We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My daughter has just had her wedding at this lovely hotel, the venue is perfect for such an occasion, wonderful views from the grounds, excellent care and attention from all the staff, lovely clean spacious rooms. Food was of a high quality. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basmala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the review you placed on the trip advisor website. We feel very privilege that your daughter had chosen Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel to celebrate her special day. I have personally shared your feedback with the team and they thank you in return for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, maybe of the celebration of your anniversary.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,344 - 1,350 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights in one of the courtyard rooms. The room curtains were all torn down one side and the room did not contain a refridgator as stated on the website. The complimentary water is only for the first night. On the plus side the pool is good. Recommend the Wagon and Horses near Lymington pier (2 minutes drive) for a great meal rather than the on site steak house.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ipswichsuffolk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor Website. We were please to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your concerns regarding the soft furnishing of the room however we have invested in our rooms in the last 3 years with ongoing maintenance work, new wooden headboard, new flat screen TVs, new sofa beds. We further will be starting phase one of our refurbishment in October with 10 fully refurbished rooms including our 2 Suites. We will also change carpets and chairs in other bedrooms. I was sorry the read that you did not try our Scottish Steak Club as it is very popular with a majority of our guests. We would be delighted to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Stayed one night with my wife on a late booking.
Nice hotel and grounds. Room good, breakfast very good.Staff excellent and very friendly.
Only one thing not happy about. When we checked out a £3 charged was made to the room bill as I was paying by credit card. Stayed in hotels all over the world and this was the first time I had been charged for using a Barclaycard credit card. Mentioned this to the receptionist who said she had stayed in many hotels and had been charged for using a credit card. No answer to that really.
Hotel group should scrap this charge as it is bad for their PR.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter777888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor website. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and how much you enjoyed our facilities, food and service.
The team always works at exceeding our guests expectations and I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your short break.
Credit card charges are a common practice in our industry and are, unfortunately a passed on cost encountered by hotels and in our case it is not a lucrative charge however this does not apply to debit card charges and other method of payment.
We, hopefully will be welcoming you back very shortly.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Thank you to all at Elmers Court for making our wedding such a memorable experience. Special mention for Kirsty Bull, Wedding Co-ordinator and Linda Love and her Restaurant team. We must also mention the Hampshire Registrars team for a really wonderful ceremony.

To be able to be married outside with our guests enjoying the fantastic weather on the lawns was a super bonus.

The venue and gardens allowed creativity to our wedding photographers.

All in all we would recommend Elmers Court unreservedly for a wedding and other ceremonies.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the review you placed on the trip advisor website. We feel very privilege that you had chosen Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel to celebrate such a special event. I have personally shared your feedback with the team and they thank you in return for your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future, maybe of the celebration of your anniversary.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a four night stay at this hotel and cannot fault it.We had wanted somewhere close to Lymington Pier so we could get to and from the Isle Of Wight,and we had also wanted a bit of pampering.This was ideal,only a five minute door to door walk to the ferry terminal,and a wonderful spa complex which had really nice facilities.Breakfast was one of the best we've had in a hotel and our room was spacious and clean and lovely.Staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and the grounds were beautiful.In all,a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such positive feedback. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your four night stay with us. We are very proud of our breakfast standards which are a benchmark in this industry. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have had a number of short breaks here over the years and I feel it has been well maintained. The chalet we stayed in had been refurbished. The rooms are large and comfortable. I particularly like the ones with a sink and a fridge. The food in the club has been improved and I was quite impressed. If you want a day trip to the Isle of Wight the hotel is in a perfect position, just 5 mins walk away from the ferry. Lymmington is a very pleasant town and well worth a visit. It's also a good base to visit the rest of the new forest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seebee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always so positive to receive great feedback like yours, and we were delighted to read that you regularly enjoy your stay with us. We have worked very hard at improving the food standards across the Resort and we can witness the impact on this website as so much positive feedback has been posted. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I would be delighted to upgrade you to one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed here with three friends we booked through spa breaks. If you book a mini facial or mini manicure/pedicure be aware! The manicure/pedicure is a file and paint and the facial isn't half hour. The small jacuzzi is part of the swimming pool and the hotel shouldn't really be described as having a spa. The evening meal in the waterford restaurant was lovely and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was a bit hit and miss some of the food had been cooked and kept warm for a while. Wouldn't return to the hotel for a spa package may return if I wanted to hop across to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor Website. Although I was please that overall you enjoyed your stay I was surprised to read your comments regarding your Spa treatment as we regularly get great feedback from other guests. The duration of the treatment is ½ hour allowing including an approximate 5minutes preparation.
The pool Spa is not A Jacuzzi and not advertised as such as it is part of the pool it has to be the same temperature as the pool. I would ask you to contact me personally and I would be delighted to offer you a preferential rate for a future stay in order to restore your faith in our establishment cleaning standards.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
774 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,018 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £69 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing