We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,737)
Filter reviews
1,737 results
Traveller rating
590
527
319
177
124
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
527
319
177
124
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterford restaurantspa breakmain buildingsteak clubleisure centrespa facilitiesthe scottish steak houseexecutive roomoutdoor poolnew forestlymington piersteam roombreakfast bargrounds are lovelytennis courtswedding venueisle of wight
Filter
Updating list...
1,496 - 1,501 of 1,737 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2012

After a disasterous night at the Ormonde House in Lyndhurst we had to find another hotel at very short notice. Luckily the Elmers Court came up trumps. The key difference - Service.
We arrived at 8 am and were immediately given a room by a professional reception manager. The room was available immediately so we could leave our bags and get exploring.
The location is great for Lymington and around, and by booking a dinner bed and breakfast deal there was no stress!
The room was originally made up as a twin but while we were out they converted to a double - again good service! The layout of having the main rooms separate to the older original hotel is one you see quite often in Macdonald hotels and does have the advantage of being quiet.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and the views from the bar down to the river superb. Overall a great experience that rescued what could otherwise have been a disappointing break

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank throwingmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review left on the Trip Advisor website, comments such as yours go a long way in keeping our staff motivated to work hard at exceeding our guest’s expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in order to explore Lymington, Christchurch and Poole and we really enjoyed the experience. Having the rooms set outside in the grounds is a bit strange, especially when it was raining but the benefit is very generously sized rooms which are nice and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel are really interesting and have great views over the Solent. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice from the buffet and a high quality cooked breakfast. The staff we met were all very friendly and helpful and made for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splintergroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear guest,

It is always a delight to receive positive feedback like yours, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
London, United Kingdom
42
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Room Tip: Near to the leisure facilities if you don't want to walk far in a swimming costume or with wet hair.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Most of the rooms here are in separate 2 storey blocks around the grounds - a mixture of motel and time-share - so in early April, it was a cold and frosty journey from our upper floor room down slippery steps and across the grounds to the restaurant or breakfast room.

Bedroom was spacious and well appointed - loads of drawers, bottled water provided, reasonable bathroom, bed quite comfortable.

As part of a group of around 20 on a car tour, we dined in a separate room - where we had been crammed in like sardines to the point that you almost had to take it in turns to lean forward, or cut your food - ludicrous! The food itself was fine and service OK - it was just a shame no-one had had the sense to add a couple of extra tables to the row so we were not shoe-horned in.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long and potentially wet/cold walk to the restaurant, ask about a room in the main house.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoodLifeForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your review on the Trip Advisor Website, we were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. I was surprised to read that your Dinner in our private Glenville lounge was crammed as we normally fit up to 34 people comfortably. I have asked our Operation Manager to retrain his team to ensure that the maximum space per person is allocated per guests to ensure of no further guest disappointment. Hopefully, we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a mix of a hotel and time share resort, part of the MacDonald chain of hotels. The presence of the time share means that the range of additional facilities on offer is wider than a smallish hotel alone could probably offer (2 restaurants, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, gym etc.). Although I didn't eat in the Waterford (posh) restaurant, the menu looked impressive and maybe one day I will give it a go. The (not so posh) Sails offered good quality food, although the range was limited. Rooms were clean, well furnished and a decent size, although the layout was a bit eccentric, and a bit of furniture re-arranging was needed to watch TV in comfort! To my delight the bath was full length, I get a bit fed up of hotels putting in short baths, saves money and water, but after a long drive I for one want a relaxing stretch and soak.

The big downer for me was the lack of internet access, only available via BT openzone. My objection is not only that this can be expensive, but that if you don't know in advance, the only way to sign up is over an insecure connection. Internet access does seem to vary greatly between hotels, and seems fairly unconnected with room rates. I've stayed in cheap places with free high speed wi-fi, and more expensive ones (like here) with problematic connections.

The grounds of the resort are extensive and exquisite, long lawns leading to views of the Isle of Wight.

This is the second time I've stayed here, and I am sure I'll be back. However the lack of internet access would prevent me giving it an unreserved recommendation to anyone who has a need to keep "on grid".

Room Tip: Many of the rooms are up a flights of stairs, anyone with mobility issues should be aware
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dem98_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback left on the Trip Advisor Website, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed your comments back to our team, as comments such as yours is a great moral boost. I have forwarded your feed back for review to the Macdonald Senior Executive team regarding wi-fi. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews