We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just returned home from a superb w/e at Elmers. Our two night stay included a really good evening meal in the restaurant which we felt represented good value. The ambience and staff are really lovely. In fact it was a delight to see well trained, happy staff wanting to deliver a quality service. Well done.
Our room exceeded expectations- very clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts in the club restaurant as mentioned by other reviewers really could not be faulted.
The only minor negative was the pool area which we felt was slightly 'tired' but the magnificent setting of the hotel offset this.
We will definitely return. Thanks again to the staff and management.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayling20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always so positive to receive great feedback like yours, and we were delighted to read that you really enjoyed your break and the food and service provided in our fine dining restaurant. Thank you for your constructive feedback on our pool side, as part of our maintenance plan we will be retiling the entire poolside during the month of December. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,297 - 1,303 of 1,589 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at Elmer's Court for 2 nights with a group of 29 people. We had room 21A which was outside on the first floor. This room was very quiet and we slept well. We had to be careful going up the steps as they could have been very slippery but the hotel had done their best to minimise any potential problems. The room was spacious with a breakfast bar and fridge, settee and large bed. The bathroom was small, but adequate with a shower over the bath. The toiletries were poor. there was no body lotion or conditioner, but this was not a priority, of course.Hotel rooms tend to be quite dark and this was no exception and there was no light over the dressing table mirror which is important if you have to share a bathroom.The TV was a flat screen set and there was also a teamaker and biscuits.
The hotel is in a beautiful location right by the solent. The sea view rooms belong to time share clients I believe. The drive up to the hotel is quite impressive as are the public rooms and there is an indoor pool and spa, but I did not use this, but other members of our party were very pleased as the water was warm. The table d'hote dinner at £20.95 was very good and nicely presented.The service from the waiters was excellent. The food was of excellent quality except for serving 'smash' instead of proper mashed potato. Breakfast was excellent . the food was cooked to order and not left to simmer on hot plates. There was plenty of fruit and a choice of 5 juices, and also the usual cold food like croissants and yogurt, cheese and ham. In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay. One problem was that there were no safes in the bedrooms. Be aware of this if you stay here, but otherwise -enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review placed on trip advisor. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 2 nights stay at the Resort.
I appreciate your comments regarding the lack of safe in the bedrooms however we do offer a safe deposit service at main reception where you can deposit your valuables, be handed a ticket for it and feel reassure that your belongings are in safe keeping during your stay.
Thank you again for you custom and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Went to the steak house here to join family who were staying here for a meal. Meal vas very good and efficiently served (there were a lot of us!). One steak arrived rare when asked for medium rare and it was quickly taken away and replaced. Not very atmospheric if you were dining by yourselves but great for a lot of people together. did manage to see rooms and thought them to be better than expected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotty129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always so positive to receive great feedback like yours, and we were delighted to read that you really enjoyed your dinner with us. We have worked very hard at improving the food standards across the Resort and we can witness the impact on this website as so much positive feedback has been posted.
We are in the process of completely refurbishing a number of our bedrooms, which will be completed by the end of November, so please do not hesitate to call us to arrange a show round. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I would be delighted to upgrade you to one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just got there in time, like we all do, to find our room had no power. DAVE arrived at our room and explained exactly what was wrong before putting all right again. This makes all the difference to us...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bossman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We have passed on your comments to Dave our Maintenance Engineer and he thanks you in return for your kind words. Our entire Maintenance team work hard to provide our guests with outstanding customer services.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed in The Henry Tudor block in a 1 bedroom apartment which sleeps 4 people. This was a timeshare exchange through RCI. The check in was at the leisure centre and we were given a warm welcome.
The apartment was very clean and well furnished, there was a bowl of fruit and small cartons of milk in the fridge.and ample towels which were changed midweek. The kitchen was very well fitted with quality appliances. Just one gripe, the bed was very firm and I didn't sleep well, however, this may suit other guests. We were on the ground floor which meant the view was not so good but we was out most of the day.
We used the indoor pool and the gym and towels were supplied. The grounds are imaculate with views towards the Solent.
We had a super holiday in the New Forest with wall to wall sunshine. There are plenty of interesting places to visit in the area and good walks in the area. Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, Bucklers Hard, The New Forest Wildlife Park, Hurst Castle and Milford on Sea are all worth a visit .
.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor website. It was a pleasure for the team to read your feedback which is such a boost to our employee morale.
As your comments suggest, due to personal preference, it is difficult to provide all guests with beds to match all of their liking, however we do carry mattress topers which do provide softer sleeping arrangements.
We all look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort very soon.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the New Forest area. The hotel is in a great location and we stayed in one of the newer anex buildings. The room was clean and tidy and the hotel staff were friendly. Breakfast was good however the restaurant and especially the bar prices were expensive, which may explain why both were very quiet and under used. The pub down the road which served excellent restaurant quality food was very busy at evening meal time and beyond and the hotels pricing may be why. Would stay here again because of the location but at current prices would use the nearby pub for food and drink

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always so positive to receive great feedback like yours, and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel that our pricing policy is very competitive if compare with establishments of the same standing, we use only premium products sourced by reputable food growers and suppliers opposed to some of our competitors which explain why they are maybe cheaper in price. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We booked Elmers court for 11 people on a family celebration dinner for a 90th Birthday. Some of the family stayed at the hotel for two nights however as I have no personal experience of their stay I will not cover the accommodation in my review, other than to say that they were happy with the facilities.
We chose Elmers court because if it’s historical appearance, the gardens and the close proximity to Lymington centre for the visitors. Apparently is cost £5.00 for a taxi to town.
The gardens are impressive with lawns going down to the Lymington harbour and views to the Isle of Wight. There is a swimming pool, again well maintained. Our main purpose, the dinner was a very enjoyable experience. The lounge and dining area gave us the feeling of being in a country mansion and the service both at the bar and the dinner table left nothing to desire. A very efficient presentation with friendly staff. One of the waitresses even came to our table at the end of the evening to farewell us before she went home. We had four waiters at the table and their service was excellent.
During the booking process I was presented with a selection of menus covering Seasonal choices. Once I had chosen our menu I was asked to provide a list of each individual’s selection for the three course meal on that menu. I must admit that this is the first time I have been asked to choose the meal options prior to arrival at a restaurant and wondered if they carried a carried a comprehensive range of food to cover all available choices. However, on the evening the pre selection proved successful in that all the meals arrived in good time and without the need to study the menu again.
The food was excellent and considering the service and the location I believe we had good value for money at £26.95 per head.
The drinks offered did appear expensive with bottles of wine up to £30-40 a bottle. Having said that there was a comprehensive wine list and we selected individual glasses of wine.
In summary good value and great choice for our occasion and I would return for another such event Maybe a 100th. Ha!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review left on the Trip Advisor website, comments such as yours go a long way in keeping our staff motivated to work hard at exceeding our guest’s expectations. I have passed on your kind words to the kitchen and service team for that effect. Our wine list as you mention is extensive however our wine prices start at £20.95 with plenty of choice below the £30 mark. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,935 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
526 reviews
6.7 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £77 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing