we used the inside one, and it was the nicest indoor pool I have EVER used. The old manor house is beautiful and I can imagine weddings there, and all the dealings I had with the staff- they are to be commended. Simply amazing couple of days. Would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wangsbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Thank you for your wonderful feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we are delighted that you had such a positive experience, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Having stayed here 4 times over as many months on business I felt that I must write about the great staff . Nothing is too much trouble and although you can't please all of the people all of the time they certainly make the effort to do so. The staff are the predominate asset here and go the extra mile trying to make your stay so memorable that you do not even think about looking to stay anywhere else. Great facilities, lovely grounds and the best staff. The accomodation maybe a little tired but it is immaculately clean and the team here will address any concers you have to the best of their ability. If you are visitng the New Forest area this is the place to stay, I urge you to try it out. I don't think that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaanawana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Once again it is so nice to receive such positive feedback on the trip advisor website. Comments like this are a great source of encouragement to the staff moral, and we will make sure that all the staff get to see them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

this is are 3rd stay here and it is a fantastic place to stay . staff make you feel so special .. lymington holds lots of memories for us some sad ones ,but alot of good ones . if your coming to stay in lymington then this is the best place to stay. keep up the good work ,and we hope to see you soon . all the best sue and harry

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harryfrddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback left on the trip advisor website. We feel very honored by your comments and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We did not know quite what to expect. A weekend away to celebrate not having the children with us! The accommodation was a little dated but is under a refurbishment cycle which will keep it definitely up there at four star. The purpose of this review is to reflect on the customer service. Everyone, absolutely everyone on the staff made us feel like valued customers. Polite, attentive, respectful. The managers here have created an excellent team ethos that really is worth experiencing. They have the balance absolutely right. Well done and thank you very much.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prisonerBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive feedback on the trip advisor website. We are pleased that you feel we deliver 4 star service to our guests. We have passed on your comments to our team as comments such as yours are a great reward to their hard work and dedication to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
7.3 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing