We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast for years.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed for one night - everything perfect. The room and breakfast were superb and I can thoroughly recomend this place to anyone.
This is of course also a time share resort which once again as earned a gold star from RCI. The Spa and other facilities are as you would expect with a resort of this standard.

Room Tip: All hotel rooms are in a quiet location.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raymondcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review left on the Trip Advisor website, comments such as yours go a long way in keeping our staff motivated to work hard at exceeding our guest’s expectations. I have passed on your kind words to our breakfast team for that effect. Thank you for also mentioning our RCI Gold Crown award, which has again be attributed to our Resort. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,552)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,552 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

Really disappointed with recent weekend stay especially after reviews on here..

On the positive, the location and grounds are fabulous, the staff are very friendly and the rooms very clean but that;s it..

General standard of service and amenities are just totally below par for the pricing of this hotel -
no bathrobes, no slippers, minimal towels, absolute basic toiletries not replaced the next day when empty, no safe in room, no Sky TV, no wi-fi or internet, no radio/cd player/ipod dock, no dvd player, double bed was small and mattress old and uncomfortable..

the most STUPID key/electricity system ever.. try one of you going for a run whilst the other goes to gym and yet you need to keep heating on because the rooms are so cold... good luck there.. hotel doesn't have enough spares!

and quality of breakfast is just shocking - recommend waiting until 11 am and going up the road to the Wagon & Horses - fabulous pub!!!

very disappointing weekend (and I am an experienced Macdonald hotel user)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaunm1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on the tripadvisor website following your stay at the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel and Resort. See below our reply to the point you raised on your review.

I appreciate that you felt disappointed with the room set up offered in our property, especially if you were expecting our Randolph and Bath Spa property style. Both are very different from our Hotel and Resort as they are 5 AA Star Hotels when we are, as advertised on our website and literature, a 3AA star Hotel and Resort. We are dedicated to maintain our high standards and quality of room through a strong maintenance plan. In addition we have started a 10 bedrooms complete refurbishment on the 10th October 2012.

As described on our website and literature we only supply bathrobe and slippers in our suites however we would have been delighted to provide you with these if requested. We will revisit our standards after our refurbishment and include bathrobe and slippers in all upgraded rooms.

Our toiletries are standard in Macdonald 3 and 4 AA star properties however they should have been replenished if empty on your second day, please accept my apologies for this. We will ensure our housekeeping team is retrained to avoid any recurrence of this issue.

Wifi is available through BT Open Zone network in all public areas and bedrooms.

Our electrical key fob system is the equivalent of any electrical key card fob system present in the majority of hotels, it only automatically switches the lights off when removed. The heaters circuit and other electrical sockets are totally independent of it. Thank you for your suggestion regarding the number of keys available per rooms as we never had this feedback before, we will ensure we can provide our guests with 2 sets of keys if requested in the future.

I was sorry to read that you found the room cold, although we had a light early frost on the Saturday morning of your stay we had no other complaint regarding cold rooms and if requested we would have been able to provide you with additional heating.

I was most concerned to read your comments regarding breakfast as our Macdonald award winning breakfast is use as a benchmark in our industry.

Regarding our bedroom rate I feel that it is very competitive considering the location of our Resort, our competitors pricing on that week end and the facilities we offer. As you witnessed on this website, the vast majority of guests enjoy their stay at the Resort and find it great value for money.

I was sorry to read that we could not meet your expectations on this occasion. I sincerely hope that will not deter you from using our company other property in the future as each is unique in their own style.

Yours sincerely

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just returned home from a superb w/e at Elmers. Our two night stay included a really good evening meal in the restaurant which we felt represented good value. The ambience and staff are really lovely. In fact it was a delight to see well trained, happy staff wanting to deliver a quality service. Well done.
Our room exceeded expectations- very clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfasts in the club restaurant as mentioned by other reviewers really could not be faulted.
The only minor negative was the pool area which we felt was slightly 'tired' but the magnificent setting of the hotel offset this.
We will definitely return. Thanks again to the staff and management.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hayling20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always so positive to receive great feedback like yours, and we were delighted to read that you really enjoyed your break and the food and service provided in our fine dining restaurant. Thank you for your constructive feedback on our pool side, as part of our maintenance plan we will be retiling the entire poolside during the month of December. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We stayed at Elmer's Court for 2 nights with a group of 29 people. We had room 21A which was outside on the first floor. This room was very quiet and we slept well. We had to be careful going up the steps as they could have been very slippery but the hotel had done their best to minimise any potential problems. The room was spacious with a breakfast bar and fridge, settee and large bed. The bathroom was small, but adequate with a shower over the bath. The toiletries were poor. there was no body lotion or conditioner, but this was not a priority, of course.Hotel rooms tend to be quite dark and this was no exception and there was no light over the dressing table mirror which is important if you have to share a bathroom.The TV was a flat screen set and there was also a teamaker and biscuits.
The hotel is in a beautiful location right by the solent. The sea view rooms belong to time share clients I believe. The drive up to the hotel is quite impressive as are the public rooms and there is an indoor pool and spa, but I did not use this, but other members of our party were very pleased as the water was warm. The table d'hote dinner at £20.95 was very good and nicely presented.The service from the waiters was excellent. The food was of excellent quality except for serving 'smash' instead of proper mashed potato. Breakfast was excellent . the food was cooked to order and not left to simmer on hot plates. There was plenty of fruit and a choice of 5 juices, and also the usual cold food like croissants and yogurt, cheese and ham. In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel. We enjoyed our stay. One problem was that there were no safes in the bedrooms. Be aware of this if you stay here, but otherwise -enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valerie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review placed on trip advisor. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 2 nights stay at the Resort.
I appreciate your comments regarding the lack of safe in the bedrooms however we do offer a safe deposit service at main reception where you can deposit your valuables, be handed a ticket for it and feel reassure that your belongings are in safe keeping during your stay.
Thank you again for you custom and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Went to the steak house here to join family who were staying here for a meal. Meal vas very good and efficiently served (there were a lot of us!). One steak arrived rare when asked for medium rare and it was quickly taken away and replaced. Not very atmospheric if you were dining by yourselves but great for a lot of people together. did manage to see rooms and thought them to be better than expected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotty129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,

It is always so positive to receive great feedback like yours, and we were delighted to read that you really enjoyed your dinner with us. We have worked very hard at improving the food standards across the Resort and we can witness the impact on this website as so much positive feedback has been posted.
We are in the process of completely refurbishing a number of our bedrooms, which will be completed by the end of November, so please do not hesitate to call us to arrange a show round. Our team would like to thank you and look forward to your return in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I would be delighted to upgrade you to one of our newly refurbished rooms.

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Just got there in time, like we all do, to find our room had no power. DAVE arrived at our room and explained exactly what was wrong before putting all right again. This makes all the difference to us...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bossman1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments. We have passed on your comments to Dave our Maintenance Engineer and he thanks you in return for your kind words. Our entire Maintenance team work hard to provide our guests with outstanding customer services.
We look forward to welcoming you to the Resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed in The Henry Tudor block in a 1 bedroom apartment which sleeps 4 people. This was a timeshare exchange through RCI. The check in was at the leisure centre and we were given a warm welcome.
The apartment was very clean and well furnished, there was a bowl of fruit and small cartons of milk in the fridge.and ample towels which were changed midweek. The kitchen was very well fitted with quality appliances. Just one gripe, the bed was very firm and I didn't sleep well, however, this may suit other guests. We were on the ground floor which meant the view was not so good but we was out most of the day.
We used the indoor pool and the gym and towels were supplied. The grounds are imaculate with views towards the Solent.
We had a super holiday in the New Forest with wall to wall sunshine. There are plenty of interesting places to visit in the area and good walks in the area. Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, Bucklers Hard, The New Forest Wildlife Park, Hurst Castle and Milford on Sea are all worth a visit .
.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor website. It was a pleasure for the team to read your feedback which is such a boost to our employee morale.
As your comments suggest, due to personal preference, it is difficult to provide all guests with beds to match all of their liking, however we do carry mattress topers which do provide softer sleeping arrangements.
We all look forward to welcoming you back at the Resort very soon.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,740 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
482 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £97 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing