We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We have stayed at several Macdonald hotels, and this was our second visit to Elmers Court and we were not disappointed. As usual the staff were friendly and efficient, the food delicious, and the room large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean, with plenty of shelf space, heated towel rail and the fiercest power shower I have ever used (wonderful)! Our ground floor room in the courtyard was about 200 yards from the Spa and Indoor Pool and 100 yards from the outdoor pool. What I like about the outdoor pool at Elmers is that it is surrounded by a wall, trees and shrubs, which makes it feel secluded and a wonderful suntrap. We sunbathed, but the water was a bit too cold for us to swim, but the children seemed to be enjoying it. It was raining on the day we arrived so spent the afternoon in the indoor pool and sauna, very relaxing after a long car journey. We were even welcomed at the door of our room by the resident Malard, who came back each morning for his daily titbits!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonybNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback like yours, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. We have forwarded your feedback to our team and they thank you in return for your kind words. We look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,366 - 1,372 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed as a family just for one night. We checked in with a friendly, efficient and competant member of staff. The main hotel looked lovely but we stayed in the courtyard which was ideal for us. We had a fabulous quiet evening meal at the steakhouse. We unfortunately didnt have time to use the swimming pool which looked clean and spacious. We had a lovely breakfast as well. The room was large with a seperate area for the children, our boy is a very tall 11 and just managed to squeeze into the bunk bed! The bathroom was on the small side but there was a hot towel rail and plenty of hot water. The only complaint would be that our bed was too hard!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review left on the Trip Advisor website, comments such as yours go a long way in keeping our staff motivated to work hard at exceeding our guest’s expectations. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just returned from four nights at Elmers Court. From the first the staff treated us with enthusiasm and a real desire to provide a good service. Our room was outside in a courtyard, a little distance from the main hotel, which suited us very well indeed. There were a few families staying in the courtyard, so our children were able to make friends and play in the freedom and safety that the courtyard provided. The bar/grill was more than sufficient for meals, and my husband and I ate a few times at the main hotel restaurant, the Waterford. The starters needed improving, but the main course and desserts were outstanding. The facilities on site were ideal for any weather with both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, pool table, table tennis, etc. The hotel has a spa where the facilities were excellent - thank you for a superb massage! The children were very well catered for - indeed we did not ask for anything as it was already provided. The big question is: will we be back? Yes please! PS My only suggestion is that the decor of the rooms be updated.

Room Tip: The majority of the hotel rooms are separate from the main hotel, so if you want one closer to the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on trip advisor. I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. We are very competitively priced despite our premium location. Hotel WiFi service is supplied by BT openzone and is normally very reliable, we will conduct tests to ensure that the service is fully accessible. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at Elmers Court for a wedding in May. The location was perfect for us since the train station was just down the road—no taxi necessary if the weather is nice! The property is gorgeous, charming, and picture perfect. The room we stayed in was on the second floor of the cottages and we appreciated the size; it was ample and there was plenty of space for our things without feeling cramped. Breakfast in the morning was nice. There was a buffet with a variety of juices, fruit, cereals and cheeses set up and then there's the option of ordering from the menu. Breakfast was included in our price, but the staff didn't explain our options very well—not sure if we could have had both (juice & fruit from the buffet, for example, as well as our menu meal). The Internet was an absolute joke; it didn't work 90% of the time and it was outrageously expensive. Don't even think about paying for it—just consider your time there as a break from technology. I think I would have enjoyed our stay a little more and been more forgiving if we didn't pay SO much for our room. We booked well in advance, but it was still very overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesstagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just returned from spending 2 nights at the hotel. Thought £290 for 2 nights B&B for a double room was expensive. We didnt use any of the lesiure facilities - though I did try and spend time at the pool but with the good weather there was no space to sit! The main building of the hotel is beautiful. The rooms around courtyards lovely idea but the rooms are dated and the speakers and trouser press not working. The bar service and staff very good (though they had just introduced a new Cucumber Cocktail which the waitress told us she was trying out on us and I think she got the quantities wrong as it tasted of nothing!) Breakfast very good. Dinner in the steakhouse was poor. Service slow. Steak expensive and I have definitely had better. There were wedding parties both days we stayed and the place was crowded and noisy. With the label of hotel, wedding venue, timeshare, and cottage rentals, and leisure facilities I think there is no strong focus on any particular avenue and this venue tries to be too many things for too many people. Location lovely and if I was in the area I may consider it - but not before checking out the competition!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_robins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback placed on the Trip advisor website. We constantly check our competition pricing to ensure that we are very competitive. As all Resorts we have an array of different activities to ensure that our guests get the maximum enjoyment while on site. Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory service you received in our Scottish Steak Club, this concept is new to the Resort and we have had some teething problems which have now been resolved. We have since recruited a team of dedicated Chefs with the skills to deliver the high standards the brand is renowned for. Regarding ht cocktail this cocktail was created by our Operations Manager and our team was trained to make it, he will retrain his team to ensure that recipe is followed. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you are thinking of visiting the New Forest and I will be delighted to try to restore your faith in the high level of service the Resort is delivering on a consistent basis.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned from 1 weeks stay here, we stayed in a spacious cottage with our 2.5 year old. Great facilities but...outdoor pool was still being cleaned so not open (not good with little ones) indoor pool was nice but there seemed to be permanent swimming lessons on so had little space to explore plus no changing rooms just one big changing room...also our main comment would be that it doesn't know whether it wants to be q luxury hotel or a leisure complex; The kids play area was really tired and neglected with only a baby swing for toddlers and no small slide etc. The grounds were amazing to walk around but it lacked things like a small onsite shop or takeaway (if it's going down the leisure complex which you would expect with all the self catering accommodation). Brilliant location for exploring the IOW and new forest though highly recommend for that. We would not stay there again as do not Feel it's suitable for young families really for older clients at present.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on trip advisor. I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. The outdoor pool could not be open earlier as bad weather interrupted our maintenance team yearly maintenance work. This though was completed by Thursday evening and the pool is now fully operational and extremely popular. I can assure you that we are a true family destination and maybe you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We visited on a time share exchange and did not expect a great deal from this rather tired looking resort. We had wanted to visit various attractions in the New Forest so the location was more important than the actual resort. First impressions were that we were too young as we are only in our mid fifties!
After being directed across the grounds to the time share reception, we were speedily checked in and pointed towards our lodge, the ground floor of a block of maisonettes with uninterrupted views over the lawns sloping down to the estuary. Tip - the top floor units have better views and you don't have people walking over your head!
The apartment was surprisingly well furnished and equipped - particularly the flat screen TV and internet/entertainment facilities. The latter are well worth the tiny fee of less than £10 per week. However, be aware that the wireless signal is interrupted when the Isle of White ferry passes across the view. The kitchen was well equipped although the knife set was dangerously blunt - an accident waiting to happen.
The bedrooms were adequate but the furniture could do with being better positioned as it was only to easy to walk into the chest of drawers in the main bedroom due to lack of space. With no real sunlight reaching into the apartment, we found it necessary to keep the electric heating on for most of the time we were in the apartment. This proved to less expensive than we thought.
The real downside was the bathroom which was very dated and could do with a complete make-over.
On site, the spa and swimming pool were first class and the adjoining bar/restaurant adequate.
We did not test other facilities as, being March, it was a bit too cold to swim outside or play tennis, etcetera. Avoid the main hotel restaurant as it is totally devoid of any ambiance or quality.
All in all, a relaxing week's stay. A little bit of TLC and money could really improve this resort as the location is fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to rent one of the lodges with uninterrupted views of the marina and ferry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PROLLAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your experience. We have a Time Share refurbishment plan which take place on a rolling basis and every apartment get refurbished to a very high standard, including bathroom. We, hopefully will welcome you back at the Resort very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,816 reviews
7 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £71 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing