We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dusseldorf
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting experience”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A strange setup to say the least, across between a really great hotel, Butlins and Fawlty Towers. There's a commoners restruarnt and a "residents resturant" wo betide you if you're a commoner and you try to visit the residents resturant, that was our first mistake! and and easy one to make if you are staying more than two nights because you will quickly run out of different things to eat from the limited menu in the commoners resturant which meant we had to drive into town each night. It's interesting how they provide free childrens meals in the evening but these are subsidised by what they charge for Breakfast. Whatever you do make sure you get breakfast included in your room rate because if you don't then a big fuss will be made every morning about the fact that you DON'T HAVE BREAKFAT INCLUDED! I had to promise that I would pay for it and then show ID every day to prove who I was which became very tiresome after four days. Pay for it I did, for my children (4 & 6) £13.50 each for a bowl of cereal and glass of milk! I stay in hotels all over the world and for childrens breakfast this beats the best there is I have to say! For a child friendly hotel that's out of order. Rooms are OK although lack of aircon makes them uncomfortable when hot, sports and leisure facilities are OK but not up to Marriot or Crowne Plaza standards. We will not be returning here or to any other Macdonald resort come to that.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allonetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Jean-Marc Poumel, Resort General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor website. I was sorry to read that you felt our Waterford Restaurant was for Resident only, although the Waterford Restaurant is a more formal option and we do ask for a minimum dress code of smart casual, (no trainers and T Shirt) this Restaurant is open to all members of the public. However as the amount of space is limited we strongly recommend to book your table in advance. Regarding Sails Grill menu, I feel that this is an extensive menu with a choice of 8 starters 14 main courses and 6 desserts as well as a themed daily special. I was most concerned to read your comments regarding Breakfast, as children under the age of 5 do not get charged for breakfast, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will be able to look into it for you and refund accordingly. Regarding the charge for continental breakfast for children I have passed your comments to our Executive team for review as this is a company standard price and is one of the most competitive in the market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    476
    268
    142
    75
See reviews for
432
731
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked Elmer's Court Hotel for our wedding day, even though we live in Sussex, because as a venue it is idyllic, situated in the beautiful New Forest, and on a sunny day looks sunny.
On the day itself we were so lucky with the weather, and when the sun came out it made the grounds of the venue look stunning - the tree lined approach to the estuary at the rear of the resort is amazing for photos, as is the building itself.
The hotel had made a mistake regarding our booking of the bridal suite, but quickly rectified the problem by giving us one of the on-site cottages, which was fortunate for us in terms of the cottage being even better for us......plenty of space to store our wedding things, and ideal spot near to the car park and the reception rooms. The main bedrooms of the hotel for guests are like chalets, and are very comfortable, even if the decor is somewhat dated, although I am told this is due to be decorated.
The set-up of the various rooms was ideal for us to feature all the entertainment facilities we wanted, such as choc fountain, photobooth, pianist, DJ, etc.
The staff themselves were outstanding on the day - the banqueting manager was a warrier and kept everything running perfectly, and was always on hand. The IT guy who helped me get the slideshow working the night before the wedding deserves a drink (!), and the general manager and events manager were only too helpful on the day and leading up to it, so hats off to the staff for getting the day to proceed so perfectly. It allowed us to relax and enjoy our special day.
A couple of guests complained about the high prices at the evening bar, but being the groom I didn't pay for any drinks, so.....not my problem! haha.
Overall, our wedding day was perfect and a big part of that is due to the dedication of their staff and the stunningly beautiful venue!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteKat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Jean-Marc Poumel, Resort General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we are delighted that we were able to make your big day such a success. May we add our congratulations to you both, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Visited the Elmers Court Hotel last week which I thought was very nice for a 3 * hotel. It had a great location, the food was good, the staff were friendly and there were lots of ammenities. The only problem I found was that the bed in my room was very hard and even though I was provided with a cover for the bed it didn't make much difference. My wife found the sofa bed more comfortable than the proper bed!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Jean-Marc Poumel, Resort General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback left on the trip advisor website. We were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you in return for your custom.
I was sorry to read that you found our bed uncomfortable, although we get generally positive comments on our beds we are looking into different options such as mattress toppers to avoid further guest disappointment. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

okay - we stayed in the rooms outside the hotel ,number 8 which was a family room and was nice (shame they only have four channels in the kids bedroom) but we never used the hotel as the swimming pool and "sails brasserie" which is where you eat breakfast (this has the news and sport on 24 hours and I personally found that rather annoying) are not in the hotel. Had a laundry room which was useful. Staff not really kid friendly found that they did'nt make any conversation with children, certainly not with our little boy anyway - I suppose they work long hours etc etc but what they need to realise is that these are family holidays so they should make the effort. Bucklers hard historic harbour well worth a visit and the hotel there was nice to eat. When my husband was packing the car for the return journey we got a wicker basket pinched from the car park so watch your stuff!!! Beaulieu also a good day out. Good shops in Lymington. IOW well worth a look and hotel is 2 mins away from ferry £50.00 return 40 min crossing - would recommend hotel to a family as is good value for money. We were going to stay at chewton glen which would have cost £1900 for four nights - exactly a rip off!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itsyh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip advisor website, I was pleased to read that on the whole you were satisfied with your stay and enjoyed the beautiful attractions of the New Forest and the Isle of Wight, making Our Resort a favourite with families. I was disappointed to hear that you felt our staff were not child friendly. Although we do get a great amount of comments regarding our team friendliness, please accept my sincere apologies for this trough in customer service, we are retraining our team on “commitment to excellence” and we hope that you will give us a second chance at demonstrating the quality of service our team delivers. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for further information and we look forward to welcome you back at the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were looking for a break to get away from it all and to feel a bit special. Well, this did tick those boxes for us. We chose the dinner, B&B with a botle of wine in room package which seemed the best value for us at the time. Our room was very comfortable, It had a fridge (very handy), a sofa and coffee table, flat screen tv. It was great. The grounds are kept beautiful and it was nice to have a walk down to the Solent and watch the boats go past. (and the ferry to IOW). The dinner in the Waterford restaurant was absolutely gorgeous - you do need to book a table time, although if you wanted to change the time it really was no problem. The service was excellent, the staff were welcoming. The drinks are pricey, but hey, you come here for a little bit of pampering! The breakfast which is served in Sails Brasserie was really good (sausages to die for!) We used the indoor pool which was nice, the weather not good enough to brave the outdoor pool. All in all we had a lovely stay and we will go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louloubelle_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor site, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Traditional country house style hotel set in extensive grounds with the addition of modern bedrooms in a garden setting. The hotel is just outside Lymington and is approached down a drive to the main biulding which houses, reception, Waterford Restaurant, bar and other facilities. The majority of the bedrooms are in modern two storey buildings in the grounds of the hotel.

One wall of the bedroom is totally glass to take full advantage of the view of the well maintained gardens. The first floor rooms are approached by an outside staircase leading to a balcony. The rooms are nicely furnished in a traditional style, well equipped with all the usual facilities, TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee making, and a spacious modern bathroom.

Predinner drinks are taken in the main bar in the original part of the hotel, in a traditionally furnished wood pannelled room adjoining the main Waterford Restaurant.
Dinner was excellent, quality food, well cooked and nicely presented at a very reasonable price. Breakfast is served in the Sails Grill which serves lighter less formal meals in the evening. At breakfast there is an extensive buffet catering for all tastes, cereals,fruit,cold meats, breads, pastries, muffins etc with hot dishes cooked and served to order.

An excellent hotel and useful base for touring the new Forest area, Lymington, Beaulieu, Brockenhurst , Bucklers Hard etc with Bournemouth and Southampton close by.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malcolm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor site, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed at the hotel as part of a wedding party. We had a very large room which consisted of a King Size Bed, Bunk Beds (In a separate room) and a travel cot. There were plenty of towels, toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, bottled water and hairdryer. The grounds of the hotel are well kept and looked after. The leisure facilities were fantastic, the indoor pool was like getting into a bath - very warm, plenty of room, kids loved it. Sauna and Steam room were also really nice. Changing rooms had plenty of lockers, a play pen to put small children whilst you get yourself dressed, 2 Hairdryers. All the staff we had dealings with were very polite, very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I had was that the highchair we were given at dinner had obviously not been cleaned for some time and was very dirty, but this was quickly rectified. At breakfast there were a choice of 3 highchairs in the restaurant but everyone of them had broken straps - again, this was soon rectified with a highchair that had working straps. Overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back there and recommend to friends. Prices are quite high for food and drink, but this is expected for this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VICKYJM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we are pleased that you enjoyed stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
442 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,705 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,557 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Property: Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing