We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,811)
Filter reviews
1,811 results
Traveller rating
607
546
339
184
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
607
546
339
184
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waterford restaurant spa break steak bar spa facilities leisure centre the scottish steak house executive room new forest outdoor pool lymington pier sauna and steam room grounds are lovely the main house tennis courts wedding venue isle of wight short break
Filter
Updating list...
1,561 - 1,566 of 1,811 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed as a family just for one night. We checked in with a friendly, efficient and competant member of staff. The main hotel looked lovely but we stayed in the courtyard which was ideal for us. We had a fabulous quiet evening meal at the steakhouse. We unfortunately didnt have time to use the swimming pool which looked clean and spacious. We had a lovely breakfast as well. The room was large with a seperate area for the children, our boy is a very tall 11 and just managed to squeeze into the bunk bed! The bathroom was on the small side but there was a hot towel rail and plenty of hot water. The only complaint would be that our bed was too hard!

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review left on the Trip Advisor website, comments such as yours go a long way in keeping our staff motivated to work hard at exceeding our guest’s expectations. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We have just returned from four nights at Elmers Court. From the first the staff treated us with enthusiasm and a real desire to provide a good service. Our room was outside in a courtyard, a little distance from the main hotel, which suited us very well indeed. There were a few families staying in the courtyard, so our children were able to make friends and play in the freedom and safety that the courtyard provided. The bar/grill was more than sufficient for meals, and my husband and I ate a few times at the main hotel restaurant, the Waterford. The starters needed improving, but the main course and desserts were outstanding. The facilities on site were ideal for any weather with both indoor and outdoor swimming pools, pool table, table tennis, etc. The hotel has a spa where the facilities were excellent - thank you for a superb massage! The children were very well catered for - indeed we did not ask for anything as it was already provided. The big question is: will we be back? Yes please! PS My only suggestion is that the decor of the rooms be updated.

Room tip: The majority of the hotel rooms are separate from the main hotel, so if you want one closer to the hotel or inside it I would enquire before booking , and book well in advance.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on trip advisor. I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. We are very competitively priced despite our premium location. Hotel WiFi service is supplied by BT openzone and is normally very reliable, we will conduct tests to ensure that the service is fully accessible. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at Elmers Court for a wedding in May. The location was perfect for us since the train station was just down the road—no taxi necessary if the weather is nice! The property is gorgeous, charming, and picture perfect. The room we stayed in was on the second floor of the cottages and we appreciated the size; it was ample and there was plenty of space for our things without feeling cramped. Breakfast in the morning was nice. There was a buffet with a variety of juices, fruit, cereals and cheeses set up and then there's the option of ordering from the menu. Breakfast was included in our price, but the staff didn't explain our options very well—not sure if we could have had both (juice & fruit from the buffet, for example, as well as our menu meal). The Internet was an absolute joke; it didn't work 90% of the time and it was outrageously expensive. Don't even think about paying for it—just consider your time there as a break from technology. I think I would have enjoyed our stay a little more and been more forgiving if we didn't pay SO much for our room. We booked well in advance, but it was still very overpriced.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesstagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Just returned from spending 2 nights at the hotel. Thought £290 for 2 nights B&B for a double room was expensive. We didnt use any of the lesiure facilities - though I did try and spend time at the pool but with the good weather there was no space to sit! The main building of the hotel is beautiful. The rooms around courtyards lovely idea but the rooms are dated and the speakers and trouser press not working. The bar service and staff very good (though they had just introduced a new Cucumber Cocktail which the waitress told us she was trying out on us and I think she got the quantities wrong as it tasted of nothing!) Breakfast very good. Dinner in the steakhouse was poor. Service slow. Steak expensive and I have definitely had better. There were wedding parties both days we stayed and the place was crowded and noisy. With the label of hotel, wedding venue, timeshare, and cottage rentals, and leisure facilities I think there is no strong focus on any particular avenue and this venue tries to be too many things for too many people. Location lovely and if I was in the area I may consider it - but not before checking out the competition!

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c_robins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback placed on the Trip advisor website. We constantly check our competition pricing to ensure that we are very competitive. As all Resorts we have an array of different activities to ensure that our guests get the maximum enjoyment while on site. Please accept our apologies for the less than satisfactory service you received in our Scottish Steak Club, this concept is new to the Resort and we have had some teething problems which have now been resolved. We have since recruited a team of dedicated Chefs with the skills to deliver the high standards the brand is renowned for. Regarding ht cocktail this cocktail was created by our Operations Manager and our team was trained to make it, he will retrain his team to ensure that recipe is followed. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally if you are thinking of visiting the New Forest and I will be delighted to try to restore your faith in the high level of service the Resort is delivering on a consistent basis.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned from 1 weeks stay here, we stayed in a spacious cottage with our 2.5 year old. Great facilities but...outdoor pool was still being cleaned so not open (not good with little ones) indoor pool was nice but there seemed to be permanent swimming lessons on so had little space to explore plus no changing rooms just one big changing room...also our main comment would be that it doesn't know whether it wants to be q luxury hotel or a leisure complex; The kids play area was really tired and neglected with only a baby swing for toddlers and no small slide etc. The grounds were amazing to walk around but it lacked things like a small onsite shop or takeaway (if it's going down the leisure complex which you would expect with all the self catering accommodation). Brilliant location for exploring the IOW and new forest though highly recommend for that. We would not stay there again as do not Feel it's suitable for young families really for older clients at present.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kangercol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on trip advisor. I was pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Resort. The outdoor pool could not be open earlier as bad weather interrupted our maintenance team yearly maintenance work. This though was completed by Thursday evening and the pool is now fully operational and extremely popular. I can assure you that we are a true family destination and maybe you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews