We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were here for a wedding and decided to stay at Elmers due to the distance from home.

The hotel is in a lovely setting, with views from the main house down to Solent and across to the Isle of Wight. There are lovely gardens to wander around and it's quiet.

The rooms are clean and tidy and as you would expect, ours was a family room with a large main room and a small bunk bedded room for kids. The room wasn't tired per se, but the decor wasn't the most modern, however it's in keeping with the surroundings and we were very comfortable in it.

The food was superb and the whole event was very slick. Breakfast in Sails was good as well, slight muck up with the order but quickly rectified by the friendly and helpful staff so no complaints.

Staff in the place are lovely, really welcoming and you get the impression nothing would be too much trouble.

Didn't really explore Lymington, but the hotel is a shortish walk over to the town (you need to go around the harbour to get there so would take 10-15 mins I'd guess).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edp2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,452 - 1,458 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed at Elmers for three days (13th to 15th September 2011). Joint Birthday present from and to my wife. Booked from Thomas Cook brochure (but viewed Tripadvisor before doing so). What a delight! Facilities all as described in their website and brochure. Room fine - clean and comfortable. Food excellent in the Sails Brasserie. All staff very pleasant and, where necessary, helpful. Situation of hotel extremely pleasant with beautiful grounds, including an entirely unexpected walk down to the boundary by the Lymington River, with the Isle of Wight in the distance over The Solent (entertainment provided by yachts from marina and the WightLink ferries). Very reluctant to leave!!

Tony G., Northants

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback left on the trip advisor website, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Elmers Court was a great discovery. The room set in a courtyard was spacious and comfortable (but to get to meals take an umbrella in case of rain), the restaurant was elegant, the service both attentive and very slick, the food excellent with a menu that varies marginally each day and breakfast in the Sails bar was also excellent, again with quality staff. The hotel complex is set in splendid, extensive gardens leading down to the water's edge, including an attractive outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool and other facilities. Just the place to relax and to visit nearby attractions such as Beaulieu, the New Forest and Exbury Garden. We can't wait to go again.

Pam & Mike Hill, Wickford, Essex

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for such positive feedback left on the trip advisor website, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked this Hotel for a 3 nights stay, in celebration of our 30th Anniversary. Our thoughts on arrival were positive, as the grounds, and main Reception were impressive. However, the same couldn't be said for the accommodation, which can only be described as a Butlins chalet. The carpet in our room was threadbare, and the furniture had definately seen better days. The bathroom was tiny, no mixer taps in the sink, and the rollerblind was disgusting to say the least! The bed was rock hard, and the base was stained brown. After enduring 1 night out of our 3, we felt we would rather be at home, and checked out. We do not believe that the room, which was upgraded to "executive" was worth anywhere near the £130 per night which we paid, and will certainly not be returning to this or any other Macdonald Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Jean-Marc Poumel Resort General Manager replied:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the trip advisor website, I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the room you were allocated. Our bedrooms are situated in their own courtyard and pictures of the accommodation are available on our website. We are refurbishing our bedrooms on a rolling basis and have made considerable improvement in the last 2 years with new free view flat screen TVs, new wooden head boards in each bedrooms, from next month we are also switching bedding to duvet, and other work has been carried out on a individual basis. Every effort is made to modernise our accommodation following guests feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion we could not meet your expectations, however every Macdonald Hotels & Resort are unique in their style and I am sure you would be able to find one of our property to match your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Elmers court hotel was the venue for our sons wedding, a special day was made
even more so by the very friendly and helpful staff . The wedding co-ordinator made sure
everything went smoothly and was always on hand to answer any questions we had. The setting of the hotel made a lovely backdrop for the photos and thanks to the weather we made the most of the outside terrace. The food was great , how do you cook eighty steaks to perfection I have trouble cooking one!
We retired to our rooms which were well equiped with all you would need including iron and board . Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback left on the trip advisor website. It is always a great privilege to be chosen as a venue to hold such a special event. We were delighted to read that our team were able to make your son and daughter in law special day even more of a success. Your positive comments have been passed on to the team which will help greatly with staff moral, especially our Chefs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A strange setup to say the least, across between a really great hotel, Butlins and Fawlty Towers. There's a commoners restruarnt and a "residents resturant" wo betide you if you're a commoner and you try to visit the residents resturant, that was our first mistake! and and easy one to make if you are staying more than two nights because you will quickly run out of different things to eat from the limited menu in the commoners resturant which meant we had to drive into town each night. It's interesting how they provide free childrens meals in the evening but these are subsidised by what they charge for Breakfast. Whatever you do make sure you get breakfast included in your room rate because if you don't then a big fuss will be made every morning about the fact that you DON'T HAVE BREAKFAT INCLUDED! I had to promise that I would pay for it and then show ID every day to prove who I was which became very tiresome after four days. Pay for it I did, for my children (4 & 6) £13.50 each for a bowl of cereal and glass of milk! I stay in hotels all over the world and for childrens breakfast this beats the best there is I have to say! For a child friendly hotel that's out of order. Rooms are OK although lack of aircon makes them uncomfortable when hot, sports and leisure facilities are OK but not up to Marriot or Crowne Plaza standards. We will not be returning here or to any other Macdonald resort come to that.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allonetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Jean-Marc Poumel, Resort General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor website. I was sorry to read that you felt our Waterford Restaurant was for Resident only, although the Waterford Restaurant is a more formal option and we do ask for a minimum dress code of smart casual, (no trainers and T Shirt) this Restaurant is open to all members of the public. However as the amount of space is limited we strongly recommend to book your table in advance. Regarding Sails Grill menu, I feel that this is an extensive menu with a choice of 8 starters 14 main courses and 6 desserts as well as a themed daily special. I was most concerned to read your comments regarding Breakfast, as children under the age of 5 do not get charged for breakfast, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and we will be able to look into it for you and refund accordingly. Regarding the charge for continental breakfast for children I have passed your comments to our Executive team for review as this is a company standard price and is one of the most competitive in the market.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked Elmer's Court Hotel for our wedding day, even though we live in Sussex, because as a venue it is idyllic, situated in the beautiful New Forest, and on a sunny day looks sunny.
On the day itself we were so lucky with the weather, and when the sun came out it made the grounds of the venue look stunning - the tree lined approach to the estuary at the rear of the resort is amazing for photos, as is the building itself.
The hotel had made a mistake regarding our booking of the bridal suite, but quickly rectified the problem by giving us one of the on-site cottages, which was fortunate for us in terms of the cottage being even better for us......plenty of space to store our wedding things, and ideal spot near to the car park and the reception rooms. The main bedrooms of the hotel for guests are like chalets, and are very comfortable, even if the decor is somewhat dated, although I am told this is due to be decorated.
The set-up of the various rooms was ideal for us to feature all the entertainment facilities we wanted, such as choc fountain, photobooth, pianist, DJ, etc.
The staff themselves were outstanding on the day - the banqueting manager was a warrier and kept everything running perfectly, and was always on hand. The IT guy who helped me get the slideshow working the night before the wedding deserves a drink (!), and the general manager and events manager were only too helpful on the day and leading up to it, so hats off to the staff for getting the day to proceed so perfectly. It allowed us to relax and enjoy our special day.
A couple of guests complained about the high prices at the evening bar, but being the groom I didn't pay for any drinks, so.....not my problem! haha.
Overall, our wedding day was perfect and a big part of that is due to the dedication of their staff and the stunningly beautiful venue!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteKat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Jean-Marc Poumel, Resort General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback left on the Trip Advisor website, we are delighted that we were able to make your big day such a success. May we add our congratulations to you both, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort many times in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,833 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,019 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
581 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £71 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing