We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but so so service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on15/11 having booked with Secret Escapes. The room itself was fine (23a), neat and clean with free wifi, flat screen tv and the usual tea making facilities. We ate in the steakhouse and the Waterford restaurant. The waterford was lovely with excellent food. The steakhouse was nice too but lacked atmosphere in the evening. We were the only ones in there, quite bright and with football on a large screen tv! Though the serving staff were very polite and helpful in the restaurants, the reception and room service let the hotel down.
On arrival (in the dark) you are given a map to find your room, after 2 laps of the rooms we finally found it was upstairs but it is so dark it is impossible to read the door numbers on the posts or the map. They really need to show you to your room. They also offer fresh milk from room service for your room( you have a fridge) but when I phoned up I got a short "it may be a while Madam." I'm still waiting! When we phoned to say we would have breakfast in bed (£3 surcharge) and to say we would leave the menu outside as it says to,I was told curtly told to bring it to reception instead. Think they forgot who the guest was. There was a wedding going on so perhaps they were busy but we were paying customers and shouldn't be doing their job for them.Very minor issues but politeness costs very little.
Overall, it's a nice place, with pretty grounds and good food but we wouldn't return as we have had better service for less money elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank oxonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. Although I feel that we are excellent value for money and you would struggle to find inclusive dinner bed and breakfast in this quality location at a cheaper price I appreciate some of your comments regarding the quality of service.
Please accept my apologies for the downfall in service as you should not have had to bring your breakfast order to reception or the restaurant, these should be collected from your room if required, however because of the distance to the rooms I am sure you can appreciate that it can take our restaurant team sometime to deliver items to rooms, and I would prefer for guests to be informed rather than waiting and thinking they have been forgotten.


Yours sincerely,
Jean-marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,181 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed over for 2 nights over this weekend and I suppose our mistake was in not asking for a room that had already been refurbished? But how were we to know (in advance), that certain rooms were far more impressive, having already been fully refurbished? We never thought of asking at the time of booking. It simply hadn't crossed our minds. However, we would now recommend to anyone reading this review and wanting to stay at Elmers Court, that you do carefully check at the time of your booking. Whilst the room allocated was spacious, it was tired. The main door lock was on its last legs and the bathroom loo didn't flush properly, and when it did, it then took ages to refill. Reported both of these to housekeeping immediately and was fobbed-off with the door fault and the maintenance chap that was promised to fix the loo, just didn't attend! We also had cob-webs on and around the ceilings and some old tired furniture, that needed replacing. If it had been our hotel and our paying guests told us that there was a problem or two with their rooms that needed sorting, we would have been on it like a shot. Sadly, their customer service is left to the those on reception, who are simple not trained properly on how to deal with any genuine queries. On leaving today, one of those on reception wasn't even prepared to listen to the wife, who by now, was beginning to get up a real head of steam and understandably was then getting quite cross. From the reception staff, we had no form of apology, no real understanding nor of wanting to understand and no offer of any price reduction or of any Macdonald vouchers that could be use in the future, for our inconvenience and disappointment! Not the way to deal with paying guests and the experience has since turned us completely off the Macdonald hotel chain. We have stayed in much better hotels than this in the UK, for a lot less money. Outside of this, we had no problems with any of the other staff around the restaurants and in the leisure complex. These girls' and guys' were excellent and they were all genuinely attentive. The food was superb though. High quality in both restaurants, although the main building's Waterford restaurant can work out costly? The grounds are lovely to walk around and the main building viewed from the outside is impressive. In conclusion; we feel that we were unlucky in being allocated a naff room and considering we had supposedly booked a special weekend offer, it did work out far more expensive than we anticipated. Cost breakdown was for; 2 nights bed and breakfast, one single spa treatment, one Waterford restaurant evening meal and one Scottish Steak Club evening meal (no excessive drinks bill), and this equated to a whooping £448. Not value for money and as I now type-up this review, my personal feeling is that, perhaps, we have been ripped-off by the uncaring face of corporate hotels? When all we wanted, was a nice quiet weekend away. How disappointing!

Room Tip: Ask first, for rooms that have already been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPnuts007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review left on trip advisor website. I was sorry to read that although you enjoyed the food and service in the Restaurant you did not enjoy your room at the Resort. Although some of the rooms have not been refurbished completely they all had new flat screen TVs, new headboards, new bed throws as well as a rolling maintenance plan improving bathrooms and repainting bedrooms. We have replaced the majority of all doors and windows with the remaining few, which are in a descent state of repair to be completed in the next 3 months.
I do not feel that a £448 2 night stay including breakfast, dinners and drinks on a week end in the New Forest area overlooking the isle of Wight with all the leisure facilities provided is at all excessive.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,

Jean marc Poumel
Resort general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I would just like to say iv not arrived at the hotel yet iv booked my stay for next tuesday and wednesday night. I made a few errors myself when booking this maybe something to do with being pregnant...but after a phone call to anthony on the reservations desk he has sorted everything out for me all i can say is thank you very much and am really looking forward to my stay. if this is the level of service iv received before my arrival then it looks set to be an excellent stay...cant wait and thanks again anthony
penny lawrence

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Ms Lawrence,

Thank you for your kind words, I hope you will enjoy your stay at the Resort. I have passed your thank you to Antony and he thank you in return.

Yours sincerely,

Jean marc Poumel
Resort general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Booked 3 nights in an Executive Double room which was on the upper floor of the two storey 'chalet' style rooms which are separate from the main building. Our room was large with a kitchenette, settee, dressing table, lots of both wardrobe and draws for clothes and a small bathroom. It was adequate without being particularly impressive and in need of being refurbished and especially the exterior with it's slippery stairs and deck after rain.

As described in other reviews, the grounds are lovely with views down to the River Lymington though this isn't visible from most of the hotel rooms (if any) - just from rooms that are for time-share residents. The manor house from the grounds looks inviting and inside The Waterford Restaurant and adjoining Tudor Bar are nicely furnished and are an ideal environment for either eating or drinking.

We were surprised and generally impressed with the quality of the ingredients and cooking in The Waterford Restaurant with the lamb on one evening and the venison on another being excellent. Also, starters and desert were freshly prepared and enjoyable. Our one disappointment about the food was that the menu didn't change much. There's enough choice if you are staying just 2 nights but if you are staying any longer then you run out of starters, mains and deserts that you haven't already had.

Breakfast was served in the Scottish Steak Club which is in the same building as the spa. The buffet was extensive with a huge range of cold foods, excellent fresh breads, fresh orange juice etc - it was an impressive spread. Hot breakfast was cooked to order as was toast.

Staff throughout were friendly and generally attentive though, on occasions, there were some long wait times for service in The Waterford Restaurant - both when it was quiet and busy !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and your constructive comments. I was pleased to read your feedback regarding the quality of the food and service.
I appreciate your feedback regarding the menu not changing enough fro a long term stay, I have shared it with Chef and although he will try to ensure of a greater variety he feels that in order to deliver a great consistency he has to try to keep dishes on it for a considerable amount of time. However on future long visit do not hesitate to ask him to create additional dishes for you and he will be delighted to oblige. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently visited the New Forest and stayed in Elmers Court for a two night break. The Hotel was very good offering an ideal location to tour the area, and was only half a mile from the Ferry terminal to the Isle of Wight. The Food was excellent both at Breakfast and Evening Meals and the Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The Hotel had excellent Leisure facilities on site and the Grounds made for a pleasant evening walk. I would highly recommend this Hotel for a visit to the New Forest and surrounding coastal areas.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a balcony offering better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review placed on the Trip Advisor website. It was a pleasure to read your feedback and how much you enjoyed our facilities, the food and service at the Resort. You are so right to point out that Elmers is in such an ideal location to visit the Isle of Wight and the new Forest.
We, hopefully will be welcoming you back very shortly.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful old building with newer additions in the grounds over looking the harbour at Lymington.

I booked via Secret Escapes but for whatever reason my booking did not show up on their system although I had all of the confirmation details. Luckily they had spare rooms so there was no problem but it could have been an issue on another occasion. The reception staff were not as helpfull as they might have been and I was left feeling that it was somehow my fault they did not have my booking!

We took advantage of the all inclusive deal which included dinner in Waterford restaurant. The staff were attentive and helpfull if a little inexperienced. The food was excellent but the wines were overpriced in my opinion with no bottle under £21.

The room was in a block set apart from the hotel. It was spacious and well equipped with a very large bed. The shower was probably the most powerfull I have ever encountered but there was mould around the bath and tiling which needs addressing.

Breakfast is taken in a separate restaurant in an adjacent block. It is a bit cramped and was very busy. The food was excellent; I judge breakfast by how well my eggs are cooked and the poached egg was nigh on perfect.

All in all the stay was very good just spoilt a little by the booking hastle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your very constructive feedback. I was really pleased to read that overall you really enjoyed the food the service and our great Macdonald breakfast!!!
Please accept my apologies for the booking issue, I am sorry you were made feel this way and I have shared your comments with the reception team to ensure of no further guest disappointment.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Located adjacent to the Isle of Wight Ferry terminal this hotel offers excellent facilities. The Hotel building is a former country house of some size, offering interesting rooms and architecture. Many rooms are chalets surrounding the grounds which offer excellent accommodation. The restaurant is excellent being part of a 'clubhouse' facility with adjacent health facilities. A walk around the extensive grounds to the river offers great views across towards the Isle of Wight, whilst the well kept grounds allow post dinner walks. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmelmers, General Manager at Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your review on trip advisor. We were pleased to read that you thouroughly enjoyed your stay at the Resort. Including all the facilities and its ideal situation.
We look forward to welcome you at the resort in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,
Jean-Marc Poumel
Resort General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lymington
2.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
773 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,829 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,016 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
3.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort

Address: South Baddesley Road, New Forest, Lymington SO41 5ZB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lymington
Price Range: £72 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the stunning Solent Coast, this New Forest hotel is only 15 minutes' walk from the nearby town of Lymington. Set in a manor house dating from 1820 and surrounded by 23 acres of private grounds, the Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort is the ideal venue for a weekend break or a romantic wedding in the Hampshire countryside. Swim in the indoor or seasonal outdoor pool, book in for a spa treatment, dine in the elegant Waterford Restaurant or simply relax in the spacious accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel Lymington
Macdonald Elmers Court Lymington
Elmers Court
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort Lymington, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing