We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My husband and I stayed for a two night break.
Beautiful grounds and location lovely. Our room was spacious, modern and clean. Main building has interesting history and architecture.
Excellent staff and Restaurants superb.
The downside was as we were there on a Friday and a Saturday and there were weddings on both days. Parking was a nightmare, the pool very busy and steam room not working.
Had a very nice break though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheppey0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Thank you for your feedback left on the trip advisor website, we are pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. The main carpark during events can be very busy, however we do have overflow parking at the rear of the Resort which is even closer to guests’ bedrooms, we will retrain our reception team to ensure that guests are informed during high usage periods. We do hope that this will not deter you from staying at the Resort again and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,450 - 1,456 of 1,632 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

Having just spent a night at the Elmers Court Hotel as a Birthday gift from my Partner we came away a bit deflated and confused as to what this hotel is trying to achieve.

We have both spent time in the beautiful New Forest prior to this visit and have also having stayed at some Mcdonalds Hotels in other parts of the country, so it was an obvious choice to stay at this hotel because of the standards we had previously experienced from their sister hotels however we came away a tad disappointed... The hotel itself is situated in a beautiful location with stunning views of the harbour and the grounds are very very pretty and are lovely to stroll around in the evening sunshine....However the accomodation is very confused...we had an upper level apartment which to be honest was reminiscent of a chalet in a better class of holiday resort / camp. On a positive side the room had lots of space but required considerable updating, The bathroom wasnt particularly clean and the kitchen had no utensals whatsoever which was very strange.

Breakfast was served within the sails cafe area which to be honest felt like a leisure centre mainly because it was also open to the general public at the same time whilst we would rather be served breakfast within the main restaurant of the main building. In adition why is there a surcharge on certain food products on the menu ??..Have never come across that issue at a hotel before.

I love staying in the New Forest because of its natural beauty and you are able to instantly unwind however we felt that this hotel lacked a certain atmosphere and was perhaps to public for our liking and it was not particularly exclusive to its hotel residents...

Unfortunately in conclusion, the hotel did not live up to our expections and we felt the hotel advertising does not reflect the true character of the establisement. Having said that, the location is stunning with great views and just a stones throw away from the lovely town Lymington.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were here for a wedding and decided to stay at Elmers due to the distance from home.

The hotel is in a lovely setting, with views from the main house down to Solent and across to the Isle of Wight. There are lovely gardens to wander around and it's quiet.

The rooms are clean and tidy and as you would expect, ours was a family room with a large main room and a small bunk bedded room for kids. The room wasn't tired per se, but the decor wasn't the most modern, however it's in keeping with the surroundings and we were very comfortable in it.

The food was superb and the whole event was very slick. Breakfast in Sails was good as well, slight muck up with the order but quickly rectified by the friendly and helpful staff so no complaints.

Staff in the place are lovely, really welcoming and you get the impression nothing would be too much trouble.

Didn't really explore Lymington, but the hotel is a shortish walk over to the town (you need to go around the harbour to get there so would take 10-15 mins I'd guess).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edp2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed at Elmers for three days (13th to 15th September 2011). Joint Birthday present from and to my wife. Booked from Thomas Cook brochure (but viewed Tripadvisor before doing so). What a delight! Facilities all as described in their website and brochure. Room fine - clean and comfortable. Food excellent in the Sails Brasserie. All staff very pleasant and, where necessary, helpful. Situation of hotel extremely pleasant with beautiful grounds, including an entirely unexpected walk down to the boundary by the Lymington River, with the Isle of Wight in the distance over The Solent (entertainment provided by yachts from marina and the WightLink ferries). Very reluctant to leave!!

Tony G., Northants

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for your wonderful feedback left on the trip advisor website, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Elmers Court was a great discovery. The room set in a courtyard was spacious and comfortable (but to get to meals take an umbrella in case of rain), the restaurant was elegant, the service both attentive and very slick, the food excellent with a menu that varies marginally each day and breakfast in the Sails bar was also excellent, again with quality staff. The hotel complex is set in splendid, extensive gardens leading down to the water's edge, including an attractive outdoor pool as well as the indoor pool and other facilities. Just the place to relax and to visit nearby attractions such as Beaulieu, the New Forest and Exbury Garden. We can't wait to go again.

Pam & Mike Hill, Wickford, Essex

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeHill43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for such positive feedback left on the trip advisor website, we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked this Hotel for a 3 nights stay, in celebration of our 30th Anniversary. Our thoughts on arrival were positive, as the grounds, and main Reception were impressive. However, the same couldn't be said for the accommodation, which can only be described as a Butlins chalet. The carpet in our room was threadbare, and the furniture had definately seen better days. The bathroom was tiny, no mixer taps in the sink, and the rollerblind was disgusting to say the least! The bed was rock hard, and the base was stained brown. After enduring 1 night out of our 3, we felt we would rather be at home, and checked out. We do not believe that the room, which was upgraded to "executive" was worth anywhere near the £130 per night which we paid, and will certainly not be returning to this or any other Macdonald Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Jean-Marc Poumel Resort General Manager replied:
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on the trip advisor website, I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with the room you were allocated. Our bedrooms are situated in their own courtyard and pictures of the accommodation are available on our website. We are refurbishing our bedrooms on a rolling basis and have made considerable improvement in the last 2 years with new free view flat screen TVs, new wooden head boards in each bedrooms, from next month we are also switching bedding to duvet, and other work has been carried out on a individual basis. Every effort is made to modernise our accommodation following guests feedback. I am sorry that on this occasion we could not meet your expectations, however every Macdonald Hotels & Resort are unique in their style and I am sure you would be able to find one of our property to match your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The Elmers court hotel was the venue for our sons wedding, a special day was made
even more so by the very friendly and helpful staff . The wedding co-ordinator made sure
everything went smoothly and was always on hand to answer any questions we had. The setting of the hotel made a lovely backdrop for the photos and thanks to the weather we made the most of the outside terrace. The food was great , how do you cook eighty steaks to perfection I have trouble cooking one!
We retired to our rooms which were well equiped with all you would need including iron and board . Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjh1972, Public Relations Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback left on the trip advisor website. It is always a great privilege to be chosen as a venue to hold such a special event. We were delighted to read that our team were able to make your son and daughter in law special day even more of a success. Your positive comments have been passed on to the team which will help greatly with staff moral, especially our Chefs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
776 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,020 reviews
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
582 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £73 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing